Hare and Hound Round 1 Preview 2012

January 18, 2012
Courtesy of National Hare and Hound
National Hare and Hound Series Logo

In less than one week, the Johnson Valley OHV area (Lucerne Valley, CA) will be rumbling with desert racers as the banner drops on Sunday, January 22nd at 9:30am as the Pro’s and Amateurs on both bikes & ATV’s kick off ROUND 1 and the 2012 season, hosted by District 37’s Desert MC. This will mark the 45th Anniversary of the “Winter Classic” event. Last year’s Round 1 was a tough one for sure, testing everyone’s wits and will to make it around the 3-loop race. This year, the club will be providing 2 loops totaling 80 miles and promises to be a great opening round. The staging area is north of Hwy 247 on Bessemer Mine Rd.
We want to take this opportunity to first thank all of the series sponsors for 2012, with many new ones aboard for this season! Big Thanks to KENDA, FMF, Purvines Racing, GPR, Bullet Proof Designs, and KTM for steppping up huge for the 2012 series.

Many product give-aways and contingency coupons come from:

KENDA, FMF, Purvines Racing, GPR, Bullet Proof Designs, TBT Suspension, Alpinestars, BRP, Dirt Tricks, Fasst Co, Fastway/PMB, FPS Racing, IMS, Leatt, No Toil, RB Components, Rekluse, Rocky Mountain ATV/MC, Works Connection and ZLT! Also, contingencies from KTM, Kawasaki and Honda.

Over $30,000 was awarded in 2011 in contingencies and product give-aways! We will exceed that amount in 2012. Please help us support our amazing off-road sponsors as they are fully dedicated to the desert racing community.

There will be 10 Rounds for 2012 with two new venues. The first new venue will be near Reno, NV for Round 3, and another Nevada event later in the season for Round 8 near Panaca, NV. More information will be posted as it comes on the NHHA website: www.NationalHareandHound.com  

For the Pro’s in 2012, there have been many team changes as of late. Returning to the stage this season is the 2011 AMA/Kendal National Hare and Hound Champion, FMF/KTM’s Kurt Caselli. Caselli had a stellar year in 2011 winning this championship and also the #1 WORCS Championship. Caselli will be defending his National Championship title against many other outstanding desert pro racers. During this year, Caselli and crew will also be racing a full season down south in Baja, California in the SCORE series starting in March, along with the full National Hare & Hound Series, ISDE, and other events as well.

The 2nd Place Overall podium finalist of 2011 was David Pearson. Pearson was racing for Purvines Racing but just recently signed a contract with THR Motorsports and will be riding a Kawasaki. We are hoping Pearson returns for the 2012 season to the series as he will also be battling in Baja, California in 2012 for a THR Motorsports Championship.

The 3rd Place Overall podium finisher was none other than desert legend, Monster/Kawasaki’s Destry Abbott. Abbott is the veteran of the group and still pushed himself and his machine to the podium at each and every round in 2011! We know that Abbott won’t be racing the whole 2012 series as he will be taking on other roles for his Kawasaki Team, but we are hoping to see him at the season opener.

The 4th Place Overall finisher was Off Road Support/KSV’s Jacob Argubright. Argubright had a terrific year and has recently been signed with Monster/Kawasaki for the 2012 season. We are excited to see what this young man will do in 2012, already proving he can run with the best! Argubright will also be participating in the 2012 Endurocross series.

The 5th Place Overall finisher was Kendall Norman, formerly riding for JCR/Honda. As of today, we have not heard if Norman has signed a contract to ride for another team for 2012. We hope to see the 2010 National Hare & Hound Champ racing with us again for 2012.

The list of Pro’s is a long one and we hope to see some great battles for the first overall spot in 2012!

The Woman’s Pro National Hare and Hound Championship title for 2011 went to Blais Racing Services rider, Shayla Fulfer. 2011 was Fulfer’s first full season and she will return in 2012 to defend her #1 title. The women’s class has grown and we’re seeing a lot more fast riders battle it out for that number one spot. 2012 will be an exciting one for the ladies for sure.

In the ATV Pro Class, the #1 Champion title holder for 2011 is DirtFirst/Duncan Racing’s Andy Lagzdins. 2011 was Lagzdins first full season with the series and he will hopefully be back for the 2012 season to defend his #1 title.

The 2011 Top 17 overall list: Kurt Caselli, David Pearson, Destry Abbott, Jacob Argubright, Kendall Norman, Justin Morrow, Robert Underwood, Carl Maassberg, Nick Burson, Jeff Trulove, Skyler Howes, Chris Morrow, Tuffy Pearson, Dan Capparelli, Lane Buchert, Clay Davis, David Fry.

With a total of 26 National Classes to compete in, the Amateur racers have their work cut out for them as well. We saw so many great battles for Championships in 2011 in all of the various classes from the Vets, to the Woman, to the Masters and in the ATV classes.

We want to congratulate all the 2011 winners once again and we hope you are all excited for 2012 and to defend your titles!

Facebook comments