Isle of Man TT Wednesday Qualifying 2011

June 2, 2011
Bryan Harley
Bryan Harley
Cruiser Editor |Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Our resident road warrior has earned his stripes covering the rally circuit, from riding the Black Hills of Sturgis to cruising Main Street in Daytona Beach. Whether it's chopped, bobbed, or bored, metric to 'Merican, he rides 'em all.

TT Superbike –
Bruce Anstey powered his way to the top of the Isle of Man TT Superbike timesheets Wednesday with the fastest time of the week. Anstey lapped the 37-plus mile Mountain Course at a personal best 129.695 mph, eclipsing John McGuinness’ 129.041 mph effort from the preceding day. Guy Martin continues to lap consistently and once again posted the second-fastest time, bumping his speed up to 129.333 mph on his second lap of the island. Gary Johnson is looking like a podium contender after another strong outing, good for third-best on the day. Michael Dunlop put in a good showing at 128.269 mph to finish fourth-fastest, while Cameron Donald didn’t quite match the speed he displayed Tuesday and dropped a couple of positions on Wednesday’s timesheets to fifth place. McGuinness was well off his Tuesday pace, pulling in early to make adjustments on his Honda TT Legends Fireblade as he finished down on the timesheets in ninth place. He only put in one lap before switching to his Supersport bike, though. McGuinness’ Honda TT Legends teammate, Keith Amor, took a spill at Quarterbridge and reportedly suffered a dislocated shoulder.

TT Superstock –
The top three in Wednesday’s Superstock qualifying timesheet are identical to Tuesday’s, with Gary Johnson once again setting the pace to beat. Johnson rode his Lincs Lifting Ltd. Honda to a session-best 128.452 mph, edging out Michael Dunlop, who also crested the 128-mph mark. Top TT Superbike qualifier Anstey posted the third-fastest time, well ahead of fourth-place qualifier Ryan Faquhar on his KMR Kawasaki.

TT Supersport –
Cameron Donald claimed the top spot on the Supersport timesheets Wednesday, but his time was a tad short of Michael Dunlop’s Tuesday timesheet topper. William Dunlop was able to find quite a bit more speed and his 123.959 mph was good enough for second-best time of the day. Guy Martin broke out his Supersport Suzuki for a couple of practice laps and proceeded to log the third-fastest time.  

Sidecars returned to the course in the evening after yesterday’s tragic accident, which claimed the lives of two sidecar racers, cut the session short. Klaus Klaffenbock and Daniel Sayle proceeded to lay down the fastest time at a speed of 113.754 mph. Tim Reeves and Gregory Cluze couldn’t quite match the pace set by Klaffenbock/Sayle but still put in the second-fastest effort at 111.379 mph. Sidecar driver John Holden and passenger Andrew Winkle would grab the third spot on the timesheets despite putting in only one practice lap compared to two for the leaders.

Wednesday’s qualifying session was contested under mostly sunny skies with wind being the major factor to contend with. Riders said visibility was good and roads were dry but the area around Ballagarey was a little slippery.

The American contingent consists of Mark Miller and Jeremy Toye. Both riders are competing in Superbike & Superstock with Miller on a ‘Priller RSV4 and Toye on a Kawasaki ZX-10R. Both riders are starting off slow with Miller 50th in Superbike and 51st in Superstock aboard his Splitlath Motorsport Aprilia while Toye is 58th in both Superbike and Superstock on his Sondel Racing ZX-10R.

TT Superbike Qualifying – Wed., June 1
1. Bruce Anstey (Honda) 129.695 mph
2. Guy Martin (Suzuki) 129.333 mph
3. Gary Johnson (Honda) 128.452 mph
4. Michael Dunlop (Kawasaki) 128.269 mph
5. Cameron Donald (Honda) 127.568 mph
6. Keith Amor (Honda) 127.531 mph
7. Daniel Stewart (Honda) 127.132 mph
8. Michael Rutter (Ducati) 126.811 mph
9. John McGuinness (Honda) 126.029 mph
10. William Dunlop (Honda) 125.872 mph

TT Superstock Qualifying – Wed., June 1
1. Gary Johnson (Honda) 128.452 mph
2. Michael Dunlop (Kawasaki) 128.269 mph
3. Bruce Anstey (Honda) 127.694 mph
4. Ryan Farquhar (Kawasaki) 124.394 mph
5. Ian Mackman (Suzuki) 123.713 mph
6. John McGuinness (Honda) 123.294 mph
7. Daniel Stewart (BMW) 123.254 mph
8. Keith Amor (Honda) 122.896 mph
9. Robert Barber (Honda) 122.248 mph
10. Michael Rutter (Ducati) 121.491 mph

TT Supersport Qualifying – Wed., June 1
1. Cameron Donald (Honda) 125.110 mph
2. William Dunlop (Honda) 123.959 mph
3. Guy Martin (Suzuki) 123.182 mph
4. Dan Kneen (Yamaha) 121.121 mph
5. Bruce Anstey (Honda) 120.947 mph
6. Ben Wylie (Yamaha) 120.582 mph
7. Daniel Stewart (Honda) 120.519 mph
8. Conor Cummins (Kawasaki) 120.162 mph
9. Ian Lougher (Kawasaki) 119.899 mph
10. Ryan Farquhar (Kawasaki) 119.790 mph

Facebook comments