Isle of Man Sidecar TT Race 2 Results 2012

June 8, 2012
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Dave Molyneux and Patrick Farrance took the win in Isle of Man Sure Sidecar TT Race 2.
Dave Molyneux and Patrick Farrance on their way to a second Sure Sidecar win in the 2012 Isle of Man TT.

DMR riders Dave Molyneux and Patrick Farrance took a second win in the 2012 Isle of Man Sure Sidecar TT series after beating out LCR Honda’s Tim Reeves and Dan Sayle during the final lap in Race 2. Molyneux now has 16 TT victories to his credit and Farrance holds two, both earned in this year’s Sidecar events. Ben and Tom Birchall, also riding for LCR Honda, scored their second sidecar podium of 2012 in third.

Weather played a major factor in the event; there were a number of damp patches on the track and the threat of more rain forced the start of the race to be delayed for over an hour.

Molyneux/Farrance started Race 2 in first position and led through Glen Helen, but they were pursued on the timesheet closely by the Birchalls and Reeves/Sayle, both teams under two seconds behind. By the end of the first lap The DMR riders had lost the lead to Reeves/Sayle but were able to stay ahead of Ben and Tom Birchall. Shelbourne Honda riders Conrad Harrison and Mike Aylott, third place finishers in Race 1, kept steady in fourth with a comfortable lead on Baker Honda’s Gary Bryan and Jamie Winn in fifth.

The top-three running order remained the same through Lap 2, though the battle was heated between Reeves/Sayle and Molyneux/Farrance as the two teams were separated by less than a second on the timesheet.

By Lap 3, Molyneux/Farrance had passed Reees/Sayle and began to create a gap, already up to 1.75 seconds at Glen Helen. By the time the DMR riders reached the Ramsey Hairpin for the last time, their lead was nearly 11 seconds. The Birchalls remained in third and were followed by Harrison/Aylott in fourth, until the Shelbourne Honda were forced to exit the race during their final descent of the Mountain. Baker Honda’s Gary Bryan and Jamie Winn took advantage and scored their second fourth place finish, followed by fellow Baker Honda riders Douglas Wright and Martin Hull in fifth.

Isle of Man Sure Sidecar TT Race 2 Results 2012:
1. Dave Molyneux/Patrick Farrance (DMR) 113.071 mph
2. Tim Reeves/Dan Sayle (Honda) 112.536 mph
3. Ben Birchall/Tom Birchall (Honda) 111.672 mph
4. Gary Bryan/Jamie Winn (Honda) 108.835 mph
5. Douglas Wright/Martin Hull (Honda) 108.429 mph
6. Gregory Lambert/Jason Crowe (Honda) 108.038 mph
7. Robert Handcock/Ken Edwards (Honda) 106.589mph
8. Tony Baker/Fiona Baker-Milligan (Suzuki) 106.157 mph
9. Karl Bennett/Lee Cain (Honda) 105.965 mph
10. Frank Lelias/Charlie Richardson (Honda) 105.450 mph

Facebook comments