Spring Creek 450 Motocross Results 2012

July 14, 2012
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Dungey taking his fifth consecutive overall win of the season.
Ryan Dungey continued to dominate the 450 class after recovering from a bad start in Moto 1 at Spring Creek.

Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey scored his ninth moto win in Moto 1 at Spring Creek by an impressive margin of over 23 seconds. Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer came in second with MotoConcepts Suzuki’s Mike Alessi taking third. Dungey came off the start back in the pack, falling as far as eighth, and had to battle forward during the first half of the moto in order to gain the lead. Dungey’s win was sweetened by the fact that it was in front of his home crowd.

Muscle Milk Honda’s Justin Brayton fought his way up to fourth, getting past teammate Tommy Hahn, Monster Kawi’s Tyla Rattray and finally L&MC’s Andrew Short. Brayton battled with Short near the end of the race, until Short bobbled through a whoop section and slowed considerably, allowing the Honda rider to easily shoot past. Short came across the finish in fifth, Rattray in sixth and followed by Hahn in seventh.

Jeff Ward Racing’s Josh Grant finished in eighth with BTO Sports’ Michael Byrne and Jimmy Albertson taking ninth and 10th, respectively.

Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Broc Tickle started the race battling for podium position, but crashed mid-race and could only recover to 12th.

Dungey came back in Moto 2 and completely demolished the field. The dual moto wins marked the ninth and 10th consecutive moto victories for the KTM rider, his fifth consecutive overall win this season.  Alessi took second over 48 seconds behind the KTM rider. Weimer made his second podium of the day in third. JGRMX Yamaha’s Kyle Regal looked to be on his way to one of his best finishes this season but after running between third and fourth position for a large portion of the race, Regal crashed out. Brayton moved right into fourth and held there to the checkers, followed by Tickle who fared better in Moto 2, finishing fifth.

“I enjoy coming back (to Spring Creek), I spent a lot of time riding here as kid,” said Dungey. “To get a win was great, not just for me but the team as well, especially since everyone was here to watch. I approach every race the same as the one before, regardless of points. I’ve said it a lot; there’s a lot of racing left and you have to be ready for each race itself. We just come in and hope to accomplish what we want to accomplish, always looking to improve.”

Dungey continues to lead in overall points, now 80 ahead of Aless in second. Weimer remains in third ahead of Short and Tickle in fourth and fifth, respectively. Brayton jumped from ninth to sixth after his strong performance at Millville.

Spring Creek 450 podium with Ryan Dungey  center  in first  Mike Alessi  right  in second and Jake Weimer  left  in third.
An epic view of the Spring Creek MX track with Mike Alessi sailing through the air on his way to a 3-2 finish.
(Top) – 450 overall podium with Dungey (center) in first, Alessi (right) in second and Weimer (left) in third. (Below) – Mike Alessi sails through the air at Spring Creek.

Spring Creek 450 Motocross Results:
1. Ryan Dungey (KTM) 1-1
2. Mike Alessi (Suzuki) 3-2
3. Jake Weimer (Kawasaki) 2-3
4. Justin Brayton (Honda) 4-4
5. Andrew Short (Honda) 5-6
6. Broc Tickle (Kawasaki) 12-5
7. Les Smith (KTM) 11-9
8. Cole Thompson (Honda) 15-7
9. Tyla Rattray (Kawasaki) 6-28
10. Christian Craig (Honda) 14-14
11. Tommy Hahn (Honda) 7-38
12. Kyle Chisholm (Kawasaki) 33-8
13. Michael Byrne (Suzuki) 9-20
14. Josh Grant (Kawasaki) 8-34
15. Mike Brown (KTM) 18-12

AMA 450 Motocross Championship Points:
1. Ryan Dungey, 336
2. Mike Alessi, 256
3. Jake Weimer, 244
4. Andrew Short, 209
5. Broc Tickle, 187
6. Justin Brayton, 167
7. James Stewart, 151
8. Josh Grant, 150
9. Brett Metcalfe, 142
10. Kyle Chisholm, 113

Facebook comments