2010 ISDE Mexico Day 3 Results

November 3, 2010
JC Hilderbrand
JC Hilderbrand
Off-Road Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog |Blog Posts |Blog RSS

Hilde is holding down the fort at MotoUSA's Southern Oregon HQ. With world-class dirt bike and ATV trails just minutes away, the hardest part is getting him to focus on the keyboard. Two wheels or four, it doesn't matter to our Off-Road Editor so long as it goes like hell in the dirt.

Johnny Aubert continues to dominate the E2 class for France
Johnny Aubert is in the running for the top overall individual award, plus an E2 vicotry and likely a win for Team France as well.

Riders were refreshed to see a new course layout for Day 3 of the International Six Days Enduro in Morelia, Mexico. That might have breathed some new life into the competitors, but the choking dust continued to plague riders and their machines despite overcast conditions. Johnny Aubert was the fastest E2 rider on the day winning every special test in his division. He topped all E1 and E3 competitors as well in five of the nine test sections, helping France to a strong lead in the World Trophy standings. Not to be outdone, the French ladies also top the charts in the Women’s Cup, leading America by nearly a quarter-hour.

Spain leads the Junior Trophy race with Sweden almost three minutes behind and France another minute behind that. USA continues to put in strong finishes led by E1 riders Kurt Caselli and Mike Brown, but the American teams continue to trail in the overall score following three days of hard competition.

KTM is currently leading the Manufacturers Award ahead of Husqvarna.
Day 3 Video Recap Courtesy of FIM TV

2010 World Trophy Day 3 Results:
1. France, 10:17:26.49
2. Italy, 10:22:54.30
3. Finland, 10:26:23.94
4. USA, 10:32:19.39
5. Poland, 10:43:17.27

2010 Junior Trophy Day 3 Results:
1. Spain, 6:16:51.71
2. Sweden, 6:19:48.48
3. France, 6:20:56.07
4. Finland, 6:21:32.81
5. USA, 6:22:30.25

2010 Women’s Cup Day 3 Results:
1. France, 4:46:01.42
2. USA, 5:00:14.87
3. Sweden, 5:04:40.00
4. Germany, 8:27:47.28
5. Chile, 9:09:21.14

Frenchman Antoine Meo is ahead of the E1 division after the third day.
Antoine Meo is putting his Husqvarna to good use in E1.

Kurt Caselli overtook Finland’s Jari Mattila in the E1 standings, though his move into fourth position is hardly the biggest news of the day. Antoine Meo continues to be the strongest competitor aboard his Husqvarna, adding another eight seconds to his lead over Finland’s Eero Remes. Meo and his French countrymen are slaughtering the competition with a well-rounded and relentless attack. However, there’s still time for other riders to make a push in the second half of the event.

Alex Salvini is another speedy Husky rider and holds down third in the E1 division. With a time of 2:03:42, the Italian has just over a minute of cushion between himself and USA’s top rider, Caselli. Despite sitting outside the top-three, the KTM-mounted Team USA captain can easily move upward in the standings if he can avoid the big crashes of the past couple years. His E1 teammate, Mike Brown, continues to hold sixth position in his first ISDE appearance. The motocross champion –turned off-road racer is less than a minute outside the top-five.

America’s Ian Blythe is only two seconds away from eighth place and Victor Guerrero keeps Spain in the top-10 by displacing fellow Spaniard Mario Roman.

2010 E1 Day 3 Results:
1. Antoine Meo, FRA (Husqvarna) 2:02:51.97
2. Eero Remes, FIN (KTM) 2:03:04.97
3. Alex Salvini, ITA (Husqvarna) 2:03:42.68
4. Kurt Caselli, USA (KTM) 2:04:46.45
5. Jari Mattila, FIN (Honda) 2:04:49.52
6. Mike Brown, USA (KTM) 2:05:40.65
7. Antti Helsten, FIN (KTM) 2:05:42.52
8. Giacomo Redondi, ITA (Husqvarna) 2:06:52.18
9. Ian Blythe, USA (KTM) 2:06:54.99
10. Victor Guerrero, ESP (Yamaha) 2:07:43.62

Johnny Aubert is the E2 leader after Day 3.
Jimmy Jarrett continues to plug away for the Americans  but Team USA needs better performances across the board if it hopes to move into contention for a win.
Aubert (top) is a machine. Meanwhile, Americans like Jimmy Jarrett (above) continue to struggle.

Johnny Aubert was the fastest E2 rider and led the overall timesheet as well aboard his KTM. Juha Salminen had a solid day and put his Husqvarna on the podium in third, just behind Mannuel Monni, the Yamaha rider who is enjoying his first career ISDE. It wasn’t enough, however, for Salminen to move into an overall podium position, and he trails Thomas Oldratin in the E2 class standings by eight seconds.

Michal Szuster had an outstanding performance for Poland with third on the day, but he is still four seconds outside of10th on his Yamaha dirt bike. That position will soon be his if the slide continues for Henrik Lindholm. The Swede dropped three positions to 10th on the day.

America’s best continue to struggle in the E2 class and have yet to break inside the top-10 overall. Taylor Robert posted a time of 42:52 for the day which was good enough for ninth, but the American Yamaha rider is still back in 12th overall for the class. That’s one position better than ISDE veteran Destry Abbott who now trails his younger compatriot by a single second. Jimmy Jarrett slipped a notch to 18th with Timmy Weigand and Nick Fahringer in 21st and 22nd, respectively.

2010 E2 Day 3 Results:
1. Johnny Aubert, FRA (KTM) 2:01:02.38
2. Manuel Monni, ITA (Yamaha) 2:04:19.01
3. Thomas Oldrati, ITA (KTM) 2:04:29.17
4. Juha Salminen, FIN (Husqvarna) 2:04:37.59
5. Rodrig Thain, FRA (TM) 2:05:25.38
6. Romain Dumontier, FRA (Husqvarna) 2:05:41.43
7. Johan Carlsson, SWE (Beta) 2:05:44.13
8. Jean Francois Goblet, BEL (Yamaha) 2:05:47.65
9. Lorenzo Santolini, ESP (KTM) 2:05:54.18
10. Henrik Lindholm, SWE (KTM) 2:06:02.24

12. Taylor Robert, USA (Yamaha) 2:06:48.54
13. Destry Abbott, USA (Kawasaki) 2:06:49.55
18. Jimmy Jarrett, USA (Kawasaki) 2:07:56.22
21. Timmy Weigand, USA (Honda) 2:09:01.42
22. Nick Fahringer, USA (Husaberg) 2:09:04.03

Oriol Mena is challenging for the top E3 position. Hes currently in the runner-up spot with three days to go.
Oriol Mena dropped some time on Day 3, but he still holds onto the runner-up spot.

Sebastien Guillaume joined his fellow Frenchmen on the top of his division timesheet and bumped Spain’s Oriol Mena down to second in the E3 competition. Christophe Nambotin provided the greatest challenge to the French leader by finishing just eight seconds adrift of his countryman on the day. Mena was fifth on the day but held onto the runner-up position in the combined tally, needing to coax just 15 seconds from his Husaberg in order to claim the top position.

Home team favorite, Homero Diaz, slipped outside the top-five allowing Alessandro Belometti of Italy to put his KTM into the position. Nathan Woods remains in ninth on his thundering Husaberg FE570, and America’s other E3 rider, Cory Buttrick, DNF’d after Day 1.

2010 E3 Day 3 Results:
1. Sebastien Guillaume, FRA (Husqvarna) 2:03:54.25
2. Oriol Mena, ESP (Husaberg) 2:04:09.67
3. Christophe Nambotin, FRA (Gas Gas) 2:04:50.19
4. Simone Luca Albergoni, ITA (KTM) 2:05:08.06
5. Alessandro Belometti, ITA (KTM) 2:05:18.19
6. Homero Diaz, MEX (KTM) 2:05:24.23
7. Alessandro Botturi, ITA (Husaberg) 2:05:40.15
8. Valtteri Salonen, FIN (Husaberg) 2:06:51.21
9. Nathan Woods, USA (Husaberg) 2:07:06.52
10. Pierre Pallut, FRA (KTM) 2:08:19.10