Budds Creek 250 Motocross Results 2012

June 16, 2012
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Justin Barcia won Moto 1  but slipped to fifth in Moto 2 leaving him third overall.
Justin Barcia took his third consecutive Moto 1 win at the Red Bull Budds Creek National.

Geico Honda’s Justin Barcia took the win in Moto 1 at the 2012 Red Bull Budds Creek National. Monster Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Blake Baggett scored second and Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen rounded out the podium. Barcia’s win marks his third consecutive Moto 1 win. Roczen rocketed out of the gates and took the holeshot, a move which turned into a lead he sustained for over 25 minutes. Barcia kept right on the German’s rear tire though and whipped past in the final minutes. Bagget was close behind and passed into second less than a minute later. Roczen regained some steam in the final laps, but was unable to advance beyond third.

Roczen’s teammate Marvin Musquin came in fourth, over 57 seconds off the lead. Musquin remained consistent in fifth-place for much of the moto, making a pass on Geico Honda’s Eli Tomac late in the contest. Tomac struggled after a bad start left him out of the front pack and he was unable to stage a repeat come-from-behind win as he did at High Point.

Geico Honda’s Wil Hahn pulled up in sixth, another 23 seconds behind Tomac, and Rockstar Energy Suzuki’s Jason Anderson picked up points in seventh. Former two-time 250 Motocross champion Ivan Tedesco crossed the finish in eighth with Anderson’s teammate Blake Wharton trailing in ninth. Rookie Jessy Nelson of Troy Lee Designs Honda took 10th.

Baggett took the checkers in Moto 2 over 15 seconds ahead of Roczen in second. Tomac was able to get out front early and came in third. Roczen’s frustrating quest for his first moto win in the United States continues. The German was out front for all but the final five minutes. When Roczen encountered heavy traffic from lapped riders, Baggett was able to cover a four second gap to take the lead. The Kawasaki rider was on fire for the last laps and built a significant gap, considering what little time was left, to earn his third moto win of the season.

“Last year, I crashed in both motos,” said Baggett. “Today, I didn’t crash and came out with a win. After last week, it feels good to be back here. I knew we would be catching lappers (in Moto 2) and you never know with them, so I just kept pushing and it worked out.”

Tomac had a much better start in Moto 2 and passed Musquin for the podium late in the moto. Musquin had a superb start, holding to second place during the early laps but falling back outside podium range once Baggett and Tomac started to push. Barcia struggled in Moto 2 and pulled in fifth followed by Anderson in sixth.

Baggett maintains his points lead, followed still by Barcia, Tomac and Roczen. The top four riders are close though, with BB just 22 points ahead of Tomac and Roczen who are tied in third. Anderson made the biggest jump up the points sheet, moving from 10th to seventh.

250 podium with Blake Baggett  center  in first  Ken Roczen  left  in second and Justin Barcia  right  in third.
250 podium with Blake Baggett (center) in first, Ken Roczen (left) in second and Justin Barcia (right) in third.

2012 Budds Creek 250 Motocross Results:
1. Blake Baggett (Kawasaki) 2-1
2. Ken Roczen (KTM) 3-2
3. Justin Barcia (Honda) 1-5
4. Eli Tomac (Honda) 5-3
5. Marvin Musquin (KTM) 4-4
6. Jason Anderson (Suzuki) 7-6
7. Wil Hahn (Honda) 6-7
8. Jake Canada (Honda) 13-8
9. Travis Baker (Honda) 12-10
10. Phil Nicoletti (Honda) 14-9
11. Jessy Nelson (Honda) 10-13
12. Blake Wharton (Suzuki) 9-18
13. Gareth Swanepoel (Yamaha) 17-12
14. Ivan Tedesco (Kawasaki) 8-36
15. Alex Martin (Honda) 16-14

2012 250 Motocross Championship Points:
1. Blake Baggett, 222
2. Justin Barcia, 209
3. Eli Tomac, 200
4. Ken Roczen, 200
5. Marvin Musquin, 153
6. Wil Hahn, 130
7. Jason Anderson, 106
8. Blake Wharton, 102
9. Ivan Tedesco, 99
10. Kyle Cunningham, 96

Facebook comments