AMA XR1200 Daytona Results 2012

March 16, 2012
Bart Madson
By Bart Madson
Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Bashing away at the MotoUSA keyboard for nine years now, Madson lends his scribbling and editorial input on everything from bike reviews to industry analysis and motorcycle racing reports.

Kyle Wyman took the win in the sesason opener for the Vance   Hines XR1200 series.
Kyle Wyman took the win in the sesason opener for the Vance & Hines XR1200 series.
The XR1200 finish at Daytona was a thriller  as expected  with Wyman taking the win.
The XR1200 finish at Daytona was a thriller, as expected, with Wyman taking the win.

Kyle Wyman drafted by challengers Tyler O’Hara and Michael Barnes to take the season opener in the Vance & Hines X1200 series. The KWR Vesrah rider poached the win from the two Bartel’s Harley-Davidson riders on the final lap, besting O’Hara by 0.116 at the line.

The XR series featured its familiar lead changes and hectic action. Wyman jockeyed with O’Hara for the lead from the start of the 7-lap scramble. Barnes and Trev Deeley Motorcycles David Estok were also in the mix for the front during the opening laps.

“It was busy, we were practically touching handlebars,” said Barnes on his podium finish. “This class is just so competitive and so much fun for the fans and for the racers themselves. I just couldn’t be more pleased in with the first race for Bartels in over a decade. And to have both Tyler and I up here on the podium is something to be proud of for the team.”

“Going in here it’s about being in the right place at the right time. That last lap I don’t think anyone wanted to lead,” said O’Hara. “Barney got by me and I kind of checked up just riding behind him, and I know Kyle was behind me, kind of sitting on me. I pulled out and Kyle got a double draft – in the right place and the right time. Hats off to him.”

Said race winner Wyman, “I like Daytona. It was a fun race, battling with these guys. It was really just like last year: four riders at the front just swapping positions and really just play head games on where we’re going to be on the last lap. I knew it was going to be a race from the last chicane to the checkers, and that’s what it turned out to be. So I just wanted to be in the right place at the right time, and it worked out pretty good for me.”

2012 Vance & Hines XR1200 Daytona Results:

2012 XR1200 Daytona podium: Tyler OHara  Kyle Wyman and Michael Barnes.
Kyle Wyman leads the XR1200 field through the Daytona infield.

1. Kyle Wyman
2. Tyler OHara +0.116
3. Michael Barnes +0.412
4. David Estok +0.785
5. Darren James +9.376
6. Travis Wyman +9.387
7. Michael Corbino +9.427
8. Gerry Signorelli +18.116
9. Josh Chisum +18.268
10. Nicholas Hansem +25.524
11. Jeremiah Johnson +25.556
12. Brice Cooper +25.684
13. Benjamin Carlson +25.719
14. Paul Schwemmer +26.001
15. Russell Proctor +26.013

2012 Vance & Hines XR1200 Points:
1. Kyle Wyman, 31
2. Tyler OHara, 25
3. Michael Barnes, 22
4. David Estok, 18
5. Darren James, 16
6. Travis Wyman, 15
7. Michael Corbino, 14
8. Gerry Signorelli, 13
9. Josh Chisum, 12
10. Nicholas Hansen, 11

Facebook comments