Cajun Classic National Enduro Results 2012

May 7, 2012
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Cajun Classic podium: Steward Baylor in first  Mike Lafferty in second and Andrew Delong in third.
Cajun Classic podium: Steward Baylor in first, Mike Lafferty in second and Andrew Delong in third.

KTM ‘s Steward Baylor scored his fourth win of the 2012 AMA Rekluse National Enduro Series at the Cajun Classic National Enduro event near Forest Hill, Louisiana this past weekend. He was followed by Husaberg Factory rider Mike Lafferty in second and Husqvarna rider Andrew Delong in third. Baylor extends his points lead in the series to 145, 32 points ahead of Lafferty who moved up to second after his success in Louisiana.
The KTM and Husaberg riders battled through the tests, with Baylor coming out with the top time in the first test and Lafferty prevailing on the timesheet in the second. By the end of the six sections, Baylor had four section bests with Lafferty taking the remaining two. DeLong posted a second place time in the third test, which was his highest of the day and scored his first podium finish of the season.
KTM rider Jesse Groemm scored a personal best finish in fourth place ahead of defending series champion Russell Bobbitt, who currently sits third in overall points.

Baylor’s lead standing in points will be difficult for other riders to catch. Lafferty is closest, but even if the Husaberg rider won the next race and Baylor earned no points, the KTM rider would remain in first place by two. Riders below Lafferty on the tally sheet have had mixed results this season. Bobbitt, sitting in third, has place as high as second and as low as sixth through the five rounds so far and Cory Buttrick, sitting in fourth, won Round 3 but suffered a crash in the Cajun Classic during the first test and was unable to compete in the remainder of the race. Baylor seems unstoppable at this point, and with five more rounds to go in the season, it’s time for other riders to make their move if they hope to displace the KTM rider from the top. The next race will take place in Upton, Wyoming on June 17th, 2012.

Steward Baylor won took his fourth first place finish at the Cajun Classic.
Mike Lafferty placed second at the Cajun Classic.
Baylor (above) taking another win in 2012 and as has been common this season, Lafferty (below) scores another podium.

Cajun Classic National Enduro Results 2012:
1. Steward Baylor (KTM)
2. Mike Lafferty (Husaberg)
3. Andrew Delong (Husqvarna)
4. Jesse Groemm (KTM)
5. Russell Bobbitt (KTM)
6. Nick Fahringer (Husaberg)
7. Shane Hufford (Husaberg)
8. Brad Bakken (Yamaha)
9. Cole Kirkpatrick (KTM)
10. Kyle McDonal (Husaberg)

2012 National Enduro Series Points:
1. Steward Baylor, 145
2. Michael Lafferty, 113
3. Russell Bobbitt, 92
4. Cory Buttrick, 91
5. Jesse Groemm, 67
6. Nick Fahringer, 64
7. Brad Bakken, 61
8. Jordan Ashburn, 51
9. Charles Mullins, 47
10. Andrew Delong, 47

Facebook comments