SuperBike Mid-Ohio Race 2 Results 2012

July 15, 2012
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Josh Hayes before Race 2.
Josh Hayes took his seventh straight AMA Pro National Guard SuperBike win in Race 2 at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

Monster Energy Graves Yamaha’s Josh Hayes made it another perfect weekend, taking the win in AMA Pro National Guard SuperBike Race 2 at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. Hayes had to fight more than usual to keep the lead position though as National Guard Jordan Suzuki’s Roger Hayden remained right on the Mississippi native’s rear tire for the majority of the contest. Hayden took his highest placement all season in second followed by Hayes’ teammate Josh Herrin over 13 seconds back in third.

Hayes opened the race in pole position, but lost the front to Herrin during the opening laps. Hayes eventually regained the lead with Hayden right behind and the two proceeded to break away from the rest of the field over the course of the race. The Suzuki rider pressed hard on Hayes, even getting past the points leader for a brief period in the final laps. Hayes was able to respond quickly and held the front to the checkers. Herrin remained nearly uncontested in third until the checkers.

“I was pretty sure he would try on the last lap at the end of the back straight,” Hayes said of his battle with Hayden. “I was pretty slow in the middle of the Keyhole to make sure I didn’t spin up and make a mistake on the exit. I felt like I got out of there pretty good, but probably because I was slow in the middle, it allowed him to do the same thing behind me. When he came by he was moving pretty quick; I was actually surprised he got it stopped as well as he did. Whenever I came back up the other side of him I didn’t know if I was going to be able to get him. I wasn’t trying to bump him but I was trying to crowd him a little bit. All I needed was an instant for him to get off the throttle to get in there.”

Steve Rapp  15  ahead of Ben Bostrom  23   Geoff May  99  and Blake Young  79  in SuperBike Race 2.
Steve Rapp (15) ahead of Ben Bostrom (23), Geoff May (99) and Blake Young (79) in SuperBike Race 2.

Attack Performance/’s Steve Rapp rounded off his best SuperBike weekend so far this season coming in fourth. Rapp maintained a consistent pace all race and battled with Jordan Suzuki’s Ben Bostrom for position until the final laps of the race. Bostrom fell out of the top ten with just two laps remaining and came in 15th at the end.

Yoshimura Suzuki’s Blake Young came out early in seventh and battled through the pack to contend with Herrin for third. With 13 laps remaining, Young crashed and fell to the back of the field. The Suzuki ace was able to remount but could only reach 13th before the checkers.

With Young and Bostrom out of contention in the top ten, Team Amsoil Hero’s Geoff May slipped up to fifth and finished comfortably ahead of Foremost Insurance’s Larry Pegram in sixth. Team Hero’s Danny Eslick took seventh with Riders Discount Vesrah Suzuki’s Taylor Knapp following in eighth. Young’s teammate Chris Clark and M4 Suzuki’s Chris Ulrich earned ninth and 10th respectively.

Hayes remains the overall points leader, now 67 ahead of Young and is now tied with the all time single-season consecutive win record held by Mat Mladin and Ben Spies. Herrin continues to hold steady in third, but cut his gap on Young after the Suzuki rider’s unfortunate Race 2 performance. Hayden and May and Pegram continue in the four, five and six spots and Rapp jumped from 10th to seventh.

SuperBike Race 2 podium with Josh Hayes  center  in first  Roger Hayden  right  in second and Josh Herrin  left  in third.
SuperBike Race 2 podium with Josh Hayes (center) in first, Roger Hayden (right) in second and Josh Herrin (left) in third.

AMA Pro SuperBike Mid-Ohio Race 2 Results 2012:
1. Josh Hayes (Yamaha)
2. Roger Hayden (Suzuki)
3. Josh Herrin (Yamaha)
4. Steve Rapp (Kawasaki)
5. Geoff May (EBR)
6. Larry Pegram (BMW)
7. Danny Eslick (EBR)
8. Taylor Knapp (Suzuki)
9. Chris Clark (Suzuki)
10. Chris Ulrich (Suzuki)
11. Stefan Nebel (KTM)
12. Jordan Burgess (Suzuki)
13. Blake Young (Suzuki)
14. Johnny Rock Page (Suzuki)
15. Ben Bostrom (Suzuki)

AMA Pro SuperBike Points:
1. Josh Hayes, 383
2. Blake Young, 316
3. Josh Herrin, 225
4. Roger Hayden, 204
5. Geoff May, 190
6. Larry Pegram, 182
7. Steve Rapp, 151
8. Danny Eslick, 147
9. Ben Bostrom, 146
10. Chris Clark, 146