Seattle Supercross Results 2012

April 21, 2012
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Andrew Short scored his first career SX win in Seattle.
Honda’s Andrew Short took the top spot in Seattle, his first-ever win in the Supercross class.

Honda’s Andrew Short scored the first top finish of his career in the premier class in Seattle. Powerhouse Ryan Villopoto of Monster Energy Kawasaki went down early in the race and didn’t return, leaving the front spot wide open for the first time in months. Short was able to grab the Nuclear Cowboyz holeshot and retained the lead for the entire race. It was the first Supercross victory of his veteran career.

“It doesn’t feel real,” exclaimed Short. “My team has been through some challenges, but we stuck together. There are so many people who have helped me in 11 years of doing this. I’m getting old. I didn’t believe (I could win) too much until the end and I think that’s been one of my problems in the past. All I wanted to do was be out here and to win is unreal.”

Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen, up from the Lites class, took a hard-earned second place on his borrowed 350 SX-F, only two seconds behind the Honda at the checkers. Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer secured third after working his way forward. It was nearly a catastrophic evening for his teammate Ryan Villopoto. Despite having the title wrapped up, RV crashed and looked to have seriously injured his leg. Preliminary reports indicate that it’s not as serious as feared. Hopefully the Kawasaki rider will be back in action in Salt Lake City.

“Ryan didn’t get such a good start,” said Reid Nordin, Monster Energy Kawasaki Team Manager. “He was charging through the pack and lost the front end and ended up getting a handle bar to the gut, which knocked the wind out of him, and he got a stinger when the foot peg came down on him. He’s really bummed out and upset with himself with what happened. He really wanted to do well for the fans here.”

Ryan Dungey returned to SX in Seattle after recovering from injury.
Ryan Dungey (shown) made his return to racing. He was joined by Red Bull KTM Lites rider Ken Roczen who tried his hand with the 350 SX-F.

Muscle Milk Honda’s Justin Brayton looked like the fastest rider on the track at times, gainin steam in the final half of the race. His efforts netted fourth as he outpaced JGR Yamaha’s Davi Millsaps. Both riders scored some much needed points as they contend for second overall on the season. Millsaps has a three-point advantage over the Honda pilot. Returning rider Ryan Dungey is fourth in the championship despite missing the middle of the season. He scored sixth in Seattle following a small crash on Lap 8 aboard his Red Bull KTM. MotoConcepts Suzuki rider Mike Alessi coughed up several positions and slipped across the finish line in seventh.
New Orleans second place finisher Josh Grant of Jeff Ward Racing Kawasaki had a difficult race this week with a DNF after 16 laps. Points contender Brett Metcalfe  also suffered a difficult race, going down early on his factory Suzuki and remaining on the sidelines. 

2012 Seattle Supercross Results:
1. Andrew Short (Honda)
2. Ken Roczen (KTM)
3. Jake Weimer (Kawasaki)
4. Justin Brayton (Honda)
5. David Millsaps (Yamaha)
6. Ryan Dungey (KTM)

Davi Millsaps in Seattle.
Davi Millsaps (shown) gave up points to Justin Brayton, but still holds a slight lead in the championship race.

7. Mike Alessi (Suzuki)
8. Broc Tickle (Kawasaki)
9. Weston Peick (Yamaha)
10. Nicholas Wey (Kawasaki)
11. Kyle Chisholm (Kawasaki)
12. Robert Kiniry (Yamaha)
13. Justin Sipes (Kawasaki)
14. Chris Blose (Kawasaki)
15. Matthew Goerke (Suzuki)

2012 AMA Supercross Championship Standings:
1. Ryan Villopoto, 323
2. Davi Millsaps, 222
3. Justin Brayton, 219
4. Ryan Dungey, 207
5. Jake Weimer, 191
6. James Stewart, 178
7. Mike Alessi, 176
8. Brett Metcalfe, 173
9. Kevin Windham, 166
10. Broc Tickle, 146