AMA Pro Racing Daytona Thursday 2012

March 15, 2012
Bart Madson
By Bart Madson
Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Bashing away at the MotoUSA keyboard for nine years now, Madson lends his scribbling and editorial input on everything from bike reviews to industry analysis and motorcycle racing reports.

Reigning American SuperBike champion Josh Hayes claimed provisional pole position as AMA Pro Racing action kicks off at Daytona International Speedway.
Josh Hayes defends his American SuperBike title aboard the Monster Energy Graves Yamaha R1.
Defending American SuperBike champion Josh Hayes claimed provisional pole as AMA Pro Racing kicks off the 2012 season at Daytona International Speedway.


The Monster Energy Graves Yamaha’s Hayes topped the timesheet in both the morning Practice and afternoon Qualifying sessions for American SuperBike. Following Hayes was his closest ASB title rival last season, Yoshimura Suzuki’s Blake Young. Winner of both SuperBike races at the 2011 Daytona doubleheader, Young was 0.194 off the leader’s pace.

Roger Hayden was more than a half-second off the lead pace, the second-year National Guard Jordan Suzuki rider third-fastest on the day. Hayes’ new Graves Yamaha teammate, SuperBike rookie Josh Herrin, rounded out the provisional front row.

Jordan Suzuki’s second rider, Ben Bostrom, lapped fifth-fastest, followed by the Yosh squad’s number 2 rider, Chris Clark. Performance rider Steve Rapp paced seventh-fastest, the veteran rider campaigning Daytona aboard a Kawasaki ZX-10R. Rapp edged out Foremost Insurance-backed Larry Pegram, who returns to Daytona aboard the BMW S1000RR.

A second Beemer cracked the top-10 with Jake Holden qualifying ninth on the S1000RR tuned by Arizona’s Evan Steel Performance. Rounding out the top 10 is Team Amsoil Hero’s Geoff May piloting the EBR 1190RS. May beat out Gixxer privateer David Anthony (11th), with KTM/HMC Racings Chris Fillmore completing provisional Row 3. The lone RC8 on the Daytona grid was 2.7 second adrift of Hayes.

Danny Eslick made his ASB debut with Erik Buell Racing running 13th-fastest. The two-time Daytona SportBike champion pilots the Team Hero EBR 1190RS for 2012.

2012 American SuperBike Daytona Thursday:
1. Josh Hayes (Yamaha) 01:38.4
2. Blake Young (Suzuki) 1:38.6
3. Roger Hayden (Suzuki) 1:38.9
4. Josh Herrin (Yamaha) 1:39.0
5. Ben Bostrom (Suzuki) 1:39.3
6. Chris Clark (Suzuki) 1:40.0
7. Steve Rapp (Kawasaki) 1:40.0
8. Larry Pegram (BMW) 1:40.3
9. Jake Holden (BMW) 1:40.3
10. Geoff May (EBR) 1:40.4
11. David Anthony (Suzuki) 1:40.5
12. Chris Fillmore (KTM) 1:41.1
13. Danny Eslick (EBR) 1:41.6
14. Robertino Pietri (Suzuki) 1:41.6
15. Taylor Knapp (Suzuki) 1:41.7


Jason DiSalvo led the Daytona SportBike field on Thursday. The Team Latus rider and 2011 Daytona 200 winner set the DSB pace aboard his Triumph Daytona 675. DiSalvo was the only SportBike rider to dip under the 1’50 mark. Y.E.S. Graves Yamaha’s Cameron Beaubier was second-fastest, followed by fellow R6 rider Joey Pascarella (Project 1 Atlanta). The 2010 Daytona SportBike champion, Martin Cardenas, was fourth-fastest on the Geico Suzuki.

Suzuki riders Corey Vest (Riders Discount Vesrah) and Dane Westby (M4 Broaster Chicken) took up the five and six spots during the Thursday practice sessions. The Gixxer duo lead the Yamaha pair of JD Beach (RoadRace Factory/Red Bull) and Tommy Aquino (SGA Racing/YCRS) in seventh and eighth.

Jake Zemke’s return to AMA racing resulted in 17th on the practice sheet. The 2008 AMA Formula Xtreme Champion and 2006 Daytona 200 winner is piloting a Ducati 848 for Ducshop Racing.

UPDATE: Tommy Hayden secured a last-minute ride for the Daytona 200, replacing the injured Garrett Gerloff on the Y.E.S. Graves Yamaha.

2012 Daytona SportBike Daytona Thursday:
1. Jason DiSalvo (Triumph) 1:49.7
2. Cameron Beaubier (Yamaha) 1:50.1
3. Joey Pascarella (Yamaha) 1:51.1
4. Martin Cardenas (Suzuki) 1:51.3
5. Cory West (Suzuki) 1:51.5
6. Dane Westby (Suzuki) 1:51.7
7. JD Beach (Yamaha) 1:51.7
8. Tommy Aquino (Yamaha) 1:52.0
9. Fernando Amantini (Kawasaki) 1:52.3
10. Huntley Nash (Yamaha) 1:52.3
11. Jake Gagne (Yamaha) 1:52.3
12. Barrett Long (Ducati) 1:52.3
13. Robertino Pietri (Yamaha) 1:52.8
14. David Gaviria (Yamaha) 1:53.0
15. Kris Turner (Triumph) 1:53.1
17. Jake Zemke (Ducati) 1:53.4


Suzuki rider Corey Alexander nabbed the provisional pole for the SuperSport class. Alexander bested fellow Gixxer pilot James Ripsoli (Celtic Racing Orient Express), though both riders were almost a full second ahead of their nearest rivals, Dustin Domingquez (Triumph) and Hayden Gillim (RoadRace Factory Yamaha).

The SuperSport class has fielded a 51-rider grid for the Daytona doubleheader. Elena Myers was the fastest woman in the SuperSport class on Thursday, 11th on the timesheet. Shelinda Moreda finished the day 39th.’s Devon McDonough kicked off his rookie campaign in the pro ranks. Finishing the day 32nd on the timesheet.

2012 SuperSport Thursday Qualifying:
1. Corey Alexander (Suzuki) 01:52.7
2. James Rispoli (Suzuki) 01:52.8
3. Dustin Dominguez (Triumph) 01:53.6
4. Hayden Gillim (Yamaha) 01:53.6
5. Stefano Mesa (Yamaha) 01:53.8
6. Jake Lewis (Suzuki) 01:54.1
7. Tomas Puerta (Yamaha) 01:54.7
8. Ryan Kerr (Kawasaki) 01:54.7
9. Miles Thornton (Yamaha) 01:54.8
10. Sebastiao Ferreira (Yamaha) 01:54.9
11. Elena Myers (Suzuki) 01:55.0
12. Eric Stump (Yamaha) 01:55.1
13. Jacob Morman (Yamaha) 01:55.2
14. Rocco Horvath (Yamaha) 01:55.8
15. Travis Wyman (Suzuki) 01:56.0


Kyle Wyman holds provisional pole for the Vance & Hines XR1200 opener. The KWR Vesrah rider lapped 0.187 quicker than the Bartel’s Harley-Davidson duo of Michael Barnes and Tyler O’Hara.

2012 Vance & Hines XR1200 Daytona Thursday Qualifying:
1. Kyle Wyman 02:06.6
2. Michael Barnes 02:06.8
3. Tyler OHara 02:07.2
4. Michael Corbino 02:08.7
5. David Estok 02:08.9
6. Darren James 02:09.5
7. Shane Narbonne 02:09.6
8. Travis Wyman 02:10.1
9. Gerry Signorelli 02:10.9
10. Paul Schwemmer 02:11.2

Facebook comments