Isle of Man TT Tuesday Qualifying 2011

May 31, 2011
Bryan Harley
Bryan Harley
Cruiser Editor |Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Our resident road warrior has earned his stripes covering the rally circuit, from riding the Black Hills of Sturgis to cruising Main Street in Daytona Beach. Whether it's chopped, bobbed, or bored, metric to 'Merican, he rides 'em all.

TT Superbike Qualifying
Honda TT Legends rider John McGuinness is already establishing himself as the man to beat at the Isle of Man TT, setting the fastest Superbike time in the two opening practice sessions. The 15-time Isle of Man winner posted
Cameron Donald - 2011 Isle of Man TT
Cameron Donald was able to post the third-fastest time of the Superbike session on his Wilson Craig Racing Honda with a 128.08 mph lap.

a best lap around the Mountain Course at 129.041 mph during Tuesday evening’s qualifying session. McGuinness clocked 190.6 mph through the Sulby speed trap as clear skies and favorable conditions allowed riders to get in a full practice session. McGuinness said track conditions were good except for some dust on the road at Ramsey.

Relentless by TAS Suzuki’s Guy Martin was one of the first riders out on the course in the practice session and upped his speed to 128.261 mph on his second go-round to post the second-fastest Superbike time. Martin sat atop the timesheets briefly before McGuinness crossed the line and bested his effort.

Australian rider Cameron Donald put up the third-fastest time after a late flying lap of 128.08 mph on his Wilson Craig Racing Honda. Gary Johnson has also looked impressive on his East Coast Racing Honda Superbike, finishing just off Donald’s 128-mph pace at 127.17. Michael Dunlop would bring his Street Sweep Kawasaki in fifth-fastest on the day, lapping slightly faster than Bruce Anstey on his Padgetts Motorcycles Honda.

Two-time TT winner Steve Plater hopes to make it to the Isle of Man to show his support for his Honda TT Legends’ teammates McGuinness and Keith Amor after breaking his arm after highsiding in a British Supersport Championship race Monday. This is the second year in a row the 2009 TT champion has missed the Isle of Man races due to injury. Last year, Plater missed out after injuries sustained in a crash at the North West 200.

TT Superstock Qualifying

Ryan Farquhar - Isle of Man TT 2011
Ryan Farquhar tackles the Mountain course on Tuesday, posting the seventh-fastest lap of the Superstock session.

The Superstock class was a tightly contested affair. Michael Dunlop headed out on his Street Sweep Kawasaki in the first pairing with Martin, opening up with a lap of 123.59 mph while getting progressively faster, ultimately topping the Superstock timesheets at 126.30 mph. His time at the top would be short-lived though as Gary Johnson would lap the course in 17 minutes, 43.51 seconds at a speed of 127.717 mph to capture the top slot on the Superstock timesheets.
Anstey put in a good showing on his Padgetts Honda to log the third-quickest Superstock time, 0.055 mph off of Dunlop’s pace. Martin and McGuinness snatched up the fourth and fifth place spots, while Donald and Ryan Farquhar battled it out for sixth and seventh. Donald’s 124.447 mph put him on top of the Superstock timesheets briefly before a freight train of riders surpassed him.

TT Supersport Qualifying
Michael Dunlop and Anstey were the fastest duo in the Supersport class. Dunlop topped the charts at 125.464 mph on his Street Sweep Yamaha R6 while Anstey kept him honest by lapping at 124.236 mph.

The rest of the Supersport paddock were a few miles-per-hour off the pace as William Dunlop posted the third-fastest time at 120.158 mph. All the times after that were sub-120, with Johnson lapping the course at 119.820 mph on his East Coast Construction Honda. McGuinness was just off Johnson’s pace at 119.741 mph.

Tim Reeves - 2011 Isle of Man TT
Tim Reeves was one of the few sidecar racers that was able to get a practice lap in. Sidecar driver Bill Currie and passenger Kevin Morgan were killed during Tuesday’s qualifying after an accident on the north end at Ballacrye.

Tuesday’s TT qualifying sessions were marred by the deaths of two sidecar racers who were killed in a crash on the Mountain course. Sidecar driver Bill Currie, 67, and passenger Kevin Morgan, 59, crashed at Ballacrye in the north end of the island. Following the accident, the sidecar portion of the IOMTT practice session was first red-flagged for 15 minutes before being cancelled outright.

“Bill was an experienced racer who first competed at the TT Races in 1969, when he recorded a third place finish. He finished eighth in last year’s TT sidecar race in his fastest-ever race time of 107.944. Kevin made his TT debut in 1984. This was the first year that the pair had competed together,” reports ACU Events Ltd.

The ACU also said the Coroner of Inquests has been informed and an investigation into the accident is underway. Sidecar racers will have to make up for lost time in tonight’s qualifying session.

TT Superbike Qualifying – Tuesday, May 31
1. John McGuinness (Honda) 129.041 mph
2. Guy Martin (Suzuki) 128.261 mph
3. Cameron Donald (Honda) 128.089 mph
4. Gary Johnson (Honda) 127.717 mph
5. Michael Dunlop (Kawasaki) 126.300 mph
6. Bruce Anstey (Honda)126.245
7. Keith Amor (Honda) 125.916
8. Daniel Stewart (Honda) 125.811 mph
9. William Dunlop (Honda) 124.599 mph
10. Michael Rutter (Ducati) 124.134 mph

TT Superstock Qualifying – Tuesday, May 31
1. Gary Johnson (Honda) 127.717 mph
2. Michael Dunlop (Kawasaki) 126.300 mph
3. Bruce Anstey (Honda) 126.245 mph
4. Guy Martin (Suzuki) 125.720 mph
5. John McGuinness (Honda) 124.461 mph
6. Cameron Donald (Honda) 124.447 mph
7. Ryan Farquhar (Kawasaki) 124.051 mph
8. Keith Amor (Honda) 123.439 mph
9. Adrian Archibald (BMW) 123.436 mph
10. Luis Carreira (Kawasaki) 122.772 mph

TT Supersport Qualifying – Tuesday, May 31
1. Michael Dunlop (Yamaha) 125.464 mph
2. Bruce Anstey (Honda) 124.236 mph
3. William Dunlop (Honda_ 120.158 mph
4. Gary Johnson (Honda) 119.820 mph
5. John McGuiness (Honda) 119.741 mph
6. Luis Carreira (Yamaha) 119.265 mph
7. James Hillier (Kawasaki) 119.213 mph
8. Dan Kneen (Kawasaki) 118.903 mph
9. Daniel Stewart (Honda) 118.569 mph
10. Ian Lougher (Kawasaki) 118.391 mph

Facebook comments