Castle Rock TT Results 2012

August 5, 2012
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

GNC Pro Singles podium at the Castle Rock TT with Sammy Halbert  center  in first  Jared Mees  right  in second and Jake Johnson  left  in third.
GNC Pro Singles podium at the Castle Rock TT with Sammy Halbert (center) in first, Jared Mees (right) in second and Jake Johnson (left) in third.

“Slammin” Sammy Halbert took the win in GNC Expert Singles in front of his hometown crowd at the Castle Rock TT, Round 8 of the AMA Pro Harley-Davidson Insurance Grand National Championship presented by and Lucas Oil. Halbert took the win at Castle Rock in 2011, and his most recent victory makes him the only rider to have two first-place finishes to his credit so far this season in the premier AMA Pro Flat Track class. Montgomeryville Cycle’s Jared Mees followed in second and Zanotti Racing’s Jake Johnson trailed over six seconds off the lead in third.

“This is awesome, I have to give it up to the local crowd for coming out, you guys fired me up and helped me get the win,” said Halbert. “I just got a good start and stayed focused the whole time. It feels great. We got to keep this thing rolling; I’m fired up and want to carry this momentum to next race.”

Halbert was uncontested at the front for nearly the entire race. Mees was the only rider even close to Halbert, but was unable to make a push for the lead as Halbert maintained his blistering pace.

Trailing behind Johnson was Vans Yamaha’s Jethro Halbert in fourth followed by USC Kawasaki’s JD Beach in fifth. Alpinestars’ Steven Bonsey took sixth and Latus Motors Racing’s Joe Kopp ended the race in seventh.
Mees holds the points lead in GNC Pro Singles, just three points ahead of Halbert. Matt Weidman is an additional 11 points back in third and Jake Johnson sits in fourth.

In AMA Pro Pro Singles, Spy Optics rider Jacob Lehmann took his first career victory. Rodney Spencer of 831 Pinnit followed behind in second and Frankie Morris’ Dominic Colindres rounded out the podium.

Pro Singles action had to be restarted after Wyatt McGuire crashed and a red flag was thrown. Lehmann got out front early on after the race resumed, trailed only by Spencer who challenged for the lead, but was never able to get to the front. Collindres held back Montgomeryville Cycle Center’s Jake Shoemaker and Fun Mart Cycle Center’s Garret Callies as he battled for the final spot on the rostrum.

“I just came out hoping that I can at least come in the top ten and make the main event,” Lehmann said. “I got lucky on the restart and I was just thinking please don’t red flag it again. I was just trying to get a gap on the last few laps so I could have room to breathe but Spencer just kept creeping up on me.”

Callies remains the Pro Singles points leader, followed by Ryan Wells and Shoemaker in second and third respectively. Jason Isennock holds in fourth and Stephen Vanderkuur rounds out the overall top five.

GNC Expert Singles Castle Rock TT Results:
1. Sammy Halbert (Yamaha)
2. Jared Mees (Honda)
3. Jake Johnson (Honda)
4. Jethro Halbert (Yamaha)
5. JD Beach (Honda)
6. Steven Bonsey (Honda)
7. Joe Kopp (Honda)
8. Jeffrey Carver Jr. (Yamaha)
9. Brad Baker (Honda)
10. Briar Bauman (Kawasaki)
11. Henry Wiles (Kawasaki)
12. Scooter Vernon (Honda)
13. Mikey Rush (Honda)
14. Matt Weidman (Honda)
15. Danny Casey (Honda)

AMA Pro Singles Castle Rock TT Results 2012:
1. Jacob Lehmann (Honda)
2. Rodney Spencer Jr. (Honda)
3. Dominic Colindres (Honda)
4. Jake Shoemaker (Honda)
5. Gerit Callies (KTM)
6. Ryan Wells (Honda)
7. Jason Isonnock (Honda)
8. Hunter Taylor (Honda)
9. Adam Bushman (Honda)
10. Stephen Vanderkuur (Honda)
11. Wyatt Anderson (Suzuki)
12. James Monaco (Honda)
13. Cole Crowley (Honda)
14. Ryan Kearns (Honda)
15. Bailey Fox (Honda)