AMA 250 MX Red Bud Results 2011

July 2, 2011
Matt Davidson
Editorial Assistant|Articles|Articles RSS

Danger, adrenaline and competition are what fuel this moto enthusiast. Driven by a spirit for sportsmanship, our racing guru here at MotoUSA can be spotted at finish lines the world over as he delivers the latest battles from the two-wheeled realm.

Blake Baggett led a team green asault on the podium at Red Bud by taking both motos in dominant fashion.
Blake Baggett led a team green asault on the podium at Red Bud by taking both motos in dominant fashion.

Mitch Payton’s Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki squad ruled the podium in Round 6 of the 250 AMA Motocross Championship at Red Bud. Leading the team’s efforts was Blake Baggett, who secured the overall win with another double victory, making it his third of the season. Dean Wilson was second on the box for Kawasaki, with fellow teammate Tyla Rattray recording third place in the final moto to claim the final spot on the podium.
Geico Honda’s Justin Barcia nailed the start ahead of Sipes, Lance Vincent, Wilson, Planet Fitness/Fox Honda’s Wil Hahn, Baggett and DNA Shred Stix/Star Racing Yamaha’s Kyle Cunningham. Wilson quickly got around Vincent for third in the opening lap while Rattray had a horrible start outside the top-15. Baggett advanced ahead of Hahn, who had a solid start in his first race of the year since breaking his back. TLD Honda’s Cole Seely and Rockstar Energy Suzuki’s Martin Davalos both had rough starts outside the top-25, while Baggett continued pushing ahead by passing Vincent for fourth. After getting a top-five start Hahn dropped off the pace, eventually settling into ninth.
As he’s done so many times this season, Barcia let the lead slip through his grasp when he slammed into the ground after getting crossed-up off a jump. The impact was hard and Bam Bam was slow getting up, but the frustrated Honda rider eventually recovered outside the top-10. Sipes was gifted the lead and a six-second lead ahead of Wilson and Baggett, the two Kawasaki teammates going at it with half the moto left. Further back Moto Extreme Kawasaki’s Matt Lemoine crashed out while Suzuki City’s Malcolm Stewart

Kawasakis Dean Wilson ran away in Moto 1 after getting a terrific holeshot.
Dean Wilson (above) continues leading the 250s after two more runner-up finishes to Baggett. Justin Barcia (#17 below) suffered two crashes in Moto 1 and didn’t return for the second race.
Justin Barcia had another rough day after crashing twice in the first moto. - Red Bud 2011

had to pull off the track with a mechanical problem.
As Wilson and Baggett’s battle for second intensified the duo moved closer to Sipes in the lead. Wilson closed the door on nearly all of Baggett’s pass attempts. But through his persistence and creative line selection, Baggett got the best of the Scotsman for runner-up. Baggett then wasted little time going after Sipes for the lead. Still benefitting from his outside lines, Baggett nabbed the lead from Sipes. Meanwhile Barcia’s day went from bad to worse after he crashed a second time.
In the end Baggett secured another solid moto victory by more than eight seconds ahead of Wilson, who got around Sipes in the final laps for second. Sipes and Cunningham placed third and fourth, respectively, putting two DNA Shred Stix/Star Racing riders in the top-four in the first moto.
Baggett got a great start in the second moto ahead of Wilson, Hahn and Vincent, with Rattray getting a much better start than his first moto in fifth. Barcia wasn’t at the starting gate for Moto 2 after his hard fall in the first moto shook him up. In the opening laps Rattray got around Vincent for fourth as Seely moved up to sixth ahead of Cunningham and Volcom/FMF Honda’s Darryn Durham. It was all Baggett up front as the 19-year-old was on the prowl for his second win of the day.
Shortly after Rattray moved ahead of Hahn for third, putting three of the four Pro Circuit Kawasaki riders at the top of the order as Durham had to pull into the mechanics area unable to finish out the race. Baggett continued doing what he does best by laying down some of the fastest laps of the day to gap the competition. Meanwhile the other Pro Circuit Kawasaki rider, Broc Tickle, advanced through the order to sit behind Cunningham in fifth.
Unchallenged for most of the second moto, Baggett collected his second overall win in a row at Red Bud. Wilson managed second with back-to-back second-place motos, as Rattray took home third overall while losing ground in the championship to Baggett.

250 Motocross Red Bud Results:
1. Blake Baggett (Kawasaki) 1-1
2. Dean Wilson (Kawasaki) 2-2
3. Tyla Rattray (Kawasaki) 5-3
4. Kyle Cunningham (Yamaha) 4-4
5. Broc Tickle (Kawasaki) 7-5

As tough as Tyla Rattray Is  the South African couldnt match Baggetts pace and had to settle for runner-up.
Despite top-five moto scores in Round 6, Tyla Rattray moved down in the championship standings to third.

6. Wil Hahn (Honda) 8-6
7. Ryan Sipes (Yamaha) 3-14
8. Martin Davalos (Suzuki) 11-7
9. Cole Seely (Honda) 9-10
10. Scott Champion (Honda) 13-13
11. Travis Baker (Honda) 12-15
12. Darryn Durham (Honda) 6-34
13. Gareth Swanepoel (Yamaha) 17-11
14. Malcolm Stewart (Suzuki) 28-8
15. Nico Izzi (Honda) 31-9

250 Motocross Championship Points:
1. Dean Wilson, 258
2. Blake Baggett, 244
3. Tyla Rattray, 242
4. Eli Tomac, 176
5. Kyle Cunningham, 163
6. Broc Tickle, 143
7. Justin Barcia, 137
8. Gareth Swanepoel, 120
9. Cole Seely, 112
10. Martin Davalos, 111

Facebook comments