RedBud 450 Motocross Results 2012

July 7, 2012
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Ryan Dungey leads overall by 72 points ahead of Mike Alessi.
Ryan Dungey continues to dominate the 450 class, taking the Moto 1 win at RedBud by over 45 seconds.

Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey took a huge win in 450 Moto 1 at RedBud, getting out front early and building a gap that was over 45 seconds wide by the checkers. Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer came in second with Team Muscle Milk Honda’s Justin Brayton rounding out the podium.

Dungey put in a nearly flawless run after avoiding a big pile up out of the gates that took down a number of riders including current second place points holder Mike Alessi of MotoConcepts Suzuki and L&MC Honda’s Andrew Short. Weimer and Brayton made it out of the early moto fray unscathed as well and moved up from outside podium range early on to hold the two and three positions for most of the contest.

Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart returned and held steady in second behind Dungey through the opening laps, but then encountered a number of issues; going down in the first half of the moto, losing more time after cross-rutting and bobbling the front end soon after he’d remounted and eventually stalling the bike. JS7 fell to seventh after the quick succession of incidents and was only able to recover to sixth place by the checkers.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Tyla Rattray made an impressive return after recuperating from a broken hand sustained during the first round at Hangtown, battling up to fourth place by the finish.

450 RedBud podium with Ryan Dungey  center  in first  Justin Brayton  left  in second and James Stewart  right  in third.
RedBud podium with Ryan Dungey (center) in first, Justin Brayton (left) in second and James Stewart (right) in third.

Dungey extended his reign at the top of the points list when he took his eighth consecutive moto win in Moto 2 by another huge margin. This time the KTM rider was ahead of Alessi who returned to form by taking the lead early and holding steady in second for the majority of the contest. Stewart also fared better in Moto 2, rounding out the podium in third.

“Having James (Stewart) back this week was good to add another challenge, and it’s good for the sport,” said Dungey. “We made some more changes to the bike coming into (today) and I think we’ve made even more progress. My starts were good and I knew getting out front would make life easier, having a whole track to work with.”

Brayton missed the rostrum in fourth, but posted one of his best weekends so far this season. Rattray advanced in position to fifth and outpaced Short by over eight seconds at the checkers.

Jeff Ward Racing’s Josh Grant took seventh and privateer Cole Thompson had an notable showing going 7-8 on the day. Monster Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Broc Tickle came across the finish in ninth and BTO Sports rider Michael Byrne rounded out the top-10.

Weimer had a serious stroke of bad luck, going down twice during the second moto and falling to the back of the pack. The Kawasaki rider was only able to make it back to 20th by the finish.

Dungey continues to hold a commanding points lead ahead of Alessi and Weimer holds steady in third, just 12 points behind the Suzuki rider. Short and Tickle remained in fourth and fifth, respectively, and Stewart moved up to sixth, displacing injured teammeate Brett Metcalfe.

450 riders get off to a frenzied start with Ryan Dungey  5  out front early at RedBud.
Dungey was unstoppable at RedBud, taking the holeshot and winning by over 30 seconds in both motos.

RedBud 450 Motocross Results 2012:
1. Ryan Dungey (KTM) 1-1
2. Justin Brayton (Honda) 3-4
3. James Stewart (Suzuki) 6-3
4. Tyla Rattray (Kawasaki) 4-5
5. Mike Alessi (Suzuki) 11-2
6. Broc Tickle (Kawasaki) 5-9
7. Cole Thompson (Honda) 7-8
8. Josh Grant (Kawasaki) 9-7
9. Andrew Short (Honda) 12-6
10. Jake Weimer (Kawasaki) 2-20
11. Michael Byrne (Suzuki) 10-10
12. Kyle Chisholm (Kawasaki) 15-11
13. Christian Craig (Honda) 16-13
14. Robert Kiniry (Yamaha) 8-23
15. Nick Wey (Kawasaki) 17-14

450 Motocross Championship Points:
1. Ryan Dungey, 286
2. Mike Alessi, 214
3. Jake Weimer, 202
4. Andrew Short, 178
5. Broc Tickle, 162
6. James Stewart, 151
7. Brett Metcalfe, 142
8. Josh Grant, 137
9. Justin Brayton, 131
10. Kyle Chisholm, 100