EnduroCross Sacramento Results 2012

June 11, 2012
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Taddy Blazusiak took first in Round 2 and got to the top of the championship points list in EnduroCross.
Taddy Blazusiak took first in Round 2 and got to the top of the championship points list.

Red Bull KTM rider Taddy Blazusiak earned his first win of the 2012 GEICO AMA EnduroCross Championship at Round 2 inside Sacramento, California’s Power Balance Pavilion. Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Taylor Robert followed in second-place with GEICO Honda’s Kevin Rookstool rounding out the podium in third. Blazusiak went undefeated in 2011 but failed to extend his run into the 2012 season after scoring third in Round 1. Husqvarna rider Cory Graffunder took fourth from Factory KTM’s Mike Brown late in the race, leaving Brown to finish in fifth.

Blazusiak won his heat race, but came out in the main event and had to battle back from eighth after a difficult start. Rookstool blasted the holeshot on his Honda and tried to run and hide early on. By the end of Lap 1, the defending champion was up to third behind Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Destry Abbott. The running order out front remained the same until Lap 4 when Blazusiak was able to get by the veteran Kawi rider and then Rookstool crashed. He went on to pull a gap that was over 10 seconds ahead of Robert by the checkers.

Robert had come through Lap 1 in fifth and struggled to gain position for the first half of the race. By Lap 6 he had moved into third and began to close in on Beta’s Cody Webb, then in second. Webb lost five positions in a crash on Lap 10 when Robert finally made his move. Rookstool faced increasing pressure from Brown in the final laps, both crashing in the water feature before the Honda rider remounted and took the final podium step.

“I am very happy to win this race,” said Blazusiak. “I really liked the track and the racing was fun. I want to extend my thanks to the entire KTM crew. I am looking forward to working with them over the next few weeks to prepare for the Summer X-Games.”

In Women’s EnduroCross, KTM rider Louise Forsley came out on top ahead of teammate Chantelle Bykerk and Maria Forsberg in second and third, respectively. Forsberg opened the race out front, but lost the lead by Lap 2 after a crash. Lexi Pechout, also aboard a KTM, took fourth followed by Yamaha rider Nicole Madsen in fifth.

EnduroCross Round 2 podium: Taddy Blazusiak  left  in first  Taylor Robert  right  in second and Kevin Rookstool  center  in third.
EnduroCross Round 2 podium: Taddy Blazusiak (left) in first, Taylor Robert (right) in second and Kevin Rookstool (center) in third.

2012 GEICO AMA EnduroCross Sacramento Results:
1. Taddy Blazusiak (KTM)
2. Taylor Robert (Kawasaki)
3. Kevin Rookstool (Honda)
4. Cory Graffunder (Husqvarna)
5. Mike Brown (KTM)
6. Bobby Garrison (Kawasaki)
7. Cody Webb (Beta)
8. Gary Sutherlin (Kawasaki)
9. Destry Abbott (Kawasaki)
10. Colton Haaker (Kawasaki)
11. Geoff Aaron (Honda)

2012 GEICO AMA EnduroCross Championship Points:
1. Taddy Blazusiak, 51
2. Colton Haaker, 41
3. Taylor Robert, 41
4. Kevin Rookstool, 33
5. Cody Webb, 32
6. Cory Graffunder, 32
7. Mike Brown, 31
8. Justin Soule, 25
9. Destry Abbott, 22
10. Gary Sutherlin, 21

Facebook comments