2010 Super-X Auckland Results

November 16, 2010
Courtesy of www.SuperX.com.au
Josh Hansen extended his championship lead by 32 points after winning three of the four races in Auckland.
Josh Hansen (#25) extended his championship lead by 32 points after winning three of the four races in Auckland.

America’s Josh Hansen has won the fourth round of the Monster Energy Super X championship at North Harbour Stadium in Auckland, winning three of four races in the Quad Challenge final.

The event had its fair share of thrills and spills with the great track providing a fast and technical start and many line options. Monster Energy / Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Hansen, who went into the round leading the championship after three runner up finishes, was dominant all night with the fastest qualifying and three holeshots in the final. CDR Rockstar Yamaha’s Jay Marmont was the only rider able to grab a race off him in the final moto.

Hansen was first overall with three wins and one third, Marmont was second with two third places, one second and one first, and Rockstar Motul Suzuki’s Jake Moss claimed third overall with three second places and one third.

Hansen extended his championship lead to put him 32 points ahead of Marmont and Jake Moss moves into third overall.

Josh Hansen (USA):
“I am super stoked to get the win. I would have loved to win all four, but I guess I can’t be greedy. I am so happy Monster Energy was able to bring me out here for Super X because I am loving this place, the series and the people.”

Jay Marmont captured two third-place finishes  one second and one first at Auckland.
Jay Marmont (#3) captured two third-place finishes, one second and one first at Auckland.

Jay Marmont (AUS):
“It’s a relief to finally get a win and I enjoyed racing tonight. I finally got the start I wanted to in the final race and it paid off.”

Jake Moss (AUS):
“It feels good to be on the podium and I am really happy with the way I rode tonight. I really want to thank my team and family for all the support they have given me.”

New Zealand supercross star Ben Townley had a very unlucky fall in his heat race and was forced to withdraw from the event with a suspected hip injury.

The Lites final once again kept the fans on the edge of their seat with America’s PJ Larsen the eventual overall winner in the Triple Challenge. He rode himself in to two first places and one third. His team mate for JDR Motorex KTM, Ryan Marmont, finished second overall with one second and two fourths and Luke Styke third overall with one third and two, sixth places.

Matt Moss had a collision with Kawasaki Racing Team Cool Air Conditioning’s Luke Arbon in the second moto and was unable to start his bike until the final lap to finish. He finished fourth overall.

Larsen now moves into first place in the championship, nine points ahead of Moss. Marmont sits in third.
The series now heads south to Dunedin for the fifth round at Carisbrook stadium on Saturday November 20.

All riders spared a thought for young rider Harley Quinlan, who had a severe crash during training during the week, with all of them wishing him and his family well.

For more information on the Monster Energy Super X please visit www.superx.com.au

2010 Australasian Supercross Auckland Results:
1. Josh Hansen (Kawasaki)
2. Jay Marmont (Yamaha)

The SX Open podium at Auckland  from left to right : Jay Marmont  Josh Hansen and Jake Moss.
The SX Open podium at Auckland (from left to right): Jay Marmont, Josh Hansen and Jake Moss.

3. Jake Moss (Suzuki)
4. Tye Simmonds (KTM)
5. Daniel McCoy (KTM)
6. Cody Cooper (Suzuki)
7. Todd Waters (Honda)
8. Mike Alessi (KTM)
9. Daniel Reardon (Honda)
10. Mason Phillips (Kawasaki)

2010 Pro Open Championship Points:
1. Josh Hansen, 225
2. Jay Marmont, 193
3. Jake Moss, 152
4. Tye Simmonds, 149
5. Daniel Reardon, 138
6. Todd Waters, 128
7. Daniel McCoy, 127
8. Justin Brayton, 121
9. Lewis Woods, 66
10. Mike Alessi, 107
2010 Australasian Lites Auckland Results:
1. PJ Larsen (KTM)
2. Ryan Marmont (KTM)
3. Luke Styke (Yamaha)
4. Matt Moss (Suzuki)

PJ Larsen moved into first in the Lites Championship after winning Round 4.
PJ Larsen moved into first in the Lites Championship after winning Round 4.

5. Ford Dale (Yamaha)
6. Cody Mackie (Kawasaki)
7. Nicholas Sutherland (Yamaha)
8. Steven Clarke (Suzuki)
9. Robbie Marshall (Yamaha)
10. Josh Cachia (KTM)
2010 Pro Lites Championship Points:
1. PJ Larsen, 210
2. Matt Moss, 201
3. Ryan Marmont, 176
4. Cody Mackie, 136
5. Lawson Bopping, 130
6. Steven Clarke, 111
7. Josh Cachia, 110
8. Ford Dale, 105
9. Luke Styke, 103
10. Robbie Marshall, 102

Facebook comments