Assen World Superbike Results 2011

April 17, 2011
Matt Davidson
Editorial Assistant|Articles|Articles RSS

Danger, adrenaline and competition are what fuel this moto enthusiast. Driven by a spirit for sportsmanship, our racing guru here at MotoUSA can be spotted at finish lines the world over as he delivers the latest battles from the two-wheeled realm.

Hondas Jonathan Rea was more than a second adrift of Smrz on Friday and posted the ninth-fastest lap overall.
Castrol Honda’s Jonathan Rea scored his first win of the season for Honda by just 0.7 seconds in Race 1.

Castrol Honda’s Jonathan Rea flew to his first win in the 2011 World Superbike Championship at Assen. The Irishman claimed victory by just 0.7 seconds in the first race over Aprilia’s Max Biaggi, who secured second at the line ahead of Althea Ducati’s Carlos Checa. In the second match of the day Checa returned to snatch his fourth win after a tense standoff with Biaggi. It was only through a late pass on the final lap that Checa managed the win, pushing his lead in the standings to 43 points ahead of Biaggi.

Race 1
Checa had a solid launch off the grid in the first race and led during the first three laps of the event. While his appearance up front looked like a done deal for the Spaniard, Rea pushed the Ten Kate Honda up front on its home Assen circuit. Rea climbed his way into the lead on Lap 4 with Biaggi blowing past Checa as well. It was a wrap for BMW’s Leon Haslam in the early laps after the Brit crashed out of Race 1. Meanwhile, Rea and Biaggi swapped for the lead a few times throughout the contest, but ultimate bragging rights were earned by Rea after narrowly defeating the Italian at the checkers. This makes it the second year in a row that Rea has taken a win at the Assen TT with Honda. 

Said Rea after the win: “First and foremost I’m proud to give Castrol Honda their first podium in the world championship this year. My crew worked really hard all weekend and we really made the right decision to develop a specific bike for the race because it paid off. I lead from the start, was wondering whether to let Max pass, but made the right decision and won the race.”

Checa still posted a third-place result 3.5 seconds behind Rea to keep his podium perfection so far this season intact. Yamaha’s Marco Melandri finished just under 10 seconds adrift in fourth as Alstare Suzuki’s Michel Fabrizio posted his first top-five result of the season in fifth. A model of the parity in World Superbike, the top six Race 1 positions were filled by six different manufacturers.

Assen Race 1 Results:
1. Jonathan Rea (Honda)
2. Max Biaggi (Aprilia)
3. Carlos Checa (Ducati)
4. Marco Melandri (Yamaha)

Running just 0.229 seconds behind Ducatis Jakub Smrz was Aprilias Max Biaggi  who claimed second in the charts.
Aprilia’s Max Biaggi scored two second-place finishes and moved up to second in the standings.

5. Michel Fabrizio (Suzuki)
6. Troy Corser (BMW)
7. Eugene Laverty (Yamaha)
8. Ruben Xaus (Honda)
9. Ayrton Badovini (BMW)
10. Mark Aitchison (Kawasaki)
11. Joan Lascorz (Kawasaki)
12. Leon Haslam (BMW)
13. Barry Veneman (BMW)
14. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki)
DNF Jakub Smrz (Ducati)
DNF Sylvain Guintoli (Ducati)
DNF Leon Camier (Aprilia)
DNF Max Berger (Ducati)
DNF Chris Vermeulen (Kawasaki)
DNF Noriyuki Haga (Aprilia)
Race 2

The second 22-lap race began with Aprilia’s Noriyuki Haga getting the most from his front-row starting position to take the lead in the opening laps. However, the Japanese rider was replaced on Lap 3 by Checa while Biaggi once again took over the runner-up position. Together Checa and Biaggi played a game of cat and mouse for the lead with Biaggi constantly searching for a way around the Spaniard. Rea and Melandri had a battle of their own for the final podium spot, but on Lap 16 Melandri crashed and gifted the position to the Irishman. BMW’s Troy Corser also had a fall and failed to complete the match after finishing sixth in Race 1.

Carlos Checa nabbed his third pole of the season ahead of Jakub Smrz and Eugene Laverty at the Assen circuit.
Ducati’s Carlos Checa had to put in tremendous effort for his fourth win of the season ahead of Max Biaggi.

Checa eventually claimed a hard-earned win after having to make a last-lap pass on Biaggi. Just 0.524 seconds separated the duo at the finish line as Biaggi scored second again.

“It’s a fantastic result,” said Checa, “the win was amazing. I put a soft tire in for the second to get that that extra grip and at the end the tire was good and responsive, this was the question mark. I was trying to put some gap between me and Max, but he was strong. I made a mistake and he passed me but then I overtook him again for the win.”

Camier saw dramatic improvement from his first race DNF to finish fourth in Race 2. Haslam, Yamaha’s Eugene Laverty and Fabrizio participated in a three-way fight for fifth. Haslam successfully won the struggle and grabbed fifth just 0.459 seconds ahead of Laverty, with Fabrizio recording a seventh-place finish.

Biaggi’s back-to-back second-place finishes at Assen have boosted him up to second in the overall standings while Melandri dropped down to third after his Race 2 DNF. Rea took over fourth in the series thanks to a win and another podium finish in Round 3.

Assen Race 2 Results:
1. Carlos Checa (Ducati)
2. Max Biaggi (Aprilia)
3. Jonathan Rea (Honda)
4. Leon Camier (Aprilia)
5. Leon Haslam (BMW)
6. Eugene Laverty (Yamaha)
7. Michel Fabrizio (Suzuki)

Yamahas Marco Melandri  #33  went 5-3 during his debut performance in World Superbike.
While battling for third with Rea in Race 2, Marco Melandri (#33) crashed out and recorded his first DNF of the season. 

8. Noriyuki Haga (Aprilia)
9. Jakub Smrz (Ducati)
10. Sylvain Guintoli (Ducati)
11. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki)
12. Joan Lascorz (Kawasaki)
13. Max Berger (Ducati)
14. Ruben Xaus (Honda)
15. Ayrton Badovini (BMW)
DNF Marco Melandri (Yamaha)
DNF Troy Corser (BMW)

2011 World Superbike Championship Points:
1. Carlos Checa, 132
2. Max Biaggi, 89
3. Marco Melandri, 85
4. Jonathan Rea, 79
5. Leon Haslam, 68
6. Leon Camier, 50
7. Jakub Smrz, 49
8. Michel Fabrizio, 47
9. Eugene Laverty, 35
10. Noriyuki Haga, 34

Facebook comments