XR1200 Barber Results 2012

June 24, 2012
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Kyle Wyman couldnt catch OHara and had to settle for second-place.
Kyle Wyman now has more wins to his credit in 2012 than current points leader Tyler O’Hara.

KLR Group’s Kyle Wyman took his second consecutive AMA Pro Vance & Hines XR1200 win of the season at Barber Motorsports Park. Bartel’s Harley-Davidson’s Tyler O’Hara lost the lead in the final lap to Wyman and came in second just 0.047 behind. O’Hara’s teammate, Michael Barnes, rounded out the podium. Ruthless Racing’s David Estok took fourth and Suburban Harley-Davidson’s Benjamin Carlson came in fifth.

Wyman and O’Hara battled out front from the opening laps of the race, exchanging lead position a number of times before the checkers. O’Hara led into the final lap, but Wyman was right on his rear tire and pushed to earn his third XR1200 win of the season. Barnes lost ground continually through the race, coming in over 10 seconds behind O’Hara at the finish.

“It was huge to have KLR Group at the race and I really wanted to get a win for them,” Wyman said. “It was a great. It was a good race at the front — a lot of dicing and battling. There were different places on the track where he was a little bit stronger and other places where I was stronger and I just tried to make the most of those and be there at the end. It all paid off for me.”

Estok was in position to earn his first podium of the season, just fractions of a second behind Barnes for most of the contest. Kuryakyn’s Gerry Signorelli and Carlson’s teammate Shane Narbonne were also in competition for third, but the two riders both fell back, suffering from mechanical issues.

O’Hara remains in the points lead, but is seeing his gap close as Wyman continues to shine, now with more wins to his credit than the Bartel’s rider this season. Barnes remains in the hunt for the championship in third, just 19 off the lead. XP Motorsports’ Michael Corbino is in fourth, but lags by 76 off the lead. Estok is now up to fifth and just one point from moving into fourth past Corbino.

XR1200 podium with Kyle Wyman  center  in first  Tyler OHara  left  in second and Michael Barnes  right  in third.
XR1200 podium with Kyle Wyman (center) in first, Tyler O’Hara (left) in second and Michael Barnes (right) in third.

AMA Pro XR1200 Barber Results 2012:
1. Kyle Wyman (Harley-Davidson)
2. Tyler O’Hara (Harley-Davidson)
3. Michael Barnes (Harley-Davidson)
4. David Estok (Harley-Davidson)
5. Benjamin Carlson (Harley-Davidson)
6. Michael Corbino (Harley-Davidson)
7. Travis Wyman (Harley-Davidson)
8. Josh Chisum (Harley-Davidson)
9. Nicholas Hansen (Harley-Davidson)
10. Brice Cooper (Harley-Davidson)
11. Paul James (Harley-Davidson)
12. Gerry Signorelli (Harley-Davidson)
13. Ray Delaney (Harley-Davidson)
14. Shane Narbonne (Harley-Davidson)

AMA Pro XR1200 Points:

1. Tyler O’Hara, 165
2. Kyle Wyman, 159
3. Michael Barnes, 144
4. Michael Corbino, 89
5. David Estok, 88
6. Travis Wyman, 79
7. Gerry Signorelli, 78
8. Darren James, 63
9. Josh Chisum, 62
10. Benjamin Carlson, 54

Facebook comments