FIM e-Power TTX Laguna Seca Qualifying 2012

July 28, 2012
Adam Waheed
By Adam Waheed
Road Test Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

His insatiable thirst for life is only surpassed by his monthly fuel bill. Whether rocketing on land, flying through the air, or jumping the seas, our Road Test Editor does it all and has the scars to prove it.

Veteran motorcycle road racer, Michael Barnes qualified first and will start Sunday’s nine-lap electric motorcycle road race from pole position at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. Barnes, who is competing at the controls of the Barracuda Lightning entry was nearly four seconds faster than second-place qualifier, former AMA Superbike and Supersport racer, Eric Bostrom aboard the Brammo machine.

MotoUSA and Cycle News test rider, Thomas Montano will also start the race from the front row. Fourth-fastest on the day was Germany’s Matthias Himmelmann. Reigning electric bike champ and Brammo test rider, Steve Atlas, finished in fifth position, one place ahead of female racer Katja Poengson, also of Germany. Four other riders/teams failed to qualify for the race.

FIM e-Power TTX Laguna Seca Qualifying Results:
1. Michael Barnes (Lightning)
2. Eric Bostrom (Brammo)
3. Thomas Montano (Lightning)
4. Matthias Himmelmann (Munch Racing)
5. Steve Atlas (Brammo)
6. Katja Poengson (Munch Racing)