AMA Pro Racing Barber Friday 2012

June 22, 2012
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Josh Hayes returns focused on a third consecutive American SuperBike title in 2012.
Josh Hayes earned provisional pole at Barber on Friday.

AMA Pro National Guard SuperBike

Monter Energy Graves Yamaha’s Josh Hayes cleared the first hurdle on the way to his maiden AMA Pro National Guard SuperBike win at Barber Motorsports Park. Hayes earned provisional pole position on Friday, posting the top time early on and remaining at the head of the pack until the session ended. Just 0.365 seconds behind the Mississippi native is Team Amsoil’s Geoff May, an impressive showing from the EBR 1190 rider. Jordan Suzuki’s Ben Bostrom held the third fastest time and continues to chase his first podium finish of the season.

Though the current points leader was able to come out and perform well once again, the pressure in remaining out front weights heavily on his mind. “I can tell you this morning I was incredibly nervous when I rolled out on the track,” Hayes confided. “I think that Miller and Road America, I set the bar so high for myself here, which has not been one of my better racetracks. You’d think I’d come in very, very confident, but I kind of have this head of steam rolling and if I come here and I can’t continue a trend where I’m setting the pace, I’m going to be… that would be a pretty hard one to swallow.”

Oppressive heat, nearing 100 degrees at times, made for a difficult day of riding. Hayes remarked that “qualifying here in the late afternoon is always difficult. Races here are very difficult. I would expect tomorrow morning will be the best lap times we see all weekend because at 9:00am it will be cooler than it is now with the heat soaking in all day. Races and long-distance stuff are always pretty tough for us here because it just gets really, really greasy and a lot of work out there.”

Hayes’ teammate Josh Herrin sits in fourth place with Yoshimura Suzuki’s Blake Young in fifth. Young followed Herrin by a mere 0.163 seconds, an uncharacteristic showing for the Suzuki ace who holds the best record at Barber in SuperBike among the present stock of riders. National Guard Jordan Suzuki’s Roger Hayden posted the sixth-fastest time with Foremost Insurance’s Larry Pegram trailing in seventh. Performance’s Steve Rapp rounded out the top ten.

2012 AMA SuperBike Friday Barber:
1. Josh Hayes (Yamaha) 1:25.696
2. Geoff May (EBR) 1:26.061
3. Ben Bostrom (Suzuki) 1:26.153
4. Josh Herrin (Yamaha) 1:26.458
5. Blake Young (Suzuki) 1:26.621
6. Roger Hayden (Suzuki) 1:26.860
7. Larry Pegram (BMW) 1:26.882
8. Danny Eslick (EBR) 1:26.937
9. Chris Clark (Suzuki) 1:27.391
10. Steve Rapp (Kawasaki) 1:27.479
11. Chris Ulrich (Suzuki) 1:27.890
12. Stefan Nebel (KTM) 1:28.171
13. David Anthony (Suzuki) 1:28.741
14. Robertino Pietri (Suzuki) 1:28.950
15. Jordan Burgess (Suzuki) 1:29.112

Dane Westby at Miller.
Dane Westby took provisional pole ahead of Tommy Hayden in Daytona SportBike at Barber.

AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike

M4 Suzuki’s Dane Westby took his first provisional pole in AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike, followed by Yamaha Extended Service’s Tommy Hayden and Cameron Beaubier in second and third respectively. A mid-session red flag forced riders to pit until, with five minutes remaining, they came back to the track. Westby made it to the top of the timesheet during the final minutes, continuing to show speed and focus at Barber after also posting the top time in Free Practice 1.

“It was a good lap and I think that’s what the race pace is going to be,” said Westby. “There was a lot of time in the soft tire and if we can run the whole race on the soft tire, I think we can run that pace in the race.”

Current points leader Martin Cardenas of Geico Suzuki posted the fourth fastest time after getting bumped from third by Beaubier at the conclusion of the session. Meen Motorsports rider Bobby Fong sits in fifth followed by Team Latus Motors’ Jason DiSalvo. The Triumph rider held the lead time for the majority of the session before the red flag.

2012 AMA Daytona SportBike Friday Barber:
1. Dane Westby (Suzuki) 1:28.113
2. Tommy Hayden (Yamaha) 1:28.193
3. Cameron Beaubier (Yamaha) 1:28.279
4. Martin Cardenas (Suzuki) 1:28.504
5. Bobby Fong (Yamaha) 1:28.522
6. Jason DiSalvo (Triumph) 1:28.635
7. Benny Solis (Yamaha) 1:29.296
8. Huntley Nash (Yamaha) 1:29.768
9. Jake Zemke (Ducati) 1.29.778
10. Cory West (Suzuki) 1:29.787
11. JD Beach (Yamaha) 1:30.102
12. Jake Gagne (Yamaha) 1:30.153
13. Michael Beck (Yamaha) 1:30.167
14. Fernando Amantini (Kawasaki) 1:30.795
15. Kris Turner (Triumph) 1:30.986

AMA Pro SuperSport

Castrol’s Dustin Dominguez claimed provisional pole position in Friday’s AMA Pro SuperSport qualifying. The Triumph rider bested RoadRace Factory’s Hayden Gillim in second and Celtic Racing’s James Rispoli in third.

“It was a good lap, but it’s not about going fast for us this weekend,” said Dominguez. “This is an East coast round so we’re out to get all the points we can get.”

Riders Discount Vesrah Suzuki’s Jake Lewis held to fourth and National Guard Suzuki’s Corey Alexander rounded out the top five. Road America Race 2 winner Stefano Mesa of posted the sixth-fastest time.

Dustin Dominguez
Dustin Dominguez was fastest in AMA Pro SuperSport on Friday.

2012 AMA SuperSport Friday Barber:
1. Dustin Dominguez (Triumph) 1:29.229
2. Hayden Gillim (Yamaha) 1:29.801
3. James Rispoli (Suzuki) 1:29.859
4. Jake Lewis (Suzuki) 1:30.413
5. Corey Alexander (Suzuki) 1:30.418
6. Stefano Mesa (Yamaha) 1:30.477
7. Tomas Puerta (Yamaha) 1:30.868
8. Ryan Matter (Yamaha) 1:31.586
9. Ryan Kerr (Kawasaki) 1:31.830
10. Elena Myers (Suzuki) 1:31.935
11. Miles Thorton (Yamaha) 1:32.084
12. Devon McDonough (Yamaha) 1:32.467
13. Eric Stump (Yamaha) 1:32.615
14. Tyler Linders (Yamaha) 1:32.667
15. Travis Wyman (Suzuki) 1:33.113