XR1200 Indianapolis Race 2 Results 2012

August 19, 2012
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Tyler OHara  29  running away with the Race 2 win at Indy.
Tyler O’Hara (29) running away with the Race 2 win at Indy.

JCR’s Tyler O’Hara pulled out the win in the AMA Pro Vance & Hines XR1200 Race 2 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. The battle for the front was heated throughout the 10 lap contest, and KLR Group’s Kyle Wyman came across the finish in second with Suburban Harley-Davidson’s Benjamin Carlson rounding out the podium just 0.469 behind.

O’Hara and MOB Racing’s PJ Jacobsen went head-to-head early on out front with Jacobsen keeping the lead until a crash dropped him to the back of the pack. O’Hara took over and started to put a small gap on the field, up to nearly four seconds at one point. The contenders for second, Wyman, Carlson and Bobby Fong, Carlson’s XR1200 teammate, were unable to pressure O’Hara seriously for the lead, but traded positions a number of times in the hunt for a podium finish.

“P.J. was riding awesome, and Kyle and Benny were up there. P.J. tucked the front and crashed, and I just put my head down. I built up a nice gap and was just monitoring the gap through my pit board,” said O’Hara. It’s just awesome. From yesterday and how it went, to rebound like that feels really good. This place is really special to me — I got my first win here a year ago and, ever since, it’s just sort of been a blur.”

Fong ended in fourth, followed by Kyle Wyman’s teammate Michael Barnes in fifth. XP Motorsports’ Michael Corbino took sixth with MotoSport’s Steve Crevier in seventh and Harv’s Harley-Davidson’s Travis Wyman in eighth. Longevity Racing’s Barrett Long took ninth and Teterboro Rams’ Shane Narbonne rounded out the top ten.

Tyler OHara  center  took the XR1200 Race 2 win at Indy with Kyle Wyman  left  in second and Benjamin Carlson  right  in third.
Tyler O’Hara (center) took the Race 2 win at Indy with Kyle Wyman (left) in second and Benjamin Carlson (right) in third.

XR1200 Indianapolis Race 2 Results:
1. Tyler O’Hara
2. Kyle Wyman
3. Benjamin Carlson
4. Bobby Fong
5. Michael Barnes
6. Michael Corbino
7. Steve Crevier
8. Travis Wyman
9. Barrett Long
10. Shane Narbonne
11. David Estok
12. Josh Chisum
13. Nick Hansen
14. Josh Guyer
15. Lee Kuhn