World Superbike Imola Friday 2012

March 30, 2012
Bart Madson
By Bart Madson
Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Bashing away at the MotoUSA keyboard for nine years now, Madson lends his scribbling and editorial input on everything from bike reviews to industry analysis and motorcycle racing reports.

Jakub Smrz lays down the fastest time at Imola.
Liberty Racing Effenbert Ducati rider Jakub Smrz lays down the fastest time during qualifying at Imola, just slightly ahead of Kawasaki’s Joan Lascorz.

Jakub Smrz snared provisional pole position at Imola, with the Liberty Racing Effenbert Ducati rider topping the timesheet during Friday qualifying. The Czech rider ruined a top two sweep for the Kawasaki Racing Team duo of Joan Lascorz and Tom Sykes at the Italian circuit, who finished a respective second and third. The championship points leader, Max Biaggi rounds out the provisional Row 1.

Jonathan Rea proved the fastest Honda, the 2011 Imola race winner fifth on the day. Leon Haslam followed, as the fastest BMW on the grid. The reigning champion, Carlos Checa, was seventh with Smrz’s Liberty Racing cohort Sylvain Guintoli eighth.

Factory Aprilia man Eugene Laverty was ninth on Friday. The man Laverty replaced on the Aprilia, Leon Camier, lapped 10th-fastest on the Crescent Suzuki. Landing outside the top 10 were Marco Melandri in 14th, with Chaz Davies in 15th. John Hopkins, making his return from injury during preseason Phillip Island testing, was 18th on the Q1 timesheet.

2012 World Superbike Imola Qualifying 1 Results:
1. Jakub Smrz (Ducati) 1’48.146
2. Joan Lascorz (Kawasaki) 1’48.176
3. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki) 1’48.246
4. Max Biaggi (Aprilia) 1’48.247
5. Jonathan Rea (Honda) 1’48.321
6. Leon Haslam (BMW) 1’48.328
7. Carlos Checa (Ducati) 1’48.375
8. Sylvain Guintoli (Ducati) 1’48.555
9. Eugene Laverty (Aprilia) 1’48.555
10. Leon Camier (Suzuki) 1’48.556
11. Davide Giugliano (Ducati) 1’48.728
12. Ayrton Badovini (BMW) 1’48.741
13. Lorenzo Zanetti (Ducati) 1’48.762
14. Marco Melandri (BMW) 1’48.773
15. Chaz Davies (Aprilia) 1’48.959
16. Maxime Berger (Ducati) 1’49.343
17. Niccolò Canepa (Ducati) 1’49.617
18. John Hopkins (Suzuki) 1’49.790
19. Michel Fabrizio (BMW) 1’50.031
20. David Salom (Kawasaki) 1’50.085
21. Mark Aitchison (BMW) 1’50.810
22. Hiroshi Aoyama (Honda) 1’51.511
23. Leandro Mercado (Kawasaki) 1’51.645
24. Brett McCormick (Ducati) 1’51.703
25. Lorenzo Alfonsi (Honda) 1’52.993 

Facebook comments