World Superbike Portimao Superpole 2012

September 22, 2012
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Tom Sykes couldnt make it to the front of the pack at Miller  going 8-5 in the American round.
Tom Sykes earned his eighth pole position of the season after dominating World Superbike Superpole at Portimao.

Kawasaki Racing’s Tom Sykes scored his eighth pole of the season at Portimao, beating out Althea Racing’s Carlos Checa in the final session by 0.365 seconds. Aprilia Racing’s Eugene Laverty came in third-fastest and was followed by BMW Motorrad’s Marco Melandri in fourth.

Sykes was dominant throughout the Superpole sessions, taking second behind ParkinGO MTC Racing’s Chaz Davies in SP1 and coming in fastest in SP2 and SP3. Checa made it through SP1 in eighth and then cut over a second off his time in the following session. Laverty maintained his position in third through all sessions.

“I’m pleasantly surprised,” said Sykes. “Before I came here I was expecting some difficulties going from past experience with the Kawasaki, but all credit to the team, because in the opening three laps I knew that the ZX-10R was a different bike and it has been working well all weekend. When we put the qualifying tire in it seemed to work even better, honestly I’m happy to be on pole position tomorrow and my race pace is not too bad either”.

Current points leader Max Biaggi of Aprilia Racing heads up the second row, followed by Melandri’s teammate Leon Haslam in sixth. Honda’s Jonathan Rea posted the seventh-fastest time, followed by Davies in eighth.

“I’m a bit disappointed about not making it to the front row,” said Biaggi. “It was a goal which was within our reach. In view of the races we aren’t far off. I have a few things in mind to try and be more incisive that we’ll test tomorrow during warm-ups. I’m still not 100% satisfied with the set-up and, considering the circumstances, we need to get the absolute maximum out of our bike.”

World Superbike Portimao Superpole Results 2012:
1. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki) 1’41.415
2. Carlos Checa (Ducati) 1’41.780
3. Eugene Laverty (Aprilia) 1’41.789
4. Marco Melandri (BMW) 1’42.015
5. Max Biaggi (Aprilia) 1’42.140
6. Leon Haslam (BMW) 1’42.271
7. Jonathan Rea (Honda) 1’42.717
8. Chaz Davies (Aprilia) 1’43.459
9. Leon Camier (Suzuki) 1’42.767
10. Davide Giugliano (Ducati) 1’42.799
11. Sylvain Guintoli (Ducati) 1’42.995
12. Loris Baz (Kawasaki) 1’43.199
13. Brett McCormick (Ducati) 1’43.410
14. Ayrton Badovini (BMW) 1’43.483
15. Michel Fabrizio (BMW) 1’43.863
16. David Salom (Kawasaki) 1’44.479
17. Hiroshi Aoyama (Honda) 1’44.569
18. Lorenzo Zanetti (Ducati) 1’44.790
19. John Hopkins (Suzuki) 1’44.865
20. Alexander Lundh (Kawasaki) 1’45.158
21. Lorenzo Lanzi (Ducati) 1’45.682
22. Matteo Baiocco (Ducati) 1’46.344
23. Norino Brignola (BMW) 1’46.891

World Supersport

Ten Kate Racing’s Broc Parkes posted the top time in World Supersport qualifying at Portimao. He was followed by Kawasaki Intermoto Step’s Fabien Foret in second and PTR Honda’s Jules Cluzel in third. Cluzel’s PTR teammate Sam Lowes took fourth and Kawasaki Lorenzini’s Sheridan Morais rounded out the top five.

Parkes barely edged out Foret, coming in just 0.050 seconds ahead of the French rider. Cluzel was also extremely close to the lead pace, finishing 0.051 behind Parkes.

Yakhnich Motorsport’s Vladimir Leonov was sixth-fastest and current points leader Kenan Sofuoglu of Kawasaki Lorenzini came in seventh. MSD R-N Racing’s Florian Marino took eighth, followed by Team PATA by Martini’s Massimo Roccoli and Power Team by Suriano’s Alex Baldolini in ninth and 10th respectively.

World Supersport Portimao Superpole Results 2012:
1. Broc Parkes (Honda) 1’45.408
2. Fabien Foret (Kawasaki) 1’45.458
3. Jules Cluzel (Honda) 1’45.459
4. Sam Lowes (Honda) 1’45.567
5. Sheridan Morais (Kawasaki) 1’45.877
6. Vladimir Leonov (Yamaha) 1’45.999
7. Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki) 1’46.129
8. Florian Marino (Kawasaki) 1’46.221
9. Massimo Roccoli (Yamaha) 1’46.383
10. Alex Baldolini (Triumph) 1’46.580
11. Mathew Scholtz (Honda) 1’46.589
12. M. Praia (Honda) 1’46.622
13. Vittorio Iannuzzo (Triumph) 1’46.692
14. Gabor Talmacsi (Honda) 1’46.695
15. Roberto Tamburini (Honda) 1’46.765