Sealine Cross Country Rally Results 2012

April 23, 2012
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Marc Coma received his second consecutive Cross-Country Rallies World Championship overall win in Qatar  2012.
Marc Coma takes his second consecutive win of the 2012 Cross-Country Rallies World Championship in Qatar.

Spanish KTM rider Marc Coma claimed overall victory in the second race of the Cross-Country Rallies World Championship in Qatar. Yamaha rider Hélder Rodrigues of Portugal scored second and Jordi Villadoms of Spain came in third on his KTM 450 Rally. This is Coma’s second consecutive win of the 2012 championship, grabbing the top spot in the Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge 15 days ago.

The Sealine Cross-Country Rally was divided into four stages covering over 800 miles. The KTM ace proved fastest in the first stage on Wednesday, and was able to hold his advantage Stage 2 and 3. Coma came in second place during the fourth stage, but had developed enough of an overall lead to claim the rally win. Husqvarna rider Joan Barreda claimed the top spot in Stage 4, but had incurred a two-hour penalty in Stage 1 for missing a checkpoint which ruled him out of the battle for an overall win.
“With no previous experience here in either the country or the desert, this was going to be a difficult race for us, but in the end it went well and I am happy to have won here for the first time,” stated Coma after the final 129-mile stage.
Coma is the outright championship points leader at 40, with Rodrigues trailing in second with 26. Qatar fourth-place finisher Jakub Przygonski of Poland trails second overall by just one point at 25. Dakar Rally start Coma has been unstoppable through the first two events in this four event championship. The three-time Dakar winner will clinch the championship early if he wins the Sardegna Rally scheduled for June 23-28, 2012.

Marc Coma in Stage 4 of the Sealine Cross-Country Rallies event in Qatar.
Marc Coma prevailed in a difficult race, seen here in Stage 4.

2012 Sealine Cross-Country Rally Overall Results:
1. Marc Coma (KTM)
2. Hélder Rogrigues (Yamaha)
3. Jordi Villadoms (KTM)
4. Jakub Przygonski (KTM)
5. Rubén Faría (KTM)

2012 World Championship Points:
1. Marc Coma, 40
2. Hélder Rogrigues, 26
3. Jakus Przygonski, 25
4. Rubén Faría, 22
5. Joan Barreda, 18

Facebook comments