High Point Women’s Motocross Results 2012

June 9, 2012
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Jessica Patterson went 1-2 at Freestone in Womens Motocross.
Jessica Patterson remains well ahead in WMX championship points, 33 ahead of second place rider Tarah Gieger.

Tarah Gieger of Lucas Oil/Troy Lee Designs took the opening moto victory in Women’s Motocross at the FMF High Point National on Saturday. The Puerto Rican rider bested current points leader Jessica Patterson of Rockstar Energy Racing by only 0.280 seconds. Lagging over 24 seconds behind was Kasie Creson in third. MotoConcepts’ Mariana Balbi was within range to take a podium, but was unable to get past Creson and finished fourth. Japanese rider Sayaka Kaneshiro of Team Honda Muscle Milk came in fifth. The win marks Gieger’s first of the season.

Muscle Milk Honda’s Ashley Fiolek missed the motos at High Point due to an injury she sustained during Round 3 at Thunder Valley. Fiolek’s absence opened to door for Gieger and Creson to battle with Patterson alone for podium position.

JP came back in Moto 2 and took the win from Kaneshiro, who followed  three seconds behind. Balbi was able to hold on and round out the podium in third in the face of pressure from Fox Racing’s Jacqueline Strong just 0.396 seconds behind in fourth. Gieger slipped a bit in Moto 2 and failed to earn a second podium, coming in fifth place over 15 seconds off the lead.

Patterson extended her points lead to 33 over second place, now occupied by Gieger. Fiolek’s absence dropped from from second overall to fifth, with Kaneshiro and Balbi filling in third and fourh respectively.

2012 High Points WMX Results:
1. Jessica Patterson (Suzuki) 2-1 
2. Tarah Gieger (Honda) 1-5 
3. Sayaka Kaneshiro (Honda) 5-2
4. Mariana Balbi (Honda) 4-3
5. Kasie Creson (Honda) 3-6 
6. Jacqueline Strong (KTM) 7-4
7. Marissa Markelon (Yamaha) 6-7 
8. Sara Pettersson (KTM) 9-8
9. Amanda Brown (Honda) 8-11
10. Sade Allender (Honda) 11-9
11. Alexah Pearson (KTM) 10-10
12. Brianna DeGray (KTM) 12-12
13. Sarah Whitmore (KTM) 14-13
14. Shelby Rolen (Yamaha) 13-15
15. Jackie Ives (Yamaha) 16-14

2012 Women’s MX Championship Points:
1. Jessica Patterson, 188
2. Tarah Gieger, 155
3. Sayaka Kaneshiro, 137
4. Mariana Balbi, 126
5. Ashley Fiolek, 125
6. Jacqueline Strong, 114
7.  Kasie Creson, 110
8. Sara Pettersson, 101
9. Meghan Rutledge, 78
10. Sade Allender, 74

Facebook comments