Rattlesnake National Enduro Results 2012

July 30, 2012
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Rattlesnake National Enduro podium with Steward Baylor Jr.  center  in first  Mike Lafferty  left  in second and Nick Fahringer  right  in third.
Rattlesnake National Enduro podium with Steward Baylor Jr. (center) in first, Mike Lafferty (left) in second and Nick Fahringer (right) in third.

KTM rider Steward Baylor Jr. took his fifth AMA National Enduro Series win of the season at the Rattlesnake National Enduro in Cross Fork, Pennsylvania. Baylor beat out eight-time national enduro champion Mike Lafferty of Husaberg by just two seconds. Fellow Husaberg rider Nick Fahringer rounded out the podium.

Baylor and Lafferty were neck-and-neck through the first test, posting the same second-place finish time of 4:25 through the section. The KTM rider proceeded to build a small lead through the subsequent tests, but Lafferty remained a strong challenge to the points leader and had gained the front heading into the final test of the day. Baylor went on to post the top time in the final section and Lafferty encountered a bit of trouble when he hit a wet log and high-sided. The Husaberg rider was able to recover quickly though and went on to log the third-fastest time in the test, but it left him just short of the win.

Fahinger won the Rattlesnake Enduro last year and claimed the top times in the fourth and fifth tests this year. He had a tough start though and was just outside the top five through the first section. Fahringer also crashed a few times through the course of the day, but he remained focused and managed to post a total time just 33 seconds behind Lafferty.

Steward Baylor Jr. took home his fifth win of the season at the Rattlesnake National Enduro.
Steward Baylor Jr. took home his fifth win of the season at the Rattlesnake National Enduro.

KTM rider Jesse Groemm took fourth and was followed by Husaberg rider Andrew DeLong in fifth. Honda’s Thad Duvall finished sixth with KTM’s Russell Bobbitt taking seventh. Duvall opened the Enduro in strong form, posting the top time through the first test, but he was unable to maintain his pace and fluctuated between sixth and seventh through the remaining five sections. Bobbitt, who is currently third in overall points, also struggled and marked his fastest times in the second and fourth tests where he came in fifth-fastest.

KTM’s Grant Baylor of the A250 class finished in eighth overall and Yamaha’s Brad Bakken took ninth. KTM rider Tanner Thomas, of the A200 class, rounded out the top-10 overall.

Baylor maintains his overall points lead, now 23 ahead of Lafferty who holds to second. Bobbitt is third, 60 points off Baylor and Fahringer sits in fourth. Groemm’s fourth-place finishes in Pennsylvania and Louisiana have propelled him up to fifth in points, just seven ahead of KTM rider Cory Buttrick.

Mike Lafferty was just two seconds behind Baylor Jr. in overall time.
Lafferty was just two seconds behind Baylor Jr. at the finish.

Rattlesnake National Enduro Results 2012:
1. Steward Baylor Jr. (KTM)
2. Michael Lafferty (Husaberg)
3. Nick Fahringer (Husaberg)
4. Jesse Groemm (KTM)
5. Andrew DeLong (Husqvarna)
6. Thad Duvall (Honda)
7. Russell Bobbitt (KTM)
8. Grant Baylor (KTM)
9. Brad Bakken (Yamaha)
10. Tanner Thomas (KTM)
11. Geoff Braico (KTM)
12. Ian Blythe (KTM)
13. Nick Davis (Husqvarna)
14. Paddy Holloway (Husaberg)
15. Jeff Pasqua (KTM)

National Enduro Championship Points:
1. Steward Baylor Jr., 191
2. Michael Lafferty, 168
3. Russell Bobbitt, 131
4. Nick Fahringer, 106
5. Jesse Groemm, 98
6. Cory Buttrick, 91
7. Brad Bakken, 84
8. Andrew DeLong, 77
9. Shane Hufford Jr., 64
10. Jordan Ashburn, 59

Facebook comments