AMA Roadrace Championship Heads to Daytona

August 17, 2012
Courtesy of American Motorcyclist Association
American Motorcyclist Association

AMA amateur roadracers will attack the high banks this fall when the AMA Roadrace Grand Championships head to Daytona International Speedway on Oct. 18-21 to battle for AMA national No. 1 plates.

“We’re excited to bring AMA amateur national championship competition to Daytona International Speedway,” said AMA Track Racing Manager Ken Saillant. “This will be a unique opportunity for the country’s fastest amateur roadracers compete for AMA national titles in several skill-, age- and displacement-based classes.”

The AMA has partnered with the American Sportbike Racing Association and Championship Cup Series to help run the AMA Roadrace Grand Championships. CCS President Kevin Elliott said the 2012 event, which welcomes racers from all clubs and organization and is open to all licensed roadracing AMA members, will contribute to the AMA Roadrace Grand Championships’ longstanding reputation for top-notch competition.

“The AMA Roadrace Grand Championships have been a place for the sportsman road racer to show their talent and abilities to the rest of the United States since 1997, and the American Sportbike Racing Association and Championship Cup Series are happy to have a part in the operation and organization of this prestigious championship once again,” Elliott said.

Elliott said that Daytona International Speedway is a perfect location for the event.

“After being run at other great facilities in the past like Mid-Ohio, New Hampshire Motor Speedway and Putnam Park, the AMA Roadrace Grand Championships-joining ASRA/CCS at Daytona International Speedway-just feels right,” he said. “It is the world’s center of racing and we are excited to be a part of this new chapter in the AMA Roadrace Grand Championships at this storied facility.”

Not only do riders get ample track time and an opportunity to race against the country’s fastest amateur racers, but the best compete for the AMA Roadracing Horizon Award, which is awarded to the rider showing the most promise for success in the professional ranks. Past winners of the AMA Roadracing Horizon Award have included Hayden Gillim, Jake Lewis, Miles Thornton, Jason DiSalvo, Ben Spies and Blake Young.

Other awards at the event include the AMA Roadracing Top Novice Award and the AMA Racing Vet/Senior Award, presented to a standout rider who’s 30 years old or older.

Facebook comments