Infineon TTXGP Results 2011

May 15, 2011
Ken Hutchison
Ken Hutchison
Editor-in-Chief |Articles|Blog Posts|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog RSS

The ulcers keep piling on for the warden of the MotoUSA asylum. With the inmates running rampant around the globe, Hutch has opted to get in on the madness more these days than in years past and is back in the saddle again.

Steve Atlas rode the Brammo Empulse to victory in the TTXGP race at Infineon.
Steve Atlas rode the Brammo Empulse to victory in the TTXGP race at Infineon.

Steve Atlas rode the Brammo/MotoUSA Empulse RR to his first career TTXGP North American Championship victory on Saturday afternoon at Infineon Raceway. The weather conditions were suspect, so AMA officials chose to run the first electric bike race ahead of schedule on Saturday instead of running both on Sunday as originally planned.

The afternoon started off great for the Brammo/ rider as he easily claimed pole position aboard the faster Empulse RR machine. From his position on pole, Atlas didn’t get a great start and found himself in second behind Willow Springs fast-guy Thad Wolf on the Moto Electric entry. It took him a half lap to make his way around Wolf and from there the rest is history.

Atlas went to work putting distance between himself and Wolf on the clearly superior Empulse RR to finish the race more than 20-seconds ahead of his closest rival. The win was the first for Brammo and its Empulse RR project.

2011 TTXGP podium.
Steve Atlas  riding for the brand at Infineon.

“It was cool to be a part of something so new in its development,” said Atlas after the race. “Then, to be on a bike that that is leading the way from both an eco-friendly and technological standpoint is even more of an honor. Trust me when I say that those who think a future of electric racing machines might be boring…well, they haven’t ridden a proper bike like the Empulse RR.”

Without taking anything away from the effort put on by the Brammo team, there were a few notable no-shows at Infineon. Heavy hitter Mission Motorsports was on scene but chose not to compete due to a lack of testing. Meanwhile Moto Czyz did not even make the trip to the opening round.

TTXGP Results:
1. Steve Atlas (Brammo)
2. Thad Wolf (Moto Electric)
3. Kenyon Kluge (VOLT)
4. Ely Schless (Proto Moto)