Inyan Kara National Enduro Results 2012

June 18, 2012
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Mike Lafferty earned his 70th career win after taking first at Inyan Kara.
Mike Lafferty on his way to his 70th career victory.

Factory Husaberg’s Mike Lafferty reached a professional milestone after winning Round 6 of the AMA/Rekluse National Enduro Series at Inyan Kara; he now has 70 career wins to his credit. Factory FMF/KTM’s Russell Bobbit followed close behind, taking second overall with Lafferty’s teammate, Nick Faringer, rounding out the podium. Fellow Husaberg rider Shane Hufford Jr. earned his best finish of the season so far in fourth with current championship points leader Steward Baylor Jr. falling to his worst finish of 2012 in fifth.

Lafferty hasn’t won a race since 2010, but came out with guns blazing at Inyan Kara, earning the top time through the first three special test sections and beating out Bobbit by 15 seconds in total time.

“I am really excited to get this win,” the 36-year old rider said afterward. “I was able to start with a win in the first section and carry that momentum through to the last test. I am really comfortable with the terrain at the next two national enduros and hope that I can remain consistent and hopefully close the point gap in the series standings.”

Russell Bobbitt pushed hard  but couldnt make up time on Lafferty and had to settle for second overall at Inyan Kara.
Russell Bobbitt pushed hard, but couldn’t make up time on Lafferty and had to settle for second overall in Wyoming.

Bobbit posted times that kept him in the top three through all tests but one, and even posted the fastest time in the final test. He battled with Fahringer for most of the day but was able to outpace the Husaberg rider by 15 seconds in overall time.

“I really like this race and I tend to do well at this event,” said Bobbit. “I am happy to be on the podium and glad I could get that last section win. That section is where I was able to win the race last year so I am glad I was able to use my speed in that section to my advantage again to help secure my 2nd place finish.”

This was the best showing of the season so far for Fahringer, marking his first podium finish of 2012.

“I felt much stronger at this race than the previous rounds,” he said. “I have been making great improvements at each round this season and am happy to finally get on the podium. I am looking forward to stepping it up at the next few rounds and hopefully moving up two notches on the podium.”

Steward Baylor Jr. remains the overall points leader, having won four of the six completed rounds. Lafferty holds steady in second, but closed the gap between himself and Baylor from a 32 point deficit to 18.

Mike Lafferty  center  took the win at the Inyan Kara National Enduro followed in second by Russell Bobbitt  left  and Nick Fahringer  right  in third.
Mike Lafferty (center) with his 70th National Enduro win followed by Russell Bobbitt (left) and Nick Fahringer (right).

Inyan Kara National Enduro Results 2012:
1. Mike Lafferty (Husaberg)
2. Russell Bobbitt (KTM)
3. Nick Fahringer (Husaberg)
4. Shane Hufford (Husaberg)
5. Steward Baylor (KTM)
6. Ian Blythe (KTM)
7. Andrew Delong (Husqvarna)
8. Jesse Groemm (KTM)
9. Cole Kirkpatrick (KTM)
10. Brad Bakken (Yamaha)
11. Bobby Prochnau (KTM)
12. Cody Schafer (Kawasaki)
13. Jordan Ashburn (Yamaha)
14. Nick Davis (Husqvarna)
15. Grant Baylor (KTM)

2012 National Enduro Championship Points:
1. Steward Baylor, 161
2. Mike Lafferty, 143
3. Russell Bobbitt, 117
4. Cory Buttrick, 91
5. Nick Fahringer, 85
6. Jesse Groemm, 80
7. Brad Bakken, 72
8. Shane Hufford Jr., 64
9. Andrew DeLong, 61
10. Jordan Ashburn, 59