SuperBike Miller Race Results 2012

May 28, 2012
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

SuperBike podium: Josh Hayes  center  in first  Josh Herrin  left  in second and Blake Young  right  in third.
Josh Hayes scored his fourth win of the season at Miller after taking a commanding lead in the single SuperBike race.

Monster Energy Graves Yamaha’s Josh Graves claimed the AMA Pro National Guard SuperBike win at Miller Motorsports Park, extending his championship lead to seven points. The Yamaha rider was followed by teammate Josh Herrin, who put together his best finish of the season so far in second and Yoshimura Racing’s Blake Young in third. The Suzuki ace held steady in second for much of the race, though Herrin was always close behind. Herrin eventually made a pass for second in the final lap and Young was forced to settle for third place. Neither rider was able to contend with Hayes, who finished over seven seconds ahead of his teammate. Team Amsoil/Hero’s Geoff May scored fourth-place and Jordan Suzuki’s Ben Bostrom came across the finish in fifth.

“What an awesome day,” said Hayes. “The bike was good, things have been pretty smooth for the weekend, we didn’t really make too many changes, and we just worked on getting good clean laps. All in all, it was a pretty smooth run.”

Hayes grabbed the early lead and the road racing veteran immediately put his head down and made a charge to pull away. Meanwhile, the battle for second-place was heated between Herrin and Young. The Suzuki ace looked to have second place in his grasp but allowed Herrin to remain within striking distance  and as a result the R1 rider made the pass in the final lap to take second from Young and gave Monster Yamaha a 1-2 finish.

“I got lucky with that pass on the outside,” said Herrin. “It was pretty sketchy because it was dusty out on the edge of the track but luckily it stuck. I was able to hold him off the rest of the lap. Hopefully we can be a contender for a win later on in the season but for now I’m ecstatic getting second.”

Earlier in the race, National Guard Suzuki rider Roger Hayden took advantage of a mistake by Herrin and made his way up to thrid before crashing out of the race, conceding the position back to the Yamaha pilot. Herrin positioned himself on the rear tire of Young, making it known that he planned to challenge him for second position. Their battle for second slowed them down just enough to allow Jordan Suzuki’s Ben Bostom the opportunity to close the gap and make it a three rider battle for the final two podium spots.

At the halfway point, Hayes continued to stretch out his lead at the front while the three rider battle for second continued. Geoff May was slowly gaining on Bostrom as the EBR squad was hoping to add one more rider to the battle royal. The EBR rider eventually overtook Bostrom in the final laps, earning another fourth-place finish for the American-made superbike.

Hayes regained the overall points lead after his performance at Miller, bumping Young down to second. Despite crashing out, Hayden remains in third and Herrin follows in fourth. May and Danny Eslick are moving up the tally sheet with every round as they both continue to improve on the EBR machines.

Team Amsoil Heros Geoff May  99  took fourth at Miller.
Geoff May (99) and Josh Herrin (2) battling for position at Miller. Herrin earned his best finish of the season in second and May was able to cross the finish line in fourth.

2012 SuperBike Miller Results:
1. Josh Hayes (Yamaha)
2. Josh Herrin (Yamaha)
3. Blake Young (Suzuki)
4. Geoff May (EBR)
5. Ben Bostrom (Suzuki)
6. Danny Eslick (EBR)
7. Larry Pegram (BMW)
8. Chris Clark (Suzuki)
9. David Anthony (Suzuki)
10. Chris Fillmore (KTM)
11. Steve Rapp (Kawasaki)
12. Chris Ulrich (Suzuki)
13. Jordan Burgess (Suzuki)
14. Reno Karimian (Kawasaki)
15. Trent Gibson (Suzuki)

2012 SuperBike Championship Points:
1. Josh Hayes, 194
2. Blake Young, 187
3. Roger Hayden, 114
4. Josh Herrin, 109
5. Larry Pegram, 96
6. Geoff May, 95
7. Danny Eslick, 86
8. Steve Rapp, 83
9. Chris Clark, 79
10. Chris Fillmore, 77