Daytona SportBike New Jersey Race 2 2011

September 4, 2011
Matt Davidson
Editorial Assistant|Articles|Articles RSS

Danger, adrenaline and competition are what fuel this moto enthusiast. Driven by a spirit for sportsmanship, our racing guru here at MotoUSA can be spotted at finish lines the world over as he delivers the latest battles from the two-wheeled realm.

Monster Energy Graves Motorsports Yamahas Josh Herrin earned the final DSB win of his career at New Jersey after announcing that hes moving to the SuperBike class in 2012.
Graves Motorsports Yamaha’s Josh Herrin (#8) earned the final DSB win of his career at New Jersey after announcing that he’s moving to the SuperBike class in 2012.

In the final race of the 2011 Daytona SportBike Championship Monster Energy Graves Yamaha’s Josh Herrin claimed victory in the two-part finale. Herrin finished just 0.135 seconds ahead of M4 Suzuki’s Dane Westby in what has become his final DSB race of his career – the 21-year-old announcing Saturday that he’s moving up to the SuperBike class for 2012. After winning the first DSB race yesterday, Yamaha Extended Service/Pat Clark Sport’s Tommy Aquino finished third to make the podium in both races. In the end, however, RMR Suzuki’s Danny Eslick would be crowned the 2011 DSB Champion ahead of Herrin by 19 points.

The last race of the season began with Aquino getting a good jump on the field to lead the first lap ahead of Herrin and Riders Discount/Jake Holden Racing’s Cameron Beaubier. Herrin soon made an inside pass on Aquino to take the lead ad Eslick was running fourth ahead of Celtic Racing’s PJ Jacobsen. Beaubier then darted into second as only a few bike lengths separated the top-three riders. The following lap Beaubier took over the lead while setting a new fast lap. Meanwhile Westby and Eslick had caught back up with the front runners in fourth and fifth respectively, as all five were within a second of each other.
Further back a tense battle broke out for sixth between Bryce Prince, Cory West and Jason DiSalvo. Just a few laps later Westby had moved into the lead ahead of Herrin and Aquino, Eslick and Beuabier. Just when Herrin started to battle for the lead again with Westby a red flag is thrown due to a crash involving Santiago Villa.
Upon the restart Aquino had another good start and was leading as Jacobsen entered the mix. With nine laps remaining Herrin jumped back into the lead as Westby advanced into third. A few laps later Herrin remained less than a second ahead of Westby as Knapp crashed into the back of Jacobsen’s bike – the latter rider beginning to slow due to a mechanical. With the white flag out Herrin was still fending off Westby as Beaubier lost third to Aquino. Despite a final attempt on the finishing straight Westby finished just inches behind Herrin.

“When I heard Dave [Westby] behind me, I got real scared because I knew it was him, and it scared me when I saw him put a wheel on me because I thought he would have gotten me on the last lap in Turn 3,” Herrin said. “But my Monster Energy Graves Yamaha worked really well and I was able to get by most everybody on the straightaway.”

Aquino grabs third ahead of Beaubier, as Eslick rides a conservative race for fifth at the checkers.

Daytona SportBike New Jersey Race 2 Results:
1. Josh Herrin (Yamaha)
2. Dane Westby (Suzuki)
3. Tommy Aquino (Yamaha)
4. Cameron Beaubier (Yamaha)

RMR Suzukis Danny Eslick won the 2011 DSB Championship ahead of Herrin after placing fifth in the final race.
RMR Suzuki’s Danny Eslick won the 2011 DSB Championship ahead of Herrin after placing fifth in the final race.

5. Danny Eslick (Suzuki)
6. Cory West (Suzuki)
7. Jason DiSalvo (Triumph)
8. Bryce Prince (Yamaha)
9. Mike Selpe (Yamaha)
10. Huntley Nash (Yamaha)
11. Josh Galster (Yamaha)
12. Raul Alzate (Yamaha)
13. Tyler OHara (Yamaha)
14. Fernando Amantini (Kawasaki)
15. Michael Morgan (Suzuki)

2011 Daytona SportBike Championship Points:
1. Danny Eslick, 275
2. Josh Herrin, 256
3. Tommy Aquino, 237
4. Jason DiSalvo, 224
5. Cory West, 215
6. Cameron Beaubier, 213
7. Dane Westby, 188
8. Taylor Knapp, 139
9. Tyler OHara, 122
10. PJ Jacobsen, 112