AMA Pro Racing Laguna Seca Saturday 2012

July 28, 2012
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.


Monster Energy Graves Yamaha’s Josh Hayes came out on top in the first AMA Pro National Guard SuperBike qualifying session at Laguna Seca on Saturday. National Guard Jordan Suzuki’s Roger Hayden was second-fastest, just under one second behind the championship points leader. Jordan Suzuki’s Ben Bostrom trailed Hayden by a mere 0.036 seconds in third and Yoshimura Suzuki’s Blake Young followed close behind in fourth. Team Amsoil/Hero’s Geoff May was fifth fastest and Hayes’ teammate Josh Herrin claimed sixth.

Josh Hayes at Laguna Seca.
Josh Hayes topped the timesheet in AMA Pro National Guard SuperBike Qualifying 1 at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca.

American SuperBike Laguna Seca Qualifying 1 Results:
1. Josh Hayes (Yamaha) 1:24.527
2. Roger Hayden (Suzuki) 1:25.465
3. Ben Bostrom (Suzuki) 1:25.501
4. Blake Young (Suzuki) 1:25.740
5. Geoff May (EBR) 1:25.838
6. Josh Herrin (Yamaha) 1:26.059
7. Chris Clark (Suzuki) 1:26.363
8. Jake Holden (Honda) 1:26.543
9. Danny Eslick (EBR) 1:26.645
10. Larry Pegram (BMW) 1:26.686
11. Chris Ulrich (Suzuki) 1:27.046
12. Stefan Nebel (KTM) 1:27.185
13. Taylor Knapp (Suzuki) 1:27.238
14. Ricky Corey (Yamaha) 1:27.609
15. Glenn Allerton (BMW) 1:27.987
16. Bostjan Skubic (Suzuki) 1:30.162
17. Ivan Sala (Suzuki) 1:30.181
18. Jordan Burgess (Suzuki) 1:30.186
19. Reno Karimian (Kawasaki) 1:30.626
20. Johnny Rock Page (Suzuki) 1:31.574
21. Tony Porter (Kawasaki) 1:33.107

Qualifying 2

Hayes returned in Qualifying 2 and took the top spot once again, beating out Bostrom by 0.211 seconds. Hayden came in third-fastest, with Herrin holding to fourth and May taking fifth. Hayes’ closest points rival, Young, slipped to sixth in Q2 and Riders Discount Vesrah Suzuki’s Taylor Knapp came in seventh. May’s teammate Danny Eslick was eighth-fastest, followed by Young’s teammate Chris Clark and Foremost Insurance’s Larry Pegram rounding out the top ten.
American SuperBike Laguna Seca Qualifying 2 Results:
1. Josh Hayes (Yamaha) 1:24.446
2. Ben Bostrom (Suzuki) 1:24.657
3. Roger Hayden (Suzuki) 1:24.867
4. Josh Herrin (Yamaha) 1:25.029
5. Geoff May (EBR) 1:25.043
6. Blake Young (Suzuki) 1:25.073
7. Taylor Knapp (Suzuki) 1:25.786
8. Danny Eslick (EBR) 1:25.901
9. Chris Clark (Suzuki) 1:25.975
10. Larry Pegram (BMW) 1:26.011
11. Jake Holden (Honda) 1:26.068
12. Stefan Nebel (KTM) 1:26.498
13. Glenn Allerton (BMW) 1:26.607
14. Steve Rapp (Kawasaki) 1:26.798
15. Chris Ulrich (Suzuki) 1:27.120
16. Ricky Corey (Yamaha) 1:27.489
17. Jordan Burgess (Suzuki) 1:28.899
18. Ivan Sala (Suzuki) 1:29.411
19. Bostjan Skubic (Suzuki) 1:29.566
20. Johnny Rock Page (Suzuki) 1:29.980
21. Tony Porter (Kawasaki) 1:32.688
22. Reno Karimian (Kawasaki) 1:32.731


Geico Suzuki’s Martin Cardenas outpaced the AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike field in Qualifying 2 at Laguna Seca. The Colombian came in as the only rider to dip into the 1:27 range. Yamaha Extended Service’s Cameron Beaubier held the second-fastest time, over one second behind Cardenas, and M4 Suzuki’s Dane Westby was third, coming in just a fraction of a second behind the Yamaha ace. Road Race Factory’s Jake Gagne held to fourth and Meen Motorsports Racing’s Bobby Fong rounded out the top five.

Martin Cardenas outpaced the Daytona SportBike field in Qualifying 2 at Laguna Seca.
Martin Cardenas led the Daytona SportBike pack at Laguna Seca in the second qualifying session Saturday.

Daytona SportBike Laguna Seca Qualifying 2 Results:
1. Martin Cardenas (Suzuki) 1:27.575
2. Cameron Beauber (Yamaha) 1:28.684
3. Dane Westby (Suzuki) 1:28.868
4. Jake Gagne (Yamaha) 1:29.060
5. Bobby Fong (Yamaha) 1:29.188
6. Tommy Aquino (Yamaha) 1:29.688
6. Fernando Amantini (Kawasaki) 1:29.688
8. Joey Pascarella (Suzuki) 1:29.755
9. Tommy Hayden (Yamaha) 1:29.784
10. JD Beach (Yamaha) 1:29.971
11. Aaron Gobert (Yamaha) 1:30.193
12. Huntley Nash (Yamaha) 1:30.211
13. Tyler O’Hara (Yamaha) 1:30.258
14. Cory West (Suzuki) 1:30.309
15. Ben Young (Yamaha) 1:30.735


National Guard’s Corey Alexander topped the timesheet in the final AMA Pro SuperSport qualifying round before Race 1 on Saturday. GWR’s Garrett Willis held the second-fastest time followed by RoadRace Factory’s Hayden Gillim in third. Meen Motorsport’s Sebastiao Ferreira held to fourth while Celtic Racing’s James Rispoli came in fifth. Castrol Triumph’s Dustin Dominguez was sixth and Suzuki’s Elena Myers came in seventh.

Corey Alexander at Laguna Seca.
Corey Alexander posted the top time in the final practice before the SuperSport race at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. SuperSport Laguna Seca Qualifying 3 Results:
1. Corey Alexander (Suzuki) 1:30.278
2. Garrett Willis (Kawasaki) 1:30.409
3. Hayden Gillim (Yamaha) 1:30.503
4. Sebastiao Ferreira (Yamaha) 1:30.619
5. James Rispoli (Suzuki) 1:30.823
6. Dustin Dominguez (Triumph) 1:30.929
7. Elena Myers (Suzuki) 1:31.056
8. Ryan Matter (Yamaha) 1:31.387
9. Jake Lewis (Suzuki) 1:31.632
10. Travis Ohge (Yamaha) 1:31.979
11. Stefano Mesa (Yamaha) 1:32.004
12. Javelin Broderick (Yamaha) 1:32.090
13. Wyatt Farris (Yamaha) 1:32.112
14. Colter Dimick (Yamaha) 1:32.484
15. Tyler Linders (Yamaha) 1:32.617