Isle of Man TT Friday Qualifying 2011

June 3, 2011
Bryan Harley
Bryan Harley
Cruiser Editor |Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Our resident road warrior has earned his stripes covering the rally circuit, from riding the Black Hills of Sturgis to cruising Main Street in Daytona Beach. Whether it's chopped, bobbed, or bored, metric to 'Merican, he rides 'em all.

TT Superbike Qualifying
Warm weather and clear skies at the Isle of Man Friday gave riders an opportunity to make amends for Thursday’s cancelled sessions. Of course, even the best laid plans can have hitches. Friday’s outing kicked off only after a traffic accident at Ginger Hall was cleared up, which caused the qualifying session to start almost half an hour late. But once

Bruce Anstey - 2011 Isle of Man TT
Padgetts Honda’s Bruce Anstey used a late flying lap to propel him to the top of the TT Superbike qualifying timesheets, earning him the Graham London Limited Edition TT Watch for his efforts.

racers took to the course, the round was hotly contested. Four riders made an assault on the 130-mph barrier, led by 15-time TT champion John McGuinness with a speed of 130.615 mph on his second lap, and crowd favorite Guy Martin on his Relentless by TAS Suzuki at 130.075. Just when it appeared that McGuinness was on his way to posting the fastest time among Superbike qualifiers, in comes Padgetts Honda’s Bruce Anstey with a late flying lap that bested them both at 131.431 mph. Anstey won the Graham London Limited Edition TT Watch as the fastest solo qualifier of the week.

The top six Superbike riders all posted their best times during Friday’s qualifying session, with Michael Dunlop joining the 130+mph club with the fourth-fastest lap of 130.02 mph. Lincs Lifting Ltd.’s Gary Johnson continues to ride well and grabbed the final spot in the top five with a 128.554 mph lap around the Mountain Course.

Meanwhile, rider Keith Amor shrugged off the effects of a dislocated shoulder suffered during Wednesday’s qualifying, testing both his Supersport and Superbike. On the other hand, Ryan Farquhar wrecked his Kawasaki Superbike at Keppel Gate and according to GuyMartinRacing’s Twitter account, “sustained slight injury.”

TT Superstock
In Superstock action, Michael Dunlop was able to leap frog Gary Johnson at the top of the timesheets with a blistering 130.024 mph lap. Johnson had a stranglehold on the top slot all week until Dunlop’s amazing effort. Dunlop served

Michael Dunlop - 2011 Isle of Man TT
Michael Dunlop has served notice that he’s hungry for some TT podiums after clocking the fastest times in both the Superstock and Supersport classes.
Ginger Hall - 2011 Isle of Man TT
Ginger Hall has seen its fair share of accidents already. And the real races haven’t even begun yet.

notice early on that his Kawasaki was fast by flying through the speed trap at 195.60 mph on his first lap out. He was the only Superstock rider to break the 130-mph mark.

TT Supersport
Michael Dunlop also set the fastest Supersport time as his 125.464 mph lap on Tuesday withstood the charge of his competitors today. Cameron Donald held on to the second slot on the Supersport qualifying timesheet with his Wednesday 125.110 mph loop around the island. Anstey likewise inherited the third position courtesy of his time set earlier in the week, a 124.236 mph lap he laid down Tuesday. McGuinness was the only rider to better his position on Friday in the Supersport top-five after lapping his Padgetts Honda at 123.516 mph.

Sidecars returned to their familiar late start after kicking off the Thursday session. Last year’s double winner, Klaus Klaffenbock and Dan Sayle won the Graham Watch award presented to the fastest sidecar qualifiers. Klaffenbock’s 113.754 mph lap set on Wednesday stood up to the challenge despite the efforts of Tim Reeves and Gregory Cluze, who were faster than anybody else Friday. Reeves/Cluze put up a very respectable 113.321 mph today, barely missing out on capturing the Graham Watch award themselves.

The first Dainese Superbike race kicks off tomorrow at noon, with the Sure Sidecar Race 1 scheduled to launch at 3 p.m.

TT Superbike Qualifying – Final Standings
1. Bruce Anstey (Honda) 131.431 mph
2. John McGuinness (Honda) 130.615 mph
3. Guy Martin (Suzuki) 130.075 mph
4. Michael Dunlop (Kawasaki) 130.024 mph
5. Gary Johnson (Honda) 128.554 mph
6. Michael Rutter (Ducati) 128.261 mph
7. Cameron Donald (Honda) 128.089 mph
8. Daniel Stewart (Honda) 127.682 mph
9. Keith Amor (Honda) 127.531 mph
10. William Dunlop (Honda) 125.872 mph

TT Superstock Qualifying – Final Standings
1. Michael Dunlop (Kawasaki) 130.024 mph
2. Gary Johnson (Honda) 128.554 mph
3. Bruce Anstey (Honda) 127.694 mph
4. Cameron Donald (Honda) 127.205 mph
5. William Dunlop (Honda) 126.734 mph
6. Guy Martin (Suzuki) 126.013 mph
7. Ryan Farquhar (Kawasaki) 125.728 mph
8. John McGuinness (Honda) 125.310 mph
9. Ian Lougher (Kawasaki) 125.220 mph
10. James Hillier (Kawasaki) 124.677 mph

TT Supersport Qualifying – Final Standings
1. Michael Dunlop (Yamaha ) 125.464 mph
2. Cameron Donald (Honda) 125.110 mph
3. Bruce Anstey (Honda ) 124.236 mph
4. William Dunlop (Honda) 123.959 mph
5. John McGuinness (Honda) 123.516 mph
6. Guy Martin (Suzuki) 123.182 mph
7. Gary Johnson (Honda) 123.087 mph
8. Keith Amor (Honda) 122.660 mph
9. Dan Kneen (Yamaha) 121.121 mph
10. Ben Wylie (Yamaha) 121.103 mph