AMA Lauds ISDE Performance by U.S. Team

October 4, 2012
Courtesy Of American Motorcyclist Association
Team USA ISDE at the Sachsenring circuit in Germany.
AMA Congratulates the 31 riders who represented the U.S. at the 2012 International Six Days Enduro.

The American Motorcyclist Association thanks and congratulates the 31 riders who represented the United States at the 2012 International Six Days Enduro in Saxony, Germany, Sept. 24-29.

The highlight of the U.S. effort was the podium finish of the U.S. Junior Trophy Team of Travis Coy, Andrew DeLong, Thad Duvall and Jesse Groemm. The four-rider team battled through hundreds of miles of challenging off-road terrain to finish third in class at the prestigious event. Finishing ahead of the U.S. team were France and Great Britain.

“The ISDE is one of motorsport’s truly historic events, and this year was no exception in terms of competition and terrain,” said AMA Off-Road Racing Manager Chuck Weir. “We are proud and appreciative of all the U.S. riders who stepped up to take on the best off-road racers in the world. The consistent performance of our Junior Trophy Team and the never-give-up comeback effort by our World Trophy riders demonstrated the talent and perseverance that we expected.”

The U.S. World Trophy Team’s performance was hampered by injuries and, consequently, a slow start to the week that saw the team fall as low as seventh in the World Trophy rankings. However, thanks to a solid day-five performance and an exceptional effort on day six, Destry Abbott, Russell Bobbitt, Mike Brown, Kurt Caselli, Charlie Mullins and Taylor Robert climbed to fourth place in the final standings.

“Mike did an excellent job winning his moto and Charlie and Taylor had good final motos as well. The whole team did,” said U.S. ISDE Team Manager Antti Kallonen. “It’s not much of a consolation when you come up just short of the podium, but it shows they never gave up. We still have to be pleased pulling off a fourth-place finish with three of our six guys — Kurt, Taylor and Charlie — being hurt. It proves this team was a good starting point.”

The top three finishing teams in the World Trophy Team division were France, Australia and Italy.

Mandi Mastin was the only U.S. women’s rider to finish this year’s ISDE. Her teammates Rachel Gutish and Sarah Whitmore both retired on day four when an overnight rain made long uphill sections of the course nearly impassable. Gutish and Whitmore were both riding injured, and each houred out in the difficult conditions. The U.S. Women’s Trophy Team finished sixth.

The U.S. Wellard club team, made up of Fred Hoess, Jordan Brandt and John Barber, was the highest-placing U.S. team in the club ranks. The team finished 13th.

The U.S. ISDE effort would be impossible without the substantial support of numerous companies. In addition to riders’ individual manufacturer and product sponsors, direct team sponsors included Arai, Spectro, Motion Pro, Wellard and Worldwide Materials Handling.

U.S. Medal Results at 2012 ISDE

Taylor Robert – Gold
Mike Brown – Gold
Thad Duvall – Gold
Kurt Caselli – Gold
Andrew Delong – Gold
Destry Abbott – Gold
Russell Bobbitt – Gold
Jesse Groemm – Gold
Jordan Brandt – Gold
Fred Hoess – Gold
Devan Bolin – Gold
Zach Klamfoth – Gold
Brian Storrie – Silver
Reid Brown – Silver
Derek Steahly – Silver
John Barber – Silver
Jeff Fredette – Silver
Ron Schmelzle – Silver
Billy Burns – Silver
Joshua Knight – Silver
Michael Jolly – Silver
John Maier – Silver
Charlie Mullins – Bronze
Travis Coy – Bronze
Mandi Mastin – Bronze
Nick Canny – Bronze
Brian Chris Storrie – Finish
Rachel Gutish – Retired day four
Sarah Whitmore – Retired day four
Scott Bright – Retired day four
Nick Hamill – Retired day three 

Facebook comments