American SuperBike Barber Race 1 2011

June 18, 2011
Matt Davidson
Editorial Assistant|Articles|Articles RSS

Danger, adrenaline and competition are what fuel this moto enthusiast. Driven by a spirit for sportsmanship, our racing guru here at MotoUSA can be spotted at finish lines the world over as he delivers the latest battles from the two-wheeled realm.

Martin Cardenas achieved his first win in American SuperBike after holding off Ben Bostrom in Race 1. - Barber 2011
Martin Cardenas achieved his first win in American SuperBike after holding off Ben Bostrom in Race 1.

M4 Suzuki’s Martin Cardenas finally snagged his first ever American Superbike victory on Saturday at Barber Motorsports Park. The Colombian proved he is now a force to be reckoned with in SuperBike after winning the Daytona SportBike Championship last year. It was a close one, however, with Ben Bostrom coming just 0.137 seconds shy of Cardenas across the finish line. Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Blake Young claimed the final podium for the day in third more than two seconds off the pace.
Suzuki’s Tommy Hayden took the lead in the early laps with teammate Young in pursuit. Following the duo were Monster Energy Graves Yamaha’s Josh Hayes, Jordan Suzuki’s Roger Hayden, Iron Horse BMW’s Chris Peris, San Diego BMW’s Steve Rapp, M4 Suzuki’s Cardenas, BMW’s Larry Pegram and Suzuki’s Ben Bostrom. Rain then began to pummel the track, forcing a red flag to come out. Riders returned back to the pits, where many changed to rain tires for the remaining laps.
During the restart it was Young off the line first as rain continued coming down. Riders approached the circuit in a cautious manner so as not to DNF. Following Young was Hayes, Tommy Hayden, Roger Hayden and Rapp. Shortly after, however, Cardenas put the moves on Tommy Hayden to move up to third as lap times continued slowing down due to the conditions. Next up it was Roger Hayden’s turn to take over the runner-up spot on Lap 9. Meanwhile, the top-four riders started pulling from the rest of the pack as Young and Hayes began to fight for the lead. Roger Hayden took over the lead, pushing young and Hayes behind him while Hayes was nudged further back due to lappers. By the end of Lap 10, Cardenas was on the heels of Roger Hayden, stalking him at every turn.
On Lap 12 Cardenas officially broke away for the lead ahead of Young and Roger Hayden. The Colombian held his ground for most of the remaining time, but in the last three laps Bostrom brought the heat. In the end the two were neck and neck at the finish line. Cardenas just pulled ahead for the win in Race 1 at Barber, moving him closer in the standings to Tommy Hayden.

“It’s always great to win in whatever class you’re in, but it’s different to win in the dry than in the wet,” said Cardenas. “So this is good, but if it were a dry race it would be much better. We’ll see tomorrow in the dry what happens … I’ll give my best. But today, I’m very happy for me and my team.”

“We had a very good bike, and the thought was obviously to wait until a couple laps from the end, then attack him,” said Bostrom. “I thought I was good on the brakes, but he was also very good on the brakes, so I got snookered there.”

Hayes finished fourth after his brief fight for the lead, and Pegram continued to perform well in the series with another top-five result nearly four seconds behind Hayes.

American SuperBike Barber Race 1 Results:
1. Martin Cardenas (Suzuki)

American SuperBike Barber Race 1 podium  from left to right : Ben Bostrom  Martin Cardenas and Blake Young.
American SuperBike Barber Race 1 podium (from left to right): Ben Bostrom, Martin Cardenas and Blake Young.

2. Ben Bostrom (Suzuki)
3. Blake Young (Suzuki)
4. Josh Hayes (Yamaha)
5. Larry Pegram (BMW)
6. Roger Hayden (Suzuki)
7. Tommy Hayden (Suzuki)
8. JD Beach (Kawasaki)
9. Trent Gibson (Suzuki)
10. Jeremy Toye (BMW)
11. Chris Peris (BMW)
12. Steve Rapp (BMW)
13. Geoff May (Buell)
14. Jordan Burgess (Suzuki)
15.Chris Trounson (BMW)

2011 American SuperBike Championship Points:
1. Josh Hayes, 210
2. Blake Young, 202
3. Tommy Hayden, 182
4. Martin Cardenas, 134
5. Ben Bostrom, 114
6. Larry Pegram, 110
7. Roger Hayden, 103
8. Chris Clark, 90
9. Steve Rapp, 77
10. Geoff May, 68