Salt Lake City Supercross Results 2012

April 28, 2012
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

2012 Salt Lake City Podium.
Ryan Dungey (center) took first in Salt Lake City with Davi Millsaps (right) in second and Jake Weimer (left) in third.

Ryan Dungey of Red Bull KTM pulled victory from underneath JGR Yamaha’s Davi Millsaps in Saturday’s Supercross match-up in Salt Lake City. DM opened the race taking the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award and lead for 18 of 20 laps. During the final moments, Dungey took the top spot and left Millsaps to settle with second. Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer rounds out the podium in third. Muscle Milk Honda’s Justin Brayton and MotoConcepts Suzuki’s Mike Alessi grabbed fourth and fifth, respectively.
“It was great racing out there tonight, and I really dug deep,” said Dungey. “My focus was to run him down, and I did. I had a tough part of the middle of the season, and I knew I had the speed tonight. I just needed to be patient.”

Monster Pro Circuit Kawsaki’s Broc Tickle earned his highest finish of the season at sixth while Honda’s Andrew Short, the winner of last week’s SX round in Seattle, fell short this week at seventh. Jeff Ward Racing Kawasaki’s Josh Grant improved his performance from last week, coming in eighth at Salt Lake, yet still remained short of his season best second place finish at New Orleans.

Championship winner Ryan Villopoto remains out and after Salt Lake City, the run for second place is by no means decided. Millsaps’ finish did not bump him from second in overall championship points but he only remains seven ahead of Brayton and 12 ahead of Dungey. RD5 seems to be gaining strength since his return in Seattle where he finished a disappointing sixth and will be sure to remain competitive in the final 2012 stop in Las Vegas.

Ryan Dungey  5  and Jake Weimer  21 .
Davi Millsaps remains second in championship points after SLC.
Ryan Dungey and Jake Weimer (above) riding close through the turn. Davi Millsaps (below) kept his points standing with a second place finish at Salt Lake City.

2012 Salt Lake City Supercross Results:
1. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
2. Davi Millsaps (Yamaha)
3. Jake Weimer (Kawasaki)
4. Justin Brayton (Honda)
5. Mike Alessi (Suzuki)
6. Broc Tickle (Kawasaki)
7. Andrew Short (Honda)
8. Josh Grant (Kawasaki)
9. Robert Kiniry (Yamaha)
10. Tyler Bowers (Kawasaki)
11. Matt Goerke (Suzuki)
12. Weston Peick (Yamaha)
13. Nicholas Wey (Kawasaki)
14. Gavin Faith (Yamaha)
15. Jason Thomas (Suzuki)

2012 AMA Supercross Championship Standings
1. Ryan Villopoto, 323
2. Davi Millsaps, 244
3. Justin Brayton, 237
4. Ryan Dungey, 232
5. Jake Weimer, 211
6. Mike Alessi, 192
7. James Stewart, 178
8. Brett Metcalfe, 174
9. Kevin Windham, 166
10. Broc Tickle, 161

Facebook comments