Glen Helen USGP Qualifying Results 2011

May 14, 2011
Justin Dawes
Justin Dawes
Digital Media Producer |Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Raised on two wheels in the deserts of Nevada, the newest addition to the MotoUSA crew has been part of the industry for well over 15 years.Equal parts writer, photographer, and rider, "JDawg" is a jack of all trades and even a master of some.

Ken Roczen put on a clinic in the MX2 Qualifier  finishing with a sizable lead.
KTM’s Ken Roczen put on a clinic in the MX2 qualifier, winning the 20-minute moto by a huge margin.
Clement Desalle started second in the MX1 qualifier and eventual made the pass on Russian Evgeny Bobryshev for the first place and number-one gate pick.
The MX Panda hounded Evgeny Bobryshev until the the halfway point of the race. Desalle went on to win the moto by 12 seconds.

Under partly cloudy skies the 2011 FIM USGP at Glen Helen got underway with practice and qualifying racing today. With most of the teams riding out of borrowed race rigs from their American counterparts the pit scene was a bit weird and not really that exciting. Good thing the qualifying racing made up for the boredom in the pits.

The MX2 class went off the line first and at first it looked like a trio of KTM’s would be battling for the duration. For the first few laps the reigning MX2 Champ Marvin Musquin held the lead with teammates Ken Roczen and Jeffrey Herling in tow. Soon Roczen was making moves and got past Musquin. The German teenager then checked out winning the qualifier with over 11 seconds to spare. Herlings finished second with Musquin dropping back an additional seven seconds. Kawasaki’s Max Anstie and Yamaha’s Gautier Paulin rounded out the top five.

Then it was time for the big dogs to tear up the already rutted Glen Helen track. Grabbing the holeshot was Russian racer, Evgeny Bobryshev. The Honda racer rode like a man possessed and pulled away from the pack for a short while. Eventually the MX Panda, Clement Desalle reeled in the Rusky at about the halfway point and mad his move. After passing Bobryshev, the Suzuki pilot pulled out to a 12-second lead at the finish. At the end KTM’s Max Nagl grabbed the second spot, with the Russian Honda Rider finishing third. Point-leader Steven Frossard was fourth with Rui Goncalves in the fifth position.

MX1 Qualifying Results
1. Clement Desalle
2. Max Nagl
3. Evgeny Bobryshev
4. Steven Frossard
5. Rui Goncalves
6. David Philippaerts
7. Antonio Cairoli
8. Anthony Boissiere
9. Steve Ramon
10. Jonathan Barragan

MX2 Qualifying Results
1. Ken Roczen
2. Jeffrey Herlings
3. Marvin Musquin
4. Max Anstie
5. Gautier Paulin
6. Tommy Searle
7. Jordi Tixier
8. Harri Kullas
9. Travis Baker
10. Joel Roelants

Facebook comments