Los Angeles Supercross Lites Results 2012

January 21, 2012
Matt Davidson
Editorial Assistant|Articles|Articles RSS

Danger, adrenaline and competition are what fuel this moto enthusiast. Driven by a spirit for sportsmanship, our racing guru here at MotoUSA can be spotted at finish lines the world over as he delivers the latest battles from the two-wheeled realm.

Eli Tomac - 2012 AMA Supercross Los Angeles
Geico Honda’s Eli Tomac finally overcame poor starts this season to win his first race of 2012 at Dodger Stadium.

The Western Regional Supercross Lites Class continued to charge through its schedule on Saturday night with Geico Honda’s Eli Tomac securing his first win of the season at Dodger Stadium. Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Dean Wilson followed up his victory in Arizona with another great ride in Los Angeles, the Scotsman finishing just more than a second ahead of MonsterEnergy Yamaha’s Zach Osborne.

Rockstar Energy Suzuki’s Martin Davalos took the holeshot to start the night ahead of Tomac, Osborne and MotoConcepts’ Vince Friese. Utilizing his excellent starting position, Tomac quickly pounced on Davalos to claim the lead while TLD Honda’s Cole Seely got bumped off track during the rough start. Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin made the pass on Rocket Exhaust’s Michael Leib for sixth on the opening lap, putting the Frenchman just behind Kawasaki’s Tyla Rattray. Despite winning his heat race, Star Valli Yamaha’s Ryan Sipes had a horrible start outside the top-15 along with SlatonRacing’s Nick Paluzzi and Sipes’ own teammate, Nico Izzi.

Musquin continued to push toward the front by overtaking Rattray for fifth. Meanwhile, Osborne was closing on Davalos for runner-up as the two became caught in a tense duel. On Lap 6 Osborne mounted a final effort that put him ahead as Davalos crashed shortly after, allowing Wilson to move up to third. Riding fast and flawless, Tomac continued to stretch his lead while Davalos recovered back in sixth. Seely’s

Red Bull KTMs Marvin Musquin lost a top-five finish after crashing hard in the final laps.
Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin lost a top-five finish after crashing hard in the final laps.

night continued to get worse as he crashed and dropped down to 16th.

With just five laps remaining Wilson and Musquin began to catch Osborne. By Lap 12 Davalos lost another spot to Rockstar Energy Suzuki’s Jason Anderson. Just when Musquin was looking at another strong performance, however, the Frenchman crashed hard and couldn’t remount, handing fourth over to Rattray. The pressure on Osborne continued late into the race as Wilson scuttled by for second.

Tomac went on to claim the checkers in dominant fashion after leading every lap.

“I was able to sneak into the lead and ride 15 solid laps,” said Tomac. “It’s a night and day difference when you get a good start. I should have been getting starts like this all season.”

Wilson held on for runner-up, the Scotsman now claiming solid results in the last two rounds. It was also a night to celebrate for Osborne, who secured one of his best results on the podium ahead of Rattray and Anderson.

Los Angeles Supercross Lites Results:

Dean Wilson - 2012 AMA Supercross Los Angeles
Dean Wilson (above) posted second in Round 3 after overtaking Zack Osborne (below) in the final laps of the Lites main.
Zach Osbourne  #338  and Dean Wilson  #15  - 2012 AMA Supercross Los Angeles

1. Eli Tomac (Honda)
2. Dean Wilson (Kawasaki)
3. Zack Osborne (Yamaha)
4. Tyla Rattray (Kawasaki)
5. Jason Anderson (Suzuki)
6. Max Anstie (Honda)
7. Michael Leib (Honda)
8. Matt Moss (KTM)
9. Martin Davalos (Suzuki)
10. Billy Laninovich (Honda)
11. Nico Izzi (Yamaha)
12. Ryan Sipes (Yamaha)
13. Vince Friese (Honda)
14. Teddy Maier (Honda)
15. Cole Seely (Honda)

2012 AMA Supercross Lites Championship Points:
1. Eli Tomac, 63
2. Dean Wilson, 62
3. Tyla Rattray, 60
4. Cole Seely, 47
5. Zach Osborne, 47
6. Jason Anderson, 44
7. Marvin Musquin, 42
8. Max Anstie, 32
9. Nico Izzi, 32
10. Billy Laninovich, 27

Facebook comments