Budds Creek 450 Motocross Results 2012

June 16, 2012
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Ryan Dungey went 1-1 at Budds Creek and he remains at the top of the points list.
Dungey took another 1-1 finish, this time at the Red Bull Budds Creek National, extending his points lead.

Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey scored his fifth consecutive moto win in the opening 450 race at Budds Creek. Over 43 seconds behind in second came Monster Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Broc Tickle earning his best finish of the season. Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer made a late race pass to round out the podium. MotoConcepts Suzuki’s Mike Alessi took fourth with Muscle Milk Honda’s Justin Brayton in fifth.

Brayton made a rare appearance out front, taking his first holeshot of the year. His lead was short lived though as Dungey, who came out of the gates in third, quickly moved to the lead before the end of Lap 1. From there the KTM rider started to build an enormous gap, leaving the battle for second to Tickle, Brayton and Alessi. Tickle got one of his best starts of the season and had advanced to second before half the moto was complete. Brayton continued to slip, falling in position to Alessi then later to Weimer. The Honda rider had a successful Supercross season where he tied for third overall with Dungey, but has failed to transfer that success to the Nationals. This is his best finish of the season so far.

Weimer continued to gain speed through the moto and gave Alessi a run for his money, taking position from the Suzuki ace in the final laps. Team Chaparral Honda’s Andrew Short appeared to be having technical issues, his bike began steaming with five minutes remaining, but was able to hold through the checkers and finish in sixth.

Dungey dominated Moto 2 as well, taking the checkers over 33 seconds ahead of Tickle, again in second. Alessi managed to earn a podium position this time in third. Weimer took fourth after he got past Jeff Ward Racing’s Josh Grant in the final laps.

“It was good (today), starting from practice and into the (races),” said Dungey. “I got good starts, which helped get me out front. Mike (Alessi) and Broc (Tickle) both rode well, so I had to do some work in that second moto. We have a couple weeks off now, so I’ll use it to my advantage and see if we can get a little bit better.”

Alessi notched another holeshot to his list of achievements so far this year, but was unable to hold the hard-charging Dungey back. The KTM rider is on a streak of six-straight moto wins now and has won at Budds Creek twice over the past three years.

Yoshimura Suzuki’s Brett Metcalfe had a better showing in Moto 2, taking sixth and he was followed closely by JGRMX Yamaha’s Davi Millsaps. Brayton wasn’t able to get out as fast as he did in Moto 1 and was over a minute off the lead when he came across the finish in eighth in Moto 2.

Dungey now has a commanding points lead over second place Alessi. Weimer remained in third overall and Short stayed in fourth. Metcalfe took his teammate James Stewart’s place in fifth after Stewart missed another round due to injury.

450 Budds Creek podium with Ryan Dungey  center  in first  Broc Tickle  left  in second and Mike Alessi  right  in third.
450 Budds Creek podium with Ryan Dungey (center) in first, Broc Tickle (left) in second and Mike Alessi (right) in third.

Budds Creek 450 Motocross Results 2012:
1. Ryan Dungey (KTM) 1-1
2. Broc Tickle (Kawasaki) 2-2
3. Mike Alessi (Suzuki) 4-3
4. Jake Weimer (Kawasaki) 3-4
5. Justin Brayton (Honda) 5-8
6. Brett Metcalfe (Suzuki) 8-6
7. Josh Grant (Kawasaki) 10-5
8. Davi Millsaps (Yamaha) 9-7
9. Andrew Short (Honda) 6-10
10. Ryan Sipes (Yamaha) 7-11
11. Kyle Chisholm (Kawasaki) 12-12
12. Jimmy Albertson (Suzuki) 15-13
13. Kyle Regal (Yamaha) 22-9
14. Michael Byrne (Suzuki) 11-19
15. Mathew Lemoine (Kawasaki) 16-15

2012 450 Motocross Championship Points:
1. Ryan Dungey, 236
2. Mike Alessi, 182
3. Jake Weimer, 179
4. Andrew Short, 154
5. Brett Metcalfe, 142
6. Broc Tickle, 134
7. James Stewart, 116
8. Josh Grant, 111
9. Nico Izzi, 95
10. Justin Brayton, 93

Facebook comments