Houston Supercross Results 2012

March 31, 2012
JC Hilderbrand
JC Hilderbrand
Off-Road Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog |Blog Posts |Blog RSS

Hilde is holding down the fort at MotoUSA’s Southern Oregon HQ. With world-class dirt bike and ATV trails just minutes away, the hardest part is getting him to focus on the keyboard. Two wheels or four, it doesn’t matter to our Off-Road Editor so long as it goes like hell in the dirt.

Ryan Villopoto won the Supercross class and the overall championship in Houston.
Villopoto has now won back-to-back Supercross titles.
Ryan Villopoto claimed his second consecutive
Supercross title with an easy win in Houston.

The Monster Energy AMA Supercross championship race came to an anticlimactic close in Houston where Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto secured his second 450 class SX title. That makes it two in a row for the factory KX450F pilot who claimed the 2012 title earlier than any rider in Supercross history. RV picked up the SX crown by virtue of James Stewart’s DNF which makes it mathematically impossible for any rider to claim the necessary points in the final four rounds.

JGR MX Yamaha rider Davi Millsaps holeshot the 20-lap main event but was quickly overtaken by Villopoto. RV’s teammate Jake Weimer circulated in third with the fast-starting Mike Alessi in fourth aboard his MotoConcepts Suzuki after overcoming a poor gate pick. Factory Honda rider Justin Brayton ran in fifth.

Noticeably absent from the Texas main event was Geico Honda’s Kevin Windham, who crashed out in his heat race and suffered injuries. Stewart completed only six laps before crashing hard in a rhythm section and calling it quits. He walked off the track under his own power. Following his decision not to race last weekend in Toronto, his failure to finish in a top spot this week left the door wide open for RV to claim the title. Villopoto’s victory gives him 296 points and Stewart’s DNF leaves him at 178. In between are the sidelined Ryan Dungey (192) and Davi Millsaps (191). With a potential 100 points left in the season, RV put this one to bed.

“It’s huge,” said Villopoto. “There is a lot of hard work that went into this, and I am only one piece of the pie; the whole Monster Energy Kawasaki team has worked very hard all year to help me make this happen.”

Millsaps finished second, following the Number 1 bike for all 20 laps. Bobby Kiniry gated well and rounded the first lap in third, but started dropping positions quickly. The Star Valli Yamaha rider would slip to sixth, a solid result.

“I want to congratulate Ryan (Villopoto) on his championship; he rode great all year,” said Millsaps. “It was slippery out there all day, so you had to choose your lines wisely. I am excited to be back up on the podium.”

Kevin Windham  14  and James Stewart  7  both failed to score points. Windham crashed out in qualifying and Stewart hit the deck in the main event.Houston was a good night for JGRMXs Davi Millsaps who scored second.
Jake Weimer had a successful night by finishing on the podium and helping Kawasaki score two of the top spots.
(Top) James Stewart crashed out in the main and Kevin Windham wadded his Honda in qualifying. (Middle) Davi Millsaps scored second for JGRMX. (Above) Jake Weimer landed on the podium.

Weimer held off the hard-charging Alessi who managed to put together a consistent ride for the entire main event. With most of the top riders in the series sidelined, riders like Nico Izzi, Weson Peick and Josh Grant were able to capitalize and get inside the top-10.

Brayton moves into fourth overall with Stewart fifth. Weimer took over sixth and Alessi is now tied with Brett Metcalfe for eighth in the championship standings.

Houston AMA Supercross Results:
1. Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki)
2. Davi Millsaps (Yamaha)
3. Jake Weimer (Kawasaki)
4. Mike Alessi (Suzuki)
5. Justin Brayton (Honda)
6. Bobby Kiniry (Honda)
7. Broc Tickle (Kawasaki)
8. Nico Izzi (Yamaha)
9. Weston Peick (Kawasaki)
10. Josh Grant (Kawasaki)
11. Kyle Chisholm (Kawasaki)
12. Brett Metcalfe (Suzuki)
13. Wil Hahn (Honda)
14. Kyle Regal (Kawasaki)
15. Matt Goerke (Suzuki)

2012 AMA Supercross Championship Points:
1. Ryan Villopoto, 296
2. Ryan Dungey, 192
3. Davi Millsaps, 191
4. Justin Brayton, 181
5. James Stewart, 178
6. Jake Weimer, 170
7. Kevin Windham, 166
8. Mike Alessi, 154
9. Brett Metcalfe, 154
10. Chad Reed, 128

Facebook comments