2011 AMA Supercross Oakland Results

January 29, 2011
Matt Davidson
Editorial Assistant|Articles|Articles RSS

Danger, adrenaline and competition are what fuel this moto enthusiast. Driven by a spirit for sportsmanship, our racing guru here at MotoUSA can be spotted at finish lines the world over as he delivers the latest battles from the two-wheeled realm.

James Stewart  seen here taking the win in Phoenix  rebounded from his crash in Los Angeles to nab his second victory of the season in Oakland.
James Stewart rebounded from his crash in Los Angeles to nab his second victory of the season in Oakland.

The 2011 Monster Energy AMA Supercross series smashed into the Oakland Coliseum with San Manuel Yamaha’s James Stewart winning his second race of the year. TwoTwo Motorsports’ Chad Reed and Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey rounded out the podium in  Oakland’s inaugural race as intermittent rain swept across the Bay Area. In the Lites division Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Broc Tickle snagged his first win of the season ahead of teammate, Josh Hansen, and Geico Powersports Honda’s Eli Tomac.


Villopoto was a like a bullet out of the gates at Oakland as he grabbed the holeshot ahead of Reed, Stewart and Dungey. It was clear early on that Reed was struggling in the mud as was factory Honda’s Trey Canard and Red Bull KTM’s Andrew Short, who were way back in 17th and 18th-place, respectively. As track conditions deteriorated further RV lost control and hit the deck, handing his lead over to Stewart who immediately went to work establishing distance from the pack.

As Reed came under pressure from Dungey, RV had fully recovered from his crash and was in fourth and fast approaching both Dungey and Canard. Meanwhile, Valli Motorsports Yamaha’s Austin Stroupe rounded out the top-five riders before a stalled engine pushed him to the back of the field.

Cheed Reeds performance improved remarkably near the end of the main where he stole second from Dungey.
Chad Reed managed a pass on Ryan Dungey during the final lap to take second in Oakland.

Reed, Dungey and Villopoto put on a gripping display for second place as Davi Millsaps, Brett Metcalfe, Canard, Kevin Windham and Ivan Tedesco ran fifth through ninth, respectively. Dungey made the pass on Reed for second, but by then Stewart had more than six seconds on the field as he rode to his second victory of the season.

“This is a great win for me and the team,” said Stewart. “It’s a long season and it’s all about winning a championship. The rain tonight made it a little difficult, but I am glad I came out on top.”

Dungey was set to take second until Reed made a brilliant pass for the runner-up position in the final corner before the checkered flag, making it one of the best performances for the Aussie in quite some time. Villopoto would suffer another crash before the finish and take fourth.

Metcalfe also had a successful evening after taking back fifth place from Canard in the final lap of the contest. For the second time this season Red Bull KTM’s Mike Alessi failed making it into the main. The 22-year-old struggled all evening in the whoop section and could not keep pace with other riders. Short continued to get acquainted with his KTM machine and posted a ninth-place finish in Oakland after having a horrible start in the mud.

In claiming another win Stewart has officially taken over the lead in the championship from Villopoto by just two points. Meanwhile, Dungey now sits 14 points behind the leader as the series makes its way into the fifth round.

2011 AMA Supercross Oakland Results:
1. James Stewart (Yamaha)
2. Chad Reed (Honda)
3. Ryan Dungey (Suzuki)
4. Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki)

Ryan Dungey - Oakland Supercross
Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey took third behind Stewart and Reed.

5. Brett Metcalfe (Suzuki)
6. Trey Canard (Honda)
7. Kevin Windham (Honda)
8. Davi Millsaps (Yamaha)
9. Andrew Short (KTM)
10. Ivan Tedesco (Kawasaki)
11. Chris Blose (Kawasaki)
12. Matt Boni (Kawasaki)
13. Vince Friese (Yamaha)
14. Weston Peick (Yamaha)
15. Kyle Chisholm (Yamaha)

2011 AMA Supercross Championship Points:
1. James Stewart, 92
2. Ryan Villopoto, 90
3. Ryan Dungey, 78
4. Trey Canard, 71
5. Chad Reed, 70
6. Brett Metcalfe, 55
7. Andrew Short, 49
8. Kevin Windham, 46
9. Justin Brayton, 39
10. Kyle Chisholm, 39

After his latest win Broc Tickle was boosted into second place in the championship behind Josh Hansen.
Broc Tickle (#20) took his first win of the 2011 season ahead of teammate, Josh Hansen.

Supercross Lites

Tomac battled his way into the holeshot in the Lites main as rain pummeled Oakland’s track. Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen and Hansen quickly followed as track conditions gradually worsened, forcing riders to utilize different lines as dirt turned to mud. Meanwhile, Tickle advanced quickly into the top of the order as Tomac became the first victim of the slick track conditions by sliding out while in the lead. Roczen eagerly replaced Tomac up front while Hansen was all over him in second. Further back Rockstar Energy Suzuki’s Martin Davalos was running in last place after tucking his front end early in the mud.

Roczen and Hansen traded the lead back and forth as conditions continued to deteriorate. Suzuki’s Ryan Morais was running fifth, but couldn’t hold the position as Hansen’s Kawasaki teammate, Tyla Rattray, surged ahead. Hansen soon after secured the lead as Tickle approached from behind. Not content with runner-up status, Tickle pressured his teammate for the lead as Roczen and Tomac made it a four-way battle.

Tickle ultimately landed his first win of the season after making the pass and holding off Hansen, which puts him in second place overall.

“I was so focused out there tonight,” said Tickle. “I knew it was going to be really slick out there, so I tried to ride smooth and take it lap by lap.”

Tomac rode a consistent race up front despite the difficult track conditions to earn the final podium spot as Roczen took his best finish of the season in fourth. Rattray recovered from his poor showing in Los Angeles by posting fifth in the main. Suffering disappointment in Oakland were TLD Honda’s Cole Seely and Travis Baker, who had to pull out of the race early with DNFs.

2011 AMA Supercross Lites Oakland Results:
1. Broc Tickle (Kawasaki)
2. Josh Hansen (Kawasaki)

Kawasakis Josh Hansen placed second in Oakland as competition in the Lites field grows.
Kawasaki’s Josh Hansen placed second in Oakland as competition in the Lites field grows.

3. Eli Tomac (Honda)
4. Ken Roczen (KTM)
5. Tyla Rattray (Kawasaki)
6. Ryan Morais (Suzuki)
7. Kyle Cunningham (Yamaha)
8. James Decotis (Honda)
9. Bruce Rutherford (Kawasaki)
10. Ryan Marmont (KTM)
11. Gared Steinke (Yamaha)
12. Ben Evans (Kawasaki)
13. Nick Paluzzi (Yamaha)
14. Jake Canada (Kawasaki)
15. Antonio Balbi (Kawasaki)

2011 AMA Supercross Lites Championship Points:
1. Josh Hansen, 88
2. Broc Tickle, 87
3. Ryan Morais, 70
4. Eli Tomac, 69
5. Cole Seely, 60
6. Tyla Rattray, 58
7. Ken Roczen, 49
8. Martin Davalos, 45
9. Kyle Cunningham, 44
10. James Decotis, 40

Facebook comments