World Supersport Brno Results 2012

July 22, 2012
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Fabien Foret took the win in World Supersport at Brno.
Fabien Foret took the win in World Supersport at Brno after an intense battle with points leader Kenan Sofuoglu.

Kawasaki Intermoto Step’s Fabien Foret took the win in World Supersport at Brno in an incident plagued race which was cut short due to a late red flag. The contest was cut from 18 laps to 13 and opened with a red flag after an episode on the start line forced a restart. Once out the gate, Foret took the lead and held steady there through every lap. Second place finisher Kenan Sofuoglu of Kawasaki Lorenzini followed close behind Foret the entire time, coming in just 0.128 off the lead. Ten Kate Racing’s Broc Parkes rounded out the podium.

Sofuoglu passed by Foret for the lead in the final moments, but a red flag was thrown after Bogdanka PTR’s Ronan Quarmby went down, causing officials to call the race and reverting back to the previous running order, awarding Foret the victory.

“We made a plan this morning with Andrew my crew chief and I tried to respect it by
pushing really hard at the beginning of the race to make a gap,” said Foret. “I was struggling to keep the gap and when
you are at the front you are a reference for the riders following behind. When I saw the riders coming by I just kept it calm and tried to save a bit of energy for the last three laps. Kenan passed me and I could see that I was a bit faster than him in some places, and he was definitely a bit faster than me in other places. I tried to adjust myself a little bit on the bike and then the red flag arrived. I was a bit upset because I thought I had been passed for the lead at this stage but it turned out it was my weekend.”

Quarmby’s teammate Sam Lowes finished in fourth, over four seconds off the lead pack. The Honda rider pushed hard to catch the front-runners, but in the end settled back to earn points rather than risk lose position in a push for podium position.

“That was a bit of a weird race,” said Lowes. “I did not get the best of starts and then I was battling with my teammate Jules (Cluzel). By the time I was past him, I managed to hold the leaders for a few laps but they were too far in front so I just sat there and took the points. I am disappointed but on the positive side I am still second in the Championship.”

Cluzel held to fifth and Quarmby followed in sixth, his position prior to the crash. Quarmby was able to walk away from the incident, but hurt his back in the process and is undergoing a medical evaluation.

“I was enjoying the race and fighting in the top six with my teammates,” Quarmby said. “I do not know what happened with the crash but I have hurt my back and I am very sore. As a precaution I am having it checked by medics now.”
Sofuoglu’s teammate Sheridan Morais took eighth with Puccetti Racing’s Stefano Cruciani and Power Team by Suriano’s Vittorio Iannuzzo trailing in ninth and tenth respectively.

Sofuoglu maintains the lead in points with Lowes trailing in second by 23. Foret is an additional six points back in third with Cluzel settled in fourth at 95 for the season so far. Parkes rounds out the overall top five with Morais back in sixth.

World Supersport Brno Results 2012:
1. Fabien Foret (Kawasaki)
2. Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki)
3. Broc Parkes (Honda)
4. Sam Lowes (Honda)
5. Jules Cluzel (Honda)
6. Ronan Quarmby (Honda)
7. Sheridan Morais (Kawasaki)
8. Stefano Cruciani (Kawasaki)
9. Vittorio Iannuzzo (Triumph)
10. Vladimir Leonov (Yamaha)
11. Romain Lanusse (Kawasaki)
12. Gabor Talmacsi (Honda)
13. Florian Marino (Kawasaki)
14. Valentin Debise (Honda)
15. Luca Marconi (Yamaha)

World Supersport Championship Points:
1. Kenan Sofuoglu, 137
2. Sam Lowes, 114
3. Fabien Foret, 108
4. Jules Cluzel, 95
5. Broc Parkes, 82
6. Sheridan Morais, 62
7. Alex Baldolini, 54
8. Ronan Quarmby, 54
9. Vittorio Iannuzzo, 48
10. Roberto Tamburini, 39

Facebook comments