Ridge Runner National Hillclimb Results 2012

June 21, 2012
Courtesy AMA Pro Racing
Nate Redmann takes his third AMA Pro Hillclimb victory of 2012 with a Ridge Runner National win in Canaan  New Hampshire.
Nate Redmann takes his third AMA Pro Hillclimb victory of 2012 with a Ridge Runner National win in Canaan, New Hampshire.

The AMA Pro Hillclimb Championship continued to heat up with Round 3, the Shawn P Farnsworth Memorial Hillclimb held in conjunction with Laconia Bike Week. Nate Redmann’s third win in a row in the AMA Pro Hillclimb Tilt-A-Rack Xtreme Class not only extended his points lead and earned him a trophy, it earned him a trip to the hospital as well. Vinny Nuzzolilli took the Wiseco Unlimited Class win with just one perfect ride while Chris Chartier, Jr. leaped into the points lead with a win in Pro Sport and John Koester clawed his way to the top of the Hill-Cross podium.


 Redmann was the first sub-five-second rider in the Tilt-A-Rack Xtreme Class with a 4.908 E.T. His teammate Robby DeBusk bumped him to second by just 0.005 seconds. Anthony DeHart stopped the clock at 4.920 seconds- just 0.017 separating the top three at intermission.

Among the podium contenders, only Redmann rode faster in the second half, upping the ante with a 4.831-second ride but crashing above the finish line. He earned an ambulance ride for what turned out to be minor injuries. DeBusk scratched his second ride conceding the win to Redmann, who now has a 12 point lead in the series.

Competition in the Wiseco Unlimited Class heated up with points leader Jay Sallstrom posting a 4.918-second ride in the first half. Vinny Nuzzolilli answered the challenge with a stunning 4.662-second run. 

Sallstrom battled back after half-time but finished two-tenths off the winning pace. Brent Stevensen took the third step on the podium with a 5.021 E.T. In series points, Nuzzolilli shortened Sallstrom’s lead to two points, moving ahead of Shane Green. The Pro Sport Class is a pitched battle between rookie Chartier and 2011 Champ, Ian Lau. Chartier sailed over the top with a winning time of 7.575 seconds while Lau faltered, finishing in fifth. Local favorites Josh Kobel and Hal Beyor scored second and third, respectively. Chartier leads Lau in the series points by seven markers. 

Koester took the win in exhibition Hill-Cross, beating out Michael Farnsworth in the second heat and walking away from Colby McCutcheon and Lau for the win in the final. AMA Pro Hillclimbers face off on the fabled Devil’s Staircase in Oregonia, OH for Round 4 on June 23 for a first-ever evening hillclimb. 


1. Vinny Nuzzolilli (Hon); 2. Jay Sallstrom (Yam); 3. Brent Stevensen (Suz); 4. Colby McCutcheon (Yam); 5. Shane Green (Hon).
Xtreme: 1. Nate Redmann (Yam); 2. Robby DeBusk (Yam); 3. Anthony DeHart (Hon); 4. Vinny Nuzzolilli (Hon); 5. Colby McCutcheon (Yam).
Pro Spt: 1. Chris Chartier, Jr. (Hon); 2. Josh Kobel (Kaw); 3. Hal Beyor (Kaw); 4. Molly Carbon (Hon); 5. Ian Lau (Hon).
Hill-Cross: 1. John Koester (Suz); 2. Colby McCutcheon (Hon); 3. Ian Lau (Hon).

AMA Pro Racing is the premier professional motorcycle racing organization in North America, operating a full schedule of events and championships for a variety of motorcycle disciplines. Learn more about AMA Pro Racing at www.amaproracing.com.

Facebook comments