Lake Elsinore 450 Motocross Results 2012

September 8, 2012
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Ryan Dungey at Lake Elsinore 2012.
Ryan Dungey became the first rider to win a 450 moto in the Red Bull Lake Elsinore National with his Moto 1 victory.

Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey came through with the first ever 450 moto win at the Red Bull Lake Elsinore National. MotoConcepts’ Mike Alessi opened the inaugural event getting to the front and holding the lead through the early laps, but Dungey quickly gained ground and overtook for the front. Monster Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Broc Tickle rounded out the podium over a minute behind the KTM rider.

Dungey got off to a weak start, opening the door to Alessi to command the front. Once Dungey had caught the Suzuki ace, he rode patiently behind in second, avoiding the massive amounts of roost coming off the back of Alessi’s bike. He would reel Alessi in and slip back a number of times before finding the line to pass. Once out front, Dungey opened up a gap to over 14 seconds by the checkers.

Tickle was lonely in third, over 49 seconds behind Alessi and 20 ahead of fourth place finisher Tyla Rattray of Monster Energy Kawasaki. Rattray’s teammate Jake Weimer battled up to fifth while JGR’ s Kyle Regal held to sixth and Troy Lee Designs’ Christian Craig finished in seventh. L&MC’s Andrew Short hit a rough patch mid-moto and slipped from fifth to eighth. He was unable to regain any ground by the end. MX Heaven Racing’s Fredrik Noren and Rock River Powersports’ Ben LaMay took ninth and 10th respectively.

Mike Alessi  800  took the holeshot in both 450 motos at Lake Elsinore.
Mike Alessi (800) took the holeshot in both 450 motos.

A number of top-ten riders fell out early in the contest, including JGRMX’s Davi Millsaps, Jeff Ward Racing’s Josh Grant and Star Valli Yamaha Rockstar’s Nico Izzi.

Dungey finished off the season with another clean sweep, taking the win in Moto 2 comfortably ahead of Alessi. Tickle once again held steady in third to the checkers.

“It feels great,” said Dungey. “I’ve said it a lot, but (the team) had a lot to figure out. I felt like we made improvements at the middle of the season and to keep winning since round three is awesome to finish off on a strong note like this. I’ve had a lot of fun his season. All the success we’ve had is because of the effort of everyone at KTM.”

Alessi had another chance at a moto win early on, getting the front early and holding the lead for the first half of the contest. Dungey’s speed couldn’t be matched though and the KTM rider soon overtook Alessi and built up a gap of over 19 seconds at the checkers. Tickle was nearly uncontested in third, though the battle for fourth raged between Rattray and Muscle Milk Honda’s Justin Brayton into the final laps. Rattray finally got the upper hand though and finished just one step off the podium.

Grant had a much better showing in Moto 2, taking sixth, as did Izzi who finished in seventh. Grant’s teammate Kyle Chisholm ended the contest in eighth, followed by Weimer and Craig in ninth and 10th respectively.

Dungey came into the round with the title secure and Alessi was a lock for second. Weimer and Short were in a battle for third overall, and Weimer’s 5-9 gave him the advantage, by just one point. Behind Short, Tickle was able to close out the season in fifth.

450 podium with Ryan Dungey  center  in first  Mike Alessi  left  in second and Broc Tickle  right  in third.
450 podium with Ryan Dungey (center) in first, Mike Alessi (left) in second and Broc Tickle (right) in third.

Lake Elsinore 450 Motocross Results 2012:
1. Ryan Dungey (KTM) 1-1
2. Mike Alessi (Suzuki) 2-2
3. Broc Tickle (Kawasaki) 3-3
4. Tyla Rattray (Kawasaki) 4-4
5. Jake Weimer (Kawasaki) 5-9
6. Justin Brayton (Honda) 12-5
7. Christian Craig (Honda) 7-10
8. Andrew Short (Honda) 8-13
9. Ben LeMay (Yamaha) 10-12
10. Weston Peick (Suzuki) 13-11
11. Josh Grant (Kawasaki) 35-6
12. Jimmy Albertson (Suzuki) 11-16
13. Kyle Regal (Yamaha) 6-32
14. Nico Izzi (Yamaha) 38-7
15. Kyle Chisholm (Kawasaki) 28-8

450 Motocross Championship Points:
1. Ryan Dungey, 580
2. Mike Alessi, 453
3. Jake Weimer, 355
4. Andrew Short, 354
5. Broc Tickle, 349
6. Josh Grant, 277
7. Justin Brayton, 247
8. Kyle Chisholm, 211
9. Davi Millsaps, 176
10. Tyla Rattray, 172