Easton Wins 2010 Macau Grand Prix

November 20, 2010
Bart Madson
By Bart Madson
Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Bashing away at the MotoUSA keyboard for nine years now, Madson lends his scribbling and editorial input on everything from bike reviews to industry analysis and motorcycle racing reports.

Stuart Easton - 2010 Macau Grand Prix
Stuart Easton (17) scored victory in the 44th Macau Grand Prix motorcycle street race. The Scottish rider is flanked on the podium by six-time Macau winner Michael Rutter and American Jeremy Toye.44th Macau Grand Prix motorcycle podium: Rutter  Easton and Toye.

Stuart Easton made it three in a row at Macau, with the Scottish rider taking the 2010 Macau Grand Prix victory. Campaigning this year for Paul Bird Motorsport Kawasaki, the 27-year-old snagged the win after fending off a challenge from roadracing vet and Ducati rider Michael Rutter. American Jeremy Toye scored the final podium spot with a third-place run on the Lee’s Cycles Racing BMW.

The race, run on the streets of Macau, was a two part affair following a red flag incident. The opening laps saw Easton take the early lead followed by the pole position-winning Rutter, with the red flag coming out when Canadian Chris Peris crashed after six laps.

On the restart Easton jumped back out front, once again followed by the 38-year-old Rutter. The Blade, a six-time winner at Macau, kept Easton in his sites, but it wasn’t enough. The Kawasaki rider peeled off a record-setting lap at 2:23.616 on Lap 8 and it was lights out from there. Easton would go on to cross the line a full 10 seconds ahead of Rutter, who dialed things down after a late race close call, brushing up against an Armco barrier.

Said Easton after the race: “I’m over the moon to make this my third victory in a row in Macau and to win on the Kawasaki ZX-10R. The Kawasaki Racing Team gave me a package today which I could dominate and break the lap record on, this speaks for itself and the work they’ve put in. It wasn’t all easy sailing for me however as Rutter put up a good fight for most of the two-part races. When I saw that he (Rutter) had caught me, I was devastated after trying so hard to break free. I thought if he could catch me after all that, there was no way I could beat him. But I tried again and managed to open a gap once more and gradually pulled away to win the race by almost 11 seconds .I would like to thank the boys, Pirelli tyres, Kawasaki and to Paul Bird for giving me this opportunity.”

Toye bested MSS Colchester Kawasaki rider Simon Andrews for the final rostrum position, the pair finishing within a second of each other at the line. Suzuki rider Gary Johnson rounded out the top five, with former Macau winner and Isle of Man TT legend John McGuinness taking up sixth on the results sheet.

Following Toye, the highest placed American at Macau was Mark Miller, who placed 12th aboard the Mocha BMW. The Macau Grand Prix website reports Peris “was detained in hospital suffering from a mild right lung contusion and concussion.”

Three in a row for Easton at Macau, this time for Kawasaki.

The Macau Grand Prix celebrates its 57th running, with this year the 44th to include motorcycles. Like Hong Kong, Macau is a former European outpost located in China. A former Portuguese city, Macau is notable as the only roadracing event that includes both cars and motorcycles.

2010 Macau Grand Prix Results:
1. Stuart Easton (Kawasaki)
2. Michael Rutter (Ducati)
3. Jeremy Toye (BMW)
4. Simon Andrews(Kawasaki)
5. Gary Johnson (Suzuki)
6. John McGuiness(Honda)
7. James Storrar
8. Cameron Donald (Suzuki)
9. James McBride (Yamaha)
10. Keith Amor (Kawasaki)
11. Rico Penzkofer (BMW)
12. Mark Miller (BMW)
13. Michal Dokoupil
14. Dan Kneen
15. David Johnson

Facebook comments