McGuinness & Donald Top 129 mph at TT

May 30, 2012
Bart Madson
By Bart Madson
Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Bashing away at the MotoUSA keyboard for nine years now, Madson lends his scribbling and editorial input on everything from bike reviews to industry analysis and motorcycle racing reports.

Cameron Donald on the Wilson Craig Honda - 2012 Isle of Man TT
Wilson Craig Honda’s Cameron Donald (4) made McGuinness work to get retain his hold on the TT’s top qualifying time – the Australian peeling off a 129 mph lap on Tuesday.

Wilson Craig Honda’s Cameron Donald pressed TT rival John McGuinness during Tuesday qualifying at the 2012 Isle of Man TT. The Australian turned a 129 mph lap on the 37.75-mile Mountain Course, but McGuinness answered the challenge with his own 129.411 mph lap. In the Supersport class William Dunlop bested brother Michael to top the timesheet, with TT veteran Bruce Anstey leading the Superstock field.

The front-running Superbike duo of McGuinness and Dunlop were the only two men to crest the 129 mph mark, with Tyco Suzuki’s Guy Martin the next fastest at 127.542. Kawasaki’s Michael Rutter and Michael Dunlop took a respective fourth and fifth in the Superbike timing, each turning 126 mph laps. Anstey, Gary Johnson, Ryan Farquhar and William Dunlop all managed to record 125 mph laps on Tuesday to fill out the top 10.

Where Donald and McGuinness traded top position in Superbike qualifying, it was the Dunlop boys battling for bragging rights amongst the Supersports. William started things off fastest aboard the Wilson Craig Honda. Brother Michael responded with his 124.656 mph circuit to top the chart, but his elder sibling did one better with a 124.770 lap. The two brothers were a full mph ahead of Anstey, who was third-fastest, with McGuinness and Donald rounding out the top five.

The 42-year-old Anstey leads the Superstock field, followed by William Dunlop and Dan Kneen. Monday’s fastest STK rider, Simon Andrews, was fourth-fastest followed by his Honda TT Legends teammate Gary Johnson. A notable entrant on the Superstock timesheet is Tyco Suzuki rider Conor Cummins, the Maxnman seeing his first TT action after sitting out Monday to nurse his NW200 injuries.

Farquhar lapped well ahead of his rivals in the Lightweight TT qualifying. Made up of 650 Twins, the Lightweight TT grid is dominated by Kawasaki riders, with the occasional Suzuki entrant. Farquhar’s 115.398 mph time was followed by James Hillier (113.190) and Farquhar’s KMR Kawasaki teammate, Michael Rutter (113.149).

Tim Reeves and Dan Sayle led the Sidecars on Tuesday. The front-running duo bested yesterday’s fastest Dave Moyneux and Patrick Farrance. The sidecars only put in one lap, with its session red flagged after an incident involving Robin and Annette Daykin, a husband/wife sidecar team. The IOM TT site report’s Annette was transported to the hospital with possible fractures. Yesterday’s sidecar session saw two teams transported to the hospital in separate racing incidents.

2012 Isle of Man TT Tuesday Qualifying Superbike:
1. John McGuinness (Honda) 129.411 mph
2. Cameron Donald (Honda) 129.023 mph
3. Guy Martin (Suzuki) 127.542 mph
4. Michael Rutter (Kawasaki) 126.830 mph
5. Michael Dunlop (Honda) 126.602 mph
6. Bruce Anstey (Honda) 125.974 mph
7. Gary Johnson (Honda) 125.841 mph
8. Ryan Farquhar (Kawasaki) 125.197 mph
9. William Dunlop (Honda) 125.189 mph
10. Dan Stewart (Honda) 124.490 mph

2012 Isle of Man TT Tuesday Qualifying Supersport:
1. William Dunlop (Honda) 124.770
2. Michael Dunlop (Suzuki) 124.656
3. Bruce Anstey (Honda) 123.488
4. John McGuinness (Honda) 122.383
5. Cameron Donald (Honda) 121.203
6. Dan Stewart (Honda) 120.037
7. Dan Kneen (Suzuki) 120.006
8. Roy Richardson (Yamaha) 118.619
9. Dean Harrison (Yamaha) 117.975
10. Adrian Archibald (Yamaha) 117.833

2012 Isle of Man TT Tuesday Qualifying Superstock:
1. Bruce Anstey (Honda) 126.075
2. William Dunlop (Honda) 125.189
3. Dan Kneen (Suzuki) 124.830
4. Simon Andrews (Honda) 123.597
5. Gary Johnson (Honda) 122.907
6. Dan Stewart (Honda) 122.755
7. Ian Lougher (Kawasaki) 122.727
8. Steve Mercer (Honda) 122.596
9. Adrian Archibald (Kawasaki) 121.969
10. Conor Cummins (Suzuki) 121.643

2012 Isle of Man TT Tuesday Qualifying Lightweight:
1. Ryan Farquhar (Kawasaki) 115.398 mph
2. James Hillier (Kawasaki) 113.190 mph
3. Michael Rutter (Kawasaki) 113.149 mph
4. Cameron Donald (Kawasaki) 112.860 mph
5. Ivan Lintin (Kawasaki) 111.831 mph
6. Ben Wylie (Suzuki) 111.783 mph
7. Russ Mountford (Kawasaki) 111.691 mph
8. William Dunlop (Kawasaki) 110.851 mph
9. Roger Maher (Kawasaki) 110.635 mph
10. Dave Moffitt (Suzuki) 110.269 mph

2012 Isle of Man TT Tuesday Qualifying Sidecar:
1. Tim Reeves/Dan Sayle (Honda) 112.808 mph
2. Dave Molyneux/Patrick Farrance (DMR) 109.958 mph
3. Conrad Harrison/Mike Aylott (Honda) 109.520 mph
4. John Holden/Andrew Winkle (Kawasaki) 108.281 mph
5. Gary Bryan/Jamie Winn (Honda) 107.925 mph
6. Douglas Wright/Martin Hull (Honda) 107.833 mph
7. Gregory Lambert/Jason Crowe (Honda) 107.016 mph
8. Karl Bennett/Lee Cain (Honda) 105.707 mph
9. Mike Cookson/Kris Hibberd (Honda) 103.340 mph
10. Frank Lelias/Charlie Richardson (Honda) 102.881 mph

Facebook comments