SuperSport Road America Race 2 Results 2012

June 3, 2012
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Stefano Mesa at Miller Motorsports Park.
Stefano Mesa scored his first win of the season in SuperSport at Road America.’s Stefano Mesa scored his first AMA Pro SuperSport win of his career in Race 2 at Road America. The Yamaha rider took the checkers after a final lap pass which bumped Riders Discount Vesrah Suzuki’s Jake Lewis down to second. Lewis was out front for all but the final portion of the race, though the top three riders were neck-and-neck the entire time. National Guard Suzuki’s Corey Alexander rounded out the podium in third place.

“In the last lap, we all went way too deep,” said Mesa “(James) crashed, and it was a bummer for him, but I got the drive out of there.”

Celtic Racing’s James Rispoli had been steady out front, battling with Lewis and Mesa, but then made a mistake and crashed which allowed Alexander, Yamaha’s Tomas Puerta and RoadRace Factory’s Hayden Gillim to pass in the final lap.

Rispoli remains the West divison leader in SuperSport, despite his unfortuante fall late in Race 2. Gillim’s fifth-place finish ensured that the spread between first and second remained nearly the same as after Race 1. SuzukiScoop’s Elena Myers has been unable to repeat her early SuperSport win, but has finished in the top ten consistently and is currently in third.

AMA Pro SuperSport Road America Race 2 Results
1. Stefano Mesa (Yamaha)
2. Jake Lewis (Suzuki)
3. Corey Alexander (Suzuki)
4. Tomas Puerta (Yamaha)
5. Hayden Gillim (Yamaha)
6. James Rispoli (Suzuki)
7. Elena Myers (Suzuki)
8. Tyler Linders (Yamaha)
9. Ryan Matter (Yamaha)
10. Devon McDonough (Yamaha)
11. Travis Ohge (Suzuki)
12. Cody Wyman (Suzuki)
13. Travis Wyman (Suzuki)
14. Zach Herrin (Yamaha)
15. Charles Weaver (Yamaha)

AMA Pro SuperSport West Championship Points:
1. James Rispoli, 181
2. Hayden Gillim, 155
3. Elena Myers, 113
4. Tyler Linders, 67
5. Travis Ohge, 67
6. Ryan Matter, 59
7. Sebastiao Ferreira, 59
8. Devon McDonough, 42
9. Rocco Horvath, 36
10. Colter Dimick, 34