Sevlievo FIM Motocross Results 2011

April 11, 2011
Courtesy of Youthstream
Clement Desalle
After taking runner-up in the first heat, Suzuki’s Clement Desalle grabbed the win in the second contest despite tremendous pressure from Steven Frossard.

Clement Desalle and Ken Roczen became the first red plate holders of the 2011 season this weekend in Sevlievo, Bulgaria. It was not a good weekend for 2010 MX1 World Champion Antonio Cairoli, on Saturday he could not find his rhythm and today he unfortunately twisted his left new on the first heat.

Clement Desalle got a really tight overall victory, after finishing first with the same points as second classified Steven Frossard. Third was Jonathan Barragán thanks to his superb performance on the second race.

In the MX2 Class Ken Roczen dominated the whole weekend and obtained his second red plate of his career. Second was a consistent Tommy Searle and third was Jeffrey Herlings.

This morning took place the second race of the UEM EMX 125 and Italian Simone Zecchina got the first round victory of the season. Second was his compatriot Samuele Bernardini and third Swiss rider Jeremy Seewer.

Rockstar Energy Suzuki World MX1’s Clement Desalle got the first Grand Prix victory of the season, the sixth in his career. The Belgian was second in the first heat, even having an unfortunate crash during the last lap when he was trying to find some new lines. On the second race, Desalle took the holeshot and led the race until Steve Frossard and later on Jonathan Barragán overtook him. However, the Belgian rider managed to place himself at the front of the pack and kept such position until the chequered flag.

Motocross Energy Yamaha rider Steven Frossard had an excellent weekend in Sevlievo, which was his first Grand Prix in the MX1 class. After winning yesterday’s Qualifying race, Frossard did an excellent start in the first race and dominated it from beginning to end. The second start was not that good, but Frossard’s managed to be second right after the opening lap. By the end of the heat, the French rider made some mistakes and he had to settle down with a second overall position being tight in points with Desalle.

Third was Kawasaki Racing Team’s Jonathan Barragán, who was back on the podium after a long absence due to the several injuries he suffered last year. The Spanish rider could only finish sixth in the first race, but in the second one he got quite a good start and his solid riding took him into the lead. However, Desalle and Frossard came back really fast from behind and Barragán decided to ride safe in order not to risk the third overall position.

Steven Frossard
In Steven Frossard’s first MX1 Grand Prix the Frenchman claimed the victory from start to finish. 

The fourth position was for Red Bull Teka KTM Factory Racing MX1’s Max Nagl, who got a consistent third place in the first heat, but he could only finish sixth in the second one. The German rider expressed his satisfaction for this fourth overall position, but he also admitted that he needs some more time to get used to his new 350cc and improve also his fitness.

Completing the top five was Honda World Motocross’ Rui Gonçalves, who could only be eighth in the first race, as he was involved in a tangle when he was catching Cairoli’s wheel. In the second race, he was second in the opening lap, but he could not keep the rhythm of his pursuers and finished fifth.

Other Honda World Motocross rider, Evgeny Bobryshev finished sixth, ahead of Kevin Strijbos, who received the Lovemytime holeshot award, as he took the holeshot in the first MX1 heat.

Davide Guarneri finished eighth overall in a Grand Prix where the Italian could prove his speed achieving a well deserved fifth position. For the second race, the Italian had lost too much energies and he could just finish eleventh.

2010 MX1 World Champion Antonio Cairoli could just finish ninth overall. The Italian had already admitted on Saturday that he was not fully fit yet, but on top of that, Cairoli made a mistake in the first heat when landing from a jump and he twisted his left knee. In the end, the Italian ended seventh, but in the second heat he could just be tenth.

David Philippaerts did a very good first race going from eleventh to a final fourth position. However, the Italian was involved in a tangle at the first corner of the second race and he could only finish 14th. Ken De Dycker crashed in both heats and was just 19th overall.
Sevlievo FIM Motocross MX1 Results:
1. Clement Desalle (Suzuki) 2-1
2. Steven Frossard (Yamaha) 1-2
3. Jonathan Barragan (Kawasaki) 6-3
4. Max Nagl (KTM) 3-6
5. Rui Goncalves (Honda) 8-5
6. Evgeny Bobryshev (Honda) 12-4
7. Davide Guarneri (Kawasaki) 5-11
8. Kevin Strijbos (Suzuki) 9-7
9. David Philippaerts (Yamaha) 4-14
10. Antonio Cairoli (KTM) 7-10

Ken Roczen
KTM’s Ken Roczen dominated both contests in the MX2 division ahead of Kawasaki’s Tommy Searle.


Runner-up of the 2010 MX2 World Championship, Ken Roczen, had a perfect weekend in Sevlievo. The German young talent took easily both holeshots and ruled the heats from beginning to end. Roczen showed a great superiority this weekend, but he will have to prove it as well next Grand Prix in the deep roots of Valkenswaard.

Second overall was Tommy Searle from CLS Monster Energy Kawasaki Pro Circuit, who was very satisfied with his performance in his comeback to the FIM Motocross World Championship. The Brit felt really comfortable on his Kawasaki machine and he expects to close the gap with Roczen in the upcoming GP’s.

Red Bull Teka KTM Factory Racing MX2’s Jeffrey Herlings had very good starts in both motos but he could not keep the second position and had to settle down with a third place. The next Grand Prix is in his home track of Valkenswaard, where the Dutch young rider obtained his maiden Grand Prix victory.

Monster Energy Yamaha’s Gautier Paulin was third in the first heat, but he did not have a good start in the second one and he could only finish seventh. The French missed the podium for two points over third classified, Jeffrey Herlings.

Completing the top five was Zack Osborne from Bike-it Cosworth Wild Wolf Yamaha, who rode among the first top five position on both heats, but did not have the speed to improve his position and climbed up in the standings.

Jeremy Van Horebeek and Arnaud Tonus finished sixth and seventh respectively, both tied in 31 points, and Max Anstie ended in a solid eight position in his debut in the FIM Motocross World Championship.

Nicolas Aubin was ninth and completing the top ten was Belgian rider Joel Roelants.

Tommy Searle
CLS Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Tommy Searle experienced a solid return to FIM Motocross in the opening round.

2010 UEM EMX 125 Champion Jordi Tixier finished 16th in his debut in the MX2 class, while local rider Petar Petrov ended 20th.
Sevlievo FIM Motocross MX2 Results:
1. Ken Roczen (KTM) 1-1
2. Tommy Searle (Kawasaki) 2-2
3. Jeffrey Herlings (KTM) 5-3
4. Gautier Paulin (Yamaha) 3-7
5. Zachary Osbourne (Yamaha) 7-5
6. Arnaud Tonus (Yamaha) 4-7
7. Jeremy van Horebeek (KTM) 5-6
8. Max Anstie (Kawasaki) 8-6
9. Nicolas Aubin (KTM) 9-9
10. Joel Roelants (KTM) 11-12

Facebook comments