Weigandt & Antunez to Call Arenacross Action

October 27, 2011
Courtesy of Next Level Sports Inc.
AMA Arenacross Series

Feld Motor Sports has announced that the 2012 AMA Arenacross Series broadcasts will return to SPEED, continuing the longstanding relationship between the two entities. With a revamped schedule set to begin on Saturday, October 29, in Des Moines, Iowa, fans will have the opportunity to watch the action earlier than ever, as Jason Weigandt and Buddy Antunez provide the play-by-play and analysis.

Antunez, a five-time AMA Arenacross Series Champion and the winningest rider in the sport, made the move into the broadcast booth last season. As the most successful Arenacross rider in history, Antunez was a natural alongside Weigandt, providing insight only he could offer given his exceptional career resume.

Weigandt, who has been the voice of the AMA Arenacross Series since it began being broadcast on SPEED in 2005, will continue his role as the voice of the sport. His well-rounded announcing experience across all disciplines of dirt-bike racing and his vast knowledge of the competition is unmatched by any other host in the industry.

In total, 12 shows will give AMA Arenacross Series fans throughout the country ample opportunity to watch some of the most exciting two-wheeled action on the planet. Beginning in the New Year on January 3, 2012, “Arenacross Tuesdays” will take center stage on SPEED, with weekly premieres that last through the end of March, beginning at noon ET.

As Babbitt’s Monster Energy/TiLUBE Kawasaki’s Tyler Bowers seeks to defend his Arenacross class crown, his talented teammates Josh Demuth and Chad Johnson, along with the TUF Honda duo of Jeff Gibson and Cole Siebler, will look to make championship runs of their own. Additionally, AMA Arenacross Series veterans like Kelly Smith, Kevin Johnson, Nathan Skaggs and Zach Ames will all be engaged in battle at the front of the field.

Here is the 2012 AMA Arenacross Series SPEED broadcast schedule:

Date City Time (ET)

Jan. 3             Des Moines, Iowa                             12 p.m.
Jan. 10           Baltimore, Md. (Night 1)                    12 p.m.
Jan. 17           Baltimore, Md. (Night 2)                    12 p.m.
Jan. 24           Madison, Wis. (Night 1)                    12 p.m.
Jan 31.           Madison, Wis. (Night 2)                    12 p.m.
Feb. 7             Grand Rapids, Mich. (Night 1)         12 p.m.
Feb. 14           Grand Rapids, Mich., (Night 2)        12 p.m.
Feb. 21           Dayton, Ohio                                    12 p.m.
Feb. 28           Cedar Park, Texas (Night 1)            12 p.m.
Mar. 6              Cedar Park, Texas (Night 2)           12 p.m.
Mar. 13            Reno, Nev. (Night 1)                       12 p.m.
Mar. 20            Reno, Nev. (Night 2)                       12 p.m.
Mar. 27            Minneapolis, Minn.                          12 p.m.

Live timing and scoring from each round of the AMA Arenacross Series returns for the 2012 season! To follow the intense racing action live, log onto www.Arenacross.com.  

For more information on the 2012 AMA Arenacross Series, log on to www.Arenacross.com. For all media requests, please contact Brandon Short brandon@nextlevelsportsinc.com  or 949-365-5750.

Never miss out on the latest news! Follow the AMA Arenacross Series on Facebook and Twitter! Log on to www.facebook.com/AMAarenacross  and twitter.com/arenacross  today!